2008 Tacoma

Consumer Reviews

2008 Toyota Tacoma

$8,403 - $21,631  MSRP Range
2008 Toyota Tacoma

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

36 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Toyota Tacoma?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Powerful little light pickup

by TDLAX from Commerce City, CO on Tue Jul 27 2010

Don't underestimate this truck's power based on its looks. This is made to blow your mind. This can pull out a 3 ton SUV out of water with little issues involved. The car is quiet, almost too quiet to a point where I must check to see if the gauges are reading correctly. The power switch on the car is rather unique and the interior is spacious if you think about it. The exterior is nicely styled and you can do many things to customize it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My dream truck

by ClosetRedNeck from From NJ to NY ADKs on Wed Dec 22 2010

Wanted a Tacoma for awhile since trading in my '96 Ranger for a Civic. This one is fire engine red and looks really sharp. Acceleration is a bit sluggish for a 6 cylinder. The seats and interior are very comfortable with one exception: the door arm rest is hard as granite. Radio and speakers not bad for stock. Handles well in rain and windy conditions. Holds the road. Can't wait for a snow storm to really test it. Although I miss the gas mileage of the Civic this truck is a lot of fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by onequik1 from Minneapolis, MN on Wed May 14 2008

This has been a great truck so far. Couple minor complaints, the ABS system seems to kick in a little too much too soon. Sometimes when you turn the key to start it, it doesn't always fire right away. Possible fuel pressure issue. Also the upgraded JBL stereo isn't that great for the money. Other than those little things I like it so far.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

08 taco access cab

by Ron from Ron ; In Garland, Texas on Wed Jul 30 2014

Excellent truck for the money. Couldn't ask for a better deal than I got thru Tommy O Rouke at Reliable Chevrolet in Richardson, Texas. Thanks Tommy. You took good care of me through out the process. I'll see you next time I need a vehicle. Thanks Reliable, Integrity goes a long way.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best midsize truck

by first time taco from chicago on Mon Sep 26 2011

This is my first toyota and p/u truck....and its frickin awesome.I got the tacoma prerunner TRD sport. I get consistent 20.3-20.6 mpgaround town and 23 highway. Real good for a p/u. Rides great looks great for a four door truck plenty of power. Plenty of cabin room, front and back seat. Also enough bed space if you get the 6ft bed. Only bummer I found is the tailgate doest have a lock.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect!!

by utility vehicle from on Sat Mar 15 2014

Outstanding customer service. purchased my toyota tacoma, everything damaged or needed they were willing to help as soon as possible. Quick loans approved right away for anyone. recommend for anyone to buy their car here

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cool Looking Truck

by Pathfinder from Columbia, MO on Mon Nov 04 2013

Researched new and used Tacoma and Frontier. Almost bought new Frontier but then found 2008 Tacoma with 50k miles, one owner for $2.5k below retail blue book. Glad I decided on the Tacoma. TRD Sport package adds nice features. I went with Tacoma primarily based on excellent reliability experience with other Toyota's and online reviews. Plus I like the looks of the Tacoma over the Frontier.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

111K so far so good

by Cheif Tacoma from Durham, NC on Wed Feb 25 2015

Except for a couple of early recalls , this truck has been the epitome of reliabity for me. no Lexus but it does exactly what it's supposed to do and be.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a very solid well performing truck

by welldigger from Clearwater Fl on Sat Feb 11 2012

I bought the truck in 2010 and so far it has worked out well. My only complaint is that it riders very rough on city streets. I tried adjusting tire pressure, to no avail. Mine is a four cylinder and gets poor fuel mileage for a midsize truck. All in all i am very happy with the truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle I?ve always owned!

by Bomber45 on Thu Aug 16 2018

This truck meets all of my needs it has plenty of leg room in front and in back. The ride is great! I?m keeping it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2008 Toyota Tacoma


Please pardon my bluntness, but where the heck is my A-BAT?

I've just spent a week living with a mid-size supercharged 2008 Toyota Tacoma TRD Double Cab 4.0-liter V6 Long Bed 4x4. Priced at $36,586 it's the best argument yet for the return of pickups with smaller footprints, lower prices, and better fuel economy.

Granted, the truck I drove occupies the spot farthest right in the Tacoma lineup, but it's the poster child for the dilemma facing today's small truck buyers. Why buy a less capable, lesser equipped mid-size when you can purchase a superior full-size hauler for about the same price?

Case in point: Delete the $4,500 (yikes!) supercharger and the Tacoma was a $32,086 236-hp / 266 ft-lbs pickup. That's... Read More