2009 Tacoma

Consumer Reviews

2009 Toyota Tacoma

$8,561 - $23,333  MSRP Range
2009 Toyota Tacoma

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

48 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Toyota Tacoma?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

still have mine..

by moltencore from Alexandria, VA on Fri Feb 19 2010

Bought a '09 used only had 1000 miles on it. Overall I am very pleased with my truck. It is just the regular cab but the bed liner and tie downs are very good. I had a cap installed from SNUGTOP and it has made all the difference. It is a stick shift so the gas mileage is awesome! I drove it X-country and never had a problem. The stock tires were awful i had to get new ones. Great truck!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Vehicle I've Ever Bought

by Manny from on Wed Jan 07 2015

This truck works great! The size of the truck is perfect! It's not too small or too big! The height of the truck is great to avoid possibe flood damage. I would've gave this truck a 5 star rating for the interior if it had leather seating. Gas isn't even an issue with this truck. The 4.0L engine works great and saved me more money than my previous car. Overall, I love this truck! Get a Tacoma!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Always wanted one

by I dont have one from Indianapolis on Mon Aug 31 2009

Performance for the size of the vehicle is remarkable. Its just the right size for a homeowner that "just needs a truck". I think it is a bit pricy for what you get but...it is a Toyota and they are a wonderful product!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable truck

by jimmiejo from Central Florida on Fri Dec 30 2011

I have the double cab, SR5 package. Beautiful, reliable truck. Leg area to high or seat too low, feels like my legs are jacked up and I am 6 ft tall, my wife is 5'7" and she has the same problem. Second complaint is it likes mid grade or premium fuel otherwise it has anti knock on acceleration. So about every other tank put mid grade or premium in and you will be ok. Otherwise great truck, will not buy again because of the leg height problem.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck for your buck

by joe from aliso viejo,ca. on Sun Nov 30 2008

2009 tacoma doublecab longbed 4x4, Trd sport. It rides rougher than my former 2002 tundra 4x4. thr doublr cab is very useful with real four doors and also the backup camera. i am disappointed that it does not come with a locking gas lid or tailgate. The milage is pretty decent . I get about 18-20 miles per a gallon. I hope it reliable as my 90 4x4 4 cyld toyota pickup.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You can't top a Toyota

by Criderjoseph from Dora, AL on Tue Oct 03 2017

My very first vehicle was a 1990 Toyota Pickup then in 2001 I got a brand new Toyota Celica after that I went and got a 2004 Chevy Colorado..... I liked the Colorado but to be honest it wasn't a Toyota I've owned everything from a Nissan Mazda Chevy Volkswagen and many others and nothing compares to the reliability of a Toyota they will run forever if you take care of them this 2009 Tacoma that I just purchased is phenomenal it's a beautiful truck inside and out and I know this truck will crank every morning and will not give me a lick of trouble as long as I'm good to it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect except for the single seat up front

by chick from Toms River, NJ on Thu Oct 06 2011

First truck I have owned and really like it except for the front seat. Cheap is cheap! Toyota should have never put such an unconfortable seat in such a great little truck. My grandfather had a seat like this in his 1951 Chevy and it too was uncomfortable, just as this one is. Aside from that I can not find fault with it. Wish I had known, I would have went for the bucket seats.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice midsize truck

by First time truck owner from cincinnati ohio on Wed Oct 29 2008

Ived had the truck two months.its an 09, it was aspecial ordered truck.saftey equipment standard,nice.nice ride plenty of room,front,and back.backup camera very handy when towing.upgraded JBL sound system @270 watts is the bomb with the subwoofer.very pleased with the truck.would buy another one.driven toyotas for over 30 years.very happy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In Love !!!!

by CardsfanDG from Godfrey,Illinois on Wed May 30 2018

This truck surpasses my expectations!!!!! Awesome truck, great inside and out!!!! Very reliable, Great on gas, many great safety features and the styling is sharp.. This truck rocks!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

own 91 truck still runnin this will last longer

by Toy-yoda from Des Moines, IA on Thu Oct 10 2013

Firm believer in Toyotas reliability, glad bought the truck have two other Toyotas that are over 20yrs old and still run great this truck should last longer. If your searching for a truck like the Tacoma you wont go wrong investing in one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5