2000 Golf

Consumer Reviews

2000 Volkswagen Golf

$2,857 - $4,753  MSRP Range
2000 Volkswagen Golf

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

12 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Volkswagen Golf?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Most features i have ever had

by Practical from Downingtown PA on Fri Oct 09 2009

I always buy an economy car with a stick shift for maximum gas mileage. I average 26mpg. I alwasy keep my caar 10/12 years for maximum use and economy. Worst feature is poor heater; especially on legs of driver; really bad (and cold).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have owned

by schnoedel from Portland, ME on Tue Dec 12 2006

I have owned a Golf for 6 years and it never let me down. Seems that some people have bad experiences, but mine always works just fine! Maybe because it was built and assembled in Germany. Awesome, safe, fun car!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

most lovley car I've owned

by hanna from on Fri Nov 21 2008

it's realy a nice car , with high level of stability and confort , with high performence.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

German engineering at a fraction of the cost

by Ellen from Hanover, NJ on Wed Nov 30 2011

Love it! It's tons of fun, has a nice amount of cargo room. Handles great compared to other cars of this class.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by Carsenthu from on Fri Jan 14 2011

liked everything about it. Very reliable. I have had a vw golf for around 5 years now and loved it. I replaced the brakes once but i bought the car used and other than that there have been no other problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Love/Hate

by Daniel from Boston, MA on Fri Aug 04 2006

I have a 2000 Golf GLS. I'm the second owner. I love it but it has been a lot of headaches. It looks hot and is fun to drive, but it has had a lot of problems. The rear breaks have gone twice. The front window glass mounts keep breaking, and the car goes through oil like crazy, and that's after having the engine seals replaced. My advice, don't by a VW.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Quite a Disappointment, actually

by Polar Bear from Toronto, Ontario on Tue Jul 25 2006

This is my 4th golf..my old ones (86, 89 and 90) have never let me down! Now that I've moved on to the 2000, it's nothing BUT problems. -2002: replaced 2 oxygen sensors, catalytic converter -2003:replaced 1 oxygen sensor, water pump -2004: door sensor went (can't find it to replace, rear wiper fluid broke, -2005: leaking coolant-can't figure out from where. -2006: blown head gasket, blown fuel injector, spark plug blew out of head (was in tight), replaced yet another Oxygen sensor, blown catalytic converter-yes--again! Not to mention the hundreds of light bulbs that burn out...at least one every 2 months, the cup holder has been replaced 2x (very chinsy), the seat material wears poorly..should I continue? I am very disappointed in this car and Volkswagen to produce such a "hokey" car. I absolutely loved my old ones and now, from experiencing the 2000, will never by a VW again. My childhood dreams have been crushed!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

VW's are a waste of time and money

by NY lady from Canandaigua NY on Wed Mar 11 2009

Husbands father bought this car new... Car ALWAYS seems to have a problem and its never a simple or cheap problem Especially the transmission (automatic) and its wiring thats had the car in the shop more than in our driveway What a piece of junk..we are sellin it as fast as we can unload it..

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Stylish, reliable, and moneywise!

by Roger AH from Fraijanes on Tue May 30 2017

This vehicle is a great answer to my transportation needs. Mine is a 1.6sl 5 door. Has all the basic extras including leather seats. With an average of 38MPG, the engine has enough power to move the car in a very agile way. Silent and with a smooth ride. I love my Golf. By the way... mine was made in Germany.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Longest lasting small car I?ve ever owned

by Mrddl from on Wed Oct 25 2017

I?ve owned. Is car twice, once in high school when it was new and I currently own one that is 17 years old. It has 275k miles on it and drives exactly like my old one did. Great power for its size and class. I own the base model so not a lot of bells and whistles to go bad. It handles great through city And highways and is fun to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2000 Volkswagen Golf

If you're going to get a Volkswagen Golf with the nifty turbocharged engine, you'll be cheating yourself out of a lot of fun if you don't say no to the optional automatic transmission. This isn't the old knee-jerk, "Real men (and women) don't do slushboxes" thing you still see mindlessly chanted in car magazines. Over the last 10 years I've become more and more an advocate of the automatic transmission. The modern jobs, with their electronic smarts and as many as five forward gears, shift at least as aptly as a skilled driver 99 percent of the time, and, with their varying degrees of manual override, are in some ways better than manual shifters. They're faster and smoother, mainly... Read More