2017 Golf R

Consumer Reviews
2017 Volkswagen Golf R

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

17 Reviews
2017 Volkswagen Golf R
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fast & Fun HoTT Hatch for a great value

by Rrrrrrrrrr from Laguna Beach, CA on May 29, 2017

I have been a VW enthusiast for my entire life so I may be somewhat biased with my review. I have own 2 Golf R32's and the 1st version of the Golf R from 2012-2015, then an Audi S3 from 2015-2017 (which was a childhood dream to own an S4 so I was excited) My Audi was over $50K with a custom "Carrera Blue" paint and fully loaded. This 2017 Golf R is the exact same car without the luxury and prestige yet is more fun to drive! I'm excited for some great road trips with summer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First 2 months!

by GolfR17 from Hartford, CT on August 4, 2017

I look forward to driving this car. Love the features and ability to change from comfort to race mode with a quick click or two of a button. I find the seats comfortable for me once I found the right settings. It's quick and enjoy pressing it some, especially when accelerating onto hiways and some of the twisty, hilly back roads in the area. I'd never take it to the track but wanted a car that's fun, quick and not "boy racer" style with big wings. It suites me fine as a hot hatch. The quality of fit, finish and materials is first class. Everything looks and feels better the majority of cats. I just wish it came with a sunroof. First VW I've ever owned without one and I've owned 7! In the future VW, give us the Sunroof back!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I daily drive my Golf R. 31k runs like a beast!

by 2016GolfR from Schaumburg on July 8, 2017

Best hot hatch out there. Literally, get one asap!! Have 31k miles on it since I bought it in December 2015. I drive it like I stole it. Never had an issue. Absolutely amazing car. Comfortable and easy to drive ( manual trans).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Golf R - Fast, Fun and practical

by Mike from Bartlett, IL on June 7, 2018

This car is an amazing sleeper - just enough additional styling to make it stand out from its peers if you look hard enough, but plenty of "go" to match the .:R badge. Coming from an Infiniti, I have a high bar for comfort, performance, and sophistication - the Golf R checks all my boxes for sure. It's quick and handles exceptionally well, is packed to the gills with plenty of electronic toys, and is practical enough for long road trips with the family. If you are looking for a mature, yet fun car, this is the one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Whole Nother Level

by MALFGD from Toronto, ON on May 11, 2017

Best car I've owned so far - couldn't be happier! Downgraded in size, but upgraded in performance. I was a bit hesitant on getting a hatchback, but after the test drive, it was a clear decision.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Volkswagen Golf R 4Motion

by Paul De Keukelaere from Clifton, NJ on October 28, 2016

This car's performance is simply amazing! Great road handling, superb seat, 4Motion all wheel drive, and a wide variety of safety related equipment. The only negatives are the fact that a sunroof is not available, even as an option, and Volkswagen made the dumbest omission possilbe.....no spare tire, but an inflator and tire sealer kit!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned!

by Scott from New Brighton, Pa on June 26, 2017

This car is great, fast, comfortable, fun to drive. Anyone debating buying this car do it you will not regret it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by guilo79 from odenton, MD on May 21, 2017

Great car, superior handling, styling, high quality interior, excellent performance. Lots of great features

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by C63beast from Boston, MA on August 3, 2017

This is a great car. Sold my M3 and this is more fun to drive on back roads and better in the snow. Will soon order a 2018

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW?s Hot Hatch a Winner

by Sedona Type R from Sedona on November 18, 2017

This car feels solid at any speed thanks to the 4Motion. DAP ( drivers assistance package def worth $900 option. Fast, stylish and understated!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2017 Volkswagen Golf R