2018 Golf R

Consumer Reviews

2018 Volkswagen Golf R

#9 Most Popular Wagon/Hatchback
$39,785 - $39,785  MSRP Range
2018 Volkswagen Golf R

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

8 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Volkswagen Golf R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great addition to my GTS

by J-P?s R from Weston Florida on Thu Jun 28 2018

I also own a 2015 Porsche 911 GTS and needed a daily driver that was fun to drive. One test drive and I was sold. Boy is this little beast fun to drive to work every morning. Amazing in the rain. This is exactly what I was looking for as second car. Love the stealth look of the R such a sleeper. :-)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fastest car I've ever owned.

by Bill9,mm from Tucson on Sat Apr 28 2018

I'm 71 so I don't meet the demographics for this car. But I wanted something I can get in and out of I'm 6-4 250. I want it all wheel drive and something I could see out of but most importantly I wanted a fast little sleeper

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is so awesome!!!

by BrooklynTrash04 from Brooklyn,NY on Sun Apr 08 2018

I've owned this car for about a week and everyday since has been Christmas morning. An exceptional vehicle to drive and a virtual wolf in sheeps clothing. My first brand new car and I believe I hit a home run with this purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb hot hatch

by AndrewT from St.Louis, MO on Thu Apr 19 2018

The Golf R is a premium example of a hot hatch that is understated but can keep up with the brasher alternatives from Honda, Ford, and Subaru. It is east to drive fast and safely.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most refined and fun vehicle I've owned.

by MK7.5 Golf R from Souderton, PA on Mon Apr 02 2018

I think it's an overall great daily driver with a lot of technology and safety built in for the driver. Also, has exceptional potential t making it your own and more fun than it already has. A lot​ of smiles per gallon this vehicle provides.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest car I?ve owned!!

by Benharris from Savannah, ga on Mon Apr 02 2018

Expensive car but.... but the car offers so much tech, performance and exceptionally fun to drive. I look forward to driving the car. I discover something new everyday.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most responsive car I've owned

by Rrrrondah from San Rafael Ca on Thu Oct 11 2018

This car exceeds my expectation in areas of comfort, performance and build quality. The infotainment arrangement and the system itself is sub-par, especially having owned Audi products. The wheels are a bit juvenile and could better suit the lines of the car by using a more simple five spoke design. Fabulous transmission.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but missing options

by Golf R fan on Tue Apr 24 2018

I purchased a 2018 Golf R in April. Enjoying the car. And great possibilities for easy modification, but American buyers are short changed on the Golf R options compared to other countries. No sunroof, no front armrest storage, regular blinking rear signal lights(not Audi like) and low options on colors. No regrets on the purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1