2016 Golf SportWagen

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen

$12,417 - $20,669  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

14 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great value

by happyvwowner from on Tue Apr 11 2017

The sportswagen has ample interior space for both passengers and gear. The systems are up to date and user friendly. It has zip when going up hills and in freeway traffic when needed. Great purchase at a good price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just what I was looking for...

by skymaster from charleston, WV on Mon Mar 28 2016

After test driving and reviewing many cars it was the Golf Wagon that fit the bill for me, great gas mileage, Good hauling capability for trips, handles much like a sports car without the price tag of one... It offered all the things I wanted for less money than any competitor...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Poor Quality

by tobyhatesmemes from on Sat Oct 22 2016

Great car if you're not worried about quality and reliability issues. I had to bring the car to the dealer for three separate repairs before I hit 10,000 miles. Twice for a leaking sunroof, and I've also had issues with vibration at highway speeds, window squeaks, and peeling paint on the rear bumper. Engine is alright, but the transmission is completely out of its element at speeds between 20 and 60 mph. If you keep it in drive, it will have you lugging the engine up a hill in 6th gear at 30 mph. On a positive note, the ride is excellent (when the car isn't vibrating), the interior is great, and the seats are comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great versatility

by car guy from Kansas city area on Thu Jan 28 2016

Great car! Quiet, good economy and performance; comfortable, great cargo space-- better than many SUV;s, good economy yet fun to drive. I owned a Jetta Sportswagen earlier and liked it too, but this version is considerably nicer in many ways. I have the gas version, not the diesel but note that there was a short run of the gassers that had a recall on the engine. Mine isn't one of them. If it were not for the recall on some models I'd give it 5 stars on reliability too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The 2016 Golf Sportwagen

by VW Sportwagen. from Lethbridge Canada on Mon Mar 06 2017

I have been driving this car for 11 months, verdict is impressive! Handling performance and comfort, makes for a great ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Golf sportwagon

by carlvr from Rising Fawn, GA on Tue Oct 27 2015

Traded for a Golf Sportwagon and love the quite ride and feel. TSI has plenty of pep for a 4 cylinder engine. Lots of capacity to transport items and still have a compact vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my new car

by volky from westchester pa on Tue May 24 2016

I never had a new car before and this is my first one ,I like my new car so much ,it takes me to work its a lot of fun driving this car its comfortable and has a lot of power the interior is nice

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Alex from decatur on Mon Nov 20 2017

This car has all the trunk space you need to travel, easy to get the stroller, luggage, and has standard roof rails. Very comfort and has the Golf racing shift paddle, very sporty and yet family friendly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A Lot for the Money!

by wyzeguys from Marlboro, N.J. on Fri Sep 01 2017

I never wanted a raised SUV/CUV, and I don't need AWD. That being said, a compact wagon was just what I wanted to replace my 2008 Pontiac Vibe. The VW Sportswagen is peppier, drives like on rails, and gets better gas mileage! Ride is comfortable. Only negatives: CD player in glove box(!), not enough USB ports! VERY HAPPY......

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Have owned it for 2 weeks

by Andi from Boston, MA on Sun Nov 12 2017

Oil light came on the the first day we drove it. It is a CPO. Need to take it in to see what the issue is. Also, wish it had a CD player and sunroof. Could live without the back up camera.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2