2011 Jetta SportWagen

Consumer Reviews

2011 Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen

$7,830 - $15,530  MSRP Range
2011 Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

30 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2011 Volkswagen Jetta SportWagen?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Good Station Wagon

by VW Owner from kansas on Tue May 24 2011

Replaced our beloved 99 Passat wagon. The Jetta looked/felt most it. Hard to find a real station wagon any more and we did not like styling of Mazdas or Subarus. Nice ride. We are happy; good value for the $$$. We are still baffled by the details of the GPS and the radio seems pretty complicated.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is fifth one

by Cheep one from Winston-Salem, NC on Tue Apr 19 2011

Got a TDI Sportwagon. With out a doubt the best car I have ever owned. The quality is second to none. On the average, I put about 400k on each and every one. This car comes loaded with just about anything you could want. This new one has just under six thousand miles on it and I am averaging, in town and on road, 38 miles per gallon.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome car

by Cpap from SC on Tue May 07 2013

This VW TDI is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. It is second only to a BMW 3 wagon I had?need I explain why? The Jetta is solid, everything works very well in it and it is fun to drive. Love the leatherette interior and the pan moon roof. The nav/sound/phone system works well only complaint; VW wants $200 to update the nav system. The car handles well and has tons of power. Don?t let the 140hp fool you, it feels much stronger than that thanks to all the torque. There were a couple of things that took a little getting used to; the driver?s seat is a little narrow which I felt when test driving it but after sitting in it a while I don?t notice it and is pretty comfy. The DSG is a little odd, it shifts up and down very smooth and quick but when slowing down to a stop you feel it downshift a little. Turbo lag; when starting out there is a lag but when it spools up a little it will spin the tires if you are not careful. 41,000 miles on the car and no problems at all. In mixed driving I get 35-37 MPG the best I have ever got was 40 but I have never got as low as the rated 30 city. Overall I have no problem giving this car a solid 5.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Jules from Utica, NY on Mon Apr 20 2015

Had excellent service before, during and after purchase of 2011 VW Jetta SportWagon. Great on gas and mileage. Seats are very comfortable, needed a vehicle for traveling 500 miles plus a week. Bluetooth works great and is very convenient, has great speaker/call quality. Great car overall!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

deisel power

by tootsie from UP, Mich on Wed Jul 13 2011

Jetta SportWagon TDI: Great mileage 40-45 mpg, lots of torque, no down shifting on rolling terrain. The dual clutch trans takes a little getting use to, at low speeds it has some indecision. Overall I give it a 4.5 rating

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Beware of Diesel fuel systme failure!

by NoVA Owner from Northern Viriginia on Thu Jan 15 2015

This review is for the 2009, but based on my research affects all TDI models. All TDIs have a High Pressure Fuel Pump (HPFP) and they are prone to failure when the diesel fuel gets contaminated. My Diesel somehow got water in the diesel and apparently based on the rust in the tank this had been an on going problem. At 107000 miles the fuel system had to be replaced to the tune of $5,800 dollars. Apparently diesel fuel standards in the US are lower than that of Europe and VW hasn't taken that into consideration. Please CONSIDER this when purchasing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, wish it came in all wheel drive

by Spub from on Wed Jan 06 2016

Owned this car for 3 years now (second owner). Have had to do nothing to it mechanically other than routine maintenance. Ours has the gas engine, so we haven't been plagued by the diesel scandal, nor any of the common HPFP issues. Ours is also a base model, so no sunroof leakage either. Interior is really quiet and nicely put together. Engine's a little bit thirsty, but it does well on the highway. Trunk is very spacious, good for camping/Costco runs. I do wish it came in AWD (the Golf Wagon Alltrack they sell in Australia would be perfect). Good: Cargo space, noise level, interior material quality Bad: Rear seat space is cramped for adults, acceleration or fuel economy could be better, tires it comes with are lousy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

u get what u pay for!

by auto enthusiast from NORTHERN PA on Sat Aug 13 2011

purchased 2011 vw tdi sportwagon! excellent dealer-quality product-great fuel mileage-first car purchased online(easy and painless)-first vehicle purchased for commuting to work- can't say anything bad about it! KUDOS TO VW!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jetta TDI SportWagen ROCKS!

by Gangsta Wagon Meister from Katy, TX on Fri Dec 14 2012

OMG! It really does get 40 mpg! This is not your fathers diesel truck. It's comfortable - heated seats, CD player. Adjustable steering wheel and seat are great for both short and tall people. This turbo charged 6 speed is a rocket. I can't say enough good stuff about the 'wagen'. Rear seats fold down and we can load it up. Plenty of room for pets. Love the little hide away storage in the back. Fun to drive. You just gotta getta Jetta!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super Car - TDI

by Radmen from Chicago Area on Wed Feb 13 2013

I have only had it a month but its what I hoped it would be. Fun to drive, great low end torque, very good handling, great economy. Lots of flexibility and space. Mine has very little wind noise though does have some on cold, drafty days when traveling at 55+ but its not much. I worry about the High Pressure fuel pump going out and problems with the pano roof which seems to be the main problems you read about on the nets but the car seems really solid and well built. I suspect regular diesel fuel treatment will take care of the pump. Plus got it CPO so I have a couple of years to cover me. The only fault I can really find is that there is no accessory position on the ignition. The car is either running or its not and when its not that means the radio is off and your cell phone is disconnected from the sound system. Not a big deal though - just let the car run for a few minutes extra while you listen to the rest or the song or wrap up a call. Its not like you will get smoked out with diesel fumes - (its a TDI) but the stuff coming out the back is so clean its better than my cars that run gas. I have no real reason to rate reliability at 4 stars except concern for the long term reliability and expensive repairs which is not know to be a VW strong card but I like the car enough to deal with the risk. Exterior styling at a 4 - its a wagon so a 5 might be a stretch under any cirumstances but I like it well enough and it could be better if VW outfitted these things with a sport package that had all the after market ground effects,extended spoiler, sport wheels and fog lights they have available as standard equipment without adding 5k to the price. Factory Privacy glass on the back windows would help as well. With all that I bet they would sell more of these.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3