2004 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2004 Volkswagen Passat

$163 - $8,475  MSRP Range
2004 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

51 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Great performance but poor reliability

by VW and Ford driver from Philadelphia, Pa on Wed Nov 04 2009

This is a fun car to drive with excellent fit and finish. However, it is very unreliable. Consumer Reports was dead on, the electrical system is a mess. The sunroof has leaked multiple times causing massive electrical system failure--inoperative cruise control, door and trunk lock failure, alarm failure. Electrical failure not covered by ?ultimate extended warranty? which was a $1,500 useless expenditure recommended by dealer. Also check engine light comes on seeming randomly. If this occurs randomly during state mandated emission testing, vehicle will not pass.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Car

by Sherwyn from Winnetka, CA on Thu Aug 17 2006

This is my 2nd Passat (previously owned a 2001 model) after driving nothing but American made vehicles my whole life (40+ years). From an engineering perspective, I haven't seen anything that comes close, for the money. I spend many hours a day driving (part of my work) and it is comfortable, handles well (even on mountain roads), and gets decent gas mileage (with a V6 engiine). And the Tiptronic transmission is incredible, especially on those mountain roads. The rear seats, which fold forward exposing the trunk, allow for transporting outsized objects (like skis, ladders, etc.). My dog loves it too because he gets to ride at our elevation and has lots of room for stretching out on long drives. The A/C and VW sound system is also outstanding. It's the perfect car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

an excellent reliable car.

by fatsly from on Sat Mar 19 2011

this is a well engineered car. Also it is a very reliable car, the style and options are worth every penny.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Praise for Passats

by VW guy from Richmond, VA on Sat Apr 28 2012

I bought a one owner '04 Passat with 47K miles in 2010 as a replacement for my 2000 Passat with 233K miles. Both of my passats have had the V6 engine with 5 spd manual. The car is sporty (sunroof, leather, alloys) and fun to drive, afterall how many midsize sedans have manual trannys. The passat is kind of an affordable Audi and is sized between the A4 and the A6 Audis. To be fair, the Audi's have fully independent suspension, whereas the pre 2006 passats don't. Buy one if you can find one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Fun to begin with but a let down now.

by vw2004 from Tualatin, OR on Thu Nov 03 2011

Spent way too much money on this car in repairs. This year alone $4k for various things. I bought this car new and I have taken care of it. The way its behaving at just 70k miles I am not impressed. Will not buy VW again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owner

by Julien from Boston, MA on Tue Jul 25 2006

Excellent car - we've owned one for 3 years and have had no problems whatsoever. It's fun to drive and elegant.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by Love VW from Appleton, WI on Sat Nov 12 2011

I bought this car new and have not been disappointed. I purchased it after selling my 2000 Beetle. Both cars were a delight to drive and I can't recall any major repairs to either vehicle. I highly recommend Volkswagon

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

do not buy volkswagen

by RomanM5 from Wharton, NJ on Tue Feb 16 2010

I spent $13,000 on service, maintenance and repairs over 5 and a half years of ownership. Once warranty was over (after 4 and half years) my Passat started to fall apart. The fact that I kept up with scheduled maintenance did very little to performance. When I called VW all I heard was "warranty is over, there's nothing we can do for you". Stay away from Passat (unless you want to lease/buy for 3 years or less)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A really wonderful car to drive and own

by Long Distance Driver from Washington, DC on Tue Jun 12 2007

I love my Passat GLX 4 Motion Wagon because I can drive 500-600 miles in a day without tiring. The ride is so smooth and it so quiet, even in noisy traffic. I have driven this car in 110 degree temperature and minus 40 degrees and felt completely comfortable because the temperature control is so great. Carrying stuff is a breeze in this wagon. The silver exterior with silver leather interior is the best combination.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Friend from DE on Thu Sep 11 2008

This is very strong and sturdy vehicle. Good milleage both on roads and high ways. Powerful engine and kick start in all weather conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2004 Volkswagen Passat

A Smooth Alternative to the SUV
2004 Volkswagen Passat GLS 4Motion Wagon

Our Mini Cooper couldn't handle the luggage. Nor could our Mercedes-Benz C230, or Toyota Echo. Carting suitcases and valuables here in the open bed of our Chevrolet S10 pickup truck was out of the question. Nothing says "easy mark" in this town like large pieces of tourists' luggage riding exposed in a pickup's cargo bay.

We considered using the 2004 Chevrolet SS-R roadster, which actually is a pickup truck with a retractable hard top. It's an odd piece, reminiscent of the classic Chevrolet pickups of the 1940s and early 1950s. But it has none of their utility.

Instead, the SS-R eschews practicality in favor of... Read More