2012 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2012 Volkswagen Passat

$4,782 - $13,374  MSRP Range
2012 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

134 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 134 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Just got it.

by Manyon from Gonzales,Ca. on Mon Mar 05 2012

I was looking for a car that got great gas mileage but wasn't one of those small circus cars. Car seats 4 adults comfortably,large trunk and has no wasted space that I have found. I bought the base model and feel I got great value for my money. Diesel fuel is a bit more expensive than gas but I shop around for the best price and find a difference of 10-12 cents per gallon. That is made up with the better gas mileage for the diesel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and great on the road

by Joe from Rockford Illinois on Wed Oct 21 2015

At around 30K miles now and I have not had any issues. The 2.5 is a little slow off the line, but punches ahead after it gets up and going. Fuel economy has been fantastic. Quiet, awesome ride. The SE trim is great. Sometimes the Leatherette seating can be a little bit too firm on long trips. Very satisfied so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by 2012 Passat TDI from Olathe, KS on Wed Jan 04 2012

Bought a 2012 VW Passat TDI SE a few weeks ago and it is a great car. We have been on several trips and are currently getting about 39 MPG on the highway with 3 adults and the trunk loaded. The car rides and handles well my only complaint is that the maps are outdated on the navigation system.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2012 PASSAT SEL

by New Owner to VW from NY, NY on Fri Apr 13 2012

So far so good with my new PASSAT SEL Premium. Its still too new (only 600 miles driven) but I like everything about it except I wish they hid the trunk hinges and they should've upgraded the front hood, so I don't have to pull the stick out and hold up the hood, so 1980's. Otherwise, I am really liking it. Its a GREAT car for the money. I paid $28,500 for the SEL Premium, so I can complain. Definitely take a look at it plus its now made in the U.S.A.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Passat is a great car by VW!

by TJ from St. Cloud on Mon Nov 13 2017

I traded in my 2004 Passat TDI with over 300,000 miles. It was still running great but I was ready to drive something newer. I love the 2012 that I just purchased.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Randy from Chicago, IL on Thu Feb 16 2012

The car is by far the best car seen very reliable and overall looks great. I would buy this car at a 30,000 price its so worth the money. Now I may sound crazy but its a very good buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sweet ride

by Family man from Pennsylvania on Thu Jul 30 2015

The TDI combines performance with excellent gas mileage. Includes leather or cloth. The trunk is very roomy. Seating for five is excellent, which is two front and three rear. It can include Bluetooth and navigation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

the best 1st car purchase

by IrishRed89 from Nashville, TN on Wed Jul 29 2015

this car is my first big girl purchase and it was been fabulous. I love the Bluetooth and quiet ride of the car. The engine is clean as a whistle and I can sit 5 people comfortably and with a little room to spare! Its fantastic

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fuel efficient car

by Penny from Louisville, KY on Tue Jul 24 2012

I am averaging 36 mpg city and 44 mpg hwy, wanted a full size car and great fuel mileage and the TDI Passat delivers just that!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by Hal from on Mon Jan 23 2012

I have driven my Pasat TDI for about a month now. Overall average mileage as displayed by the computer is in the low 40's. All driving is local in hilly country. Can't wait to take a trip. The TDI is almost as comfortable as The Enclave I traded in. I had a 99 Bettle Diesel that was not close to this car in fit and finish and thou lighter and smaller It was not as efficient and not nearly as much fun to drive. VW wlill sell as many TDIs as they can build. My wife used to make me drive most of the time. Not now: darn it.'

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Volkswagen Passat

For many car shoppers, price is king — so it’s no wonder the prior-generation Volkswagen Passat, a 2010 model that started at $27,195, didn’t have much of a chance against family sedans from Honda, Toyota and others that cost thousands less.

Now, however, its chances are much better.

The redesigned 2012 Passat combines the driving dynamics and interior quality that VW fans expect with the roominess, comfort and value that the wider public demands.

The 2012 Passat has been designed specifically for the American market, and it starts at $19,995 — squarely in the heart of the midsize segment. Expect it at dealerships nationwide by the fall.

Offered in three trim levels — S, SE... Read More