2017 Passat

Consumer Reviews

2017 Volkswagen Passat

$10,806 - $18,466  MSRP Range
2017 Volkswagen Passat

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

169 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Volkswagen Passat?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 169 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Passat has been a great surprise

by rdf63 from Philadelphia, Pa on Sun Jul 26 2020

The Passat is a great car. Attractive on the outside and more room inside than expected. Being 6’2” the leg room is excellent and the power seats can be adjusted to make it comfortable. It can be easily adjusted for people taller or shorter to fit correctly. Leather seats are very comfortable and show little wear and tear in 4 years. Controlling the radio, blue tooth, sunroof is very easy. Additional space in the trunk as well, good back seat area and gas mileage is still good. Was weary getting my first VW but It has worked out well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for your buck for a European car.

by wvazquezdbc from Los Angeles, Ca on Wed Nov 01 2017

Very comfortable and spacious from inside. And the ride is comfortable too. Performance from the 1.8T engine could be better in terms of horsepower. Yet I'm not trying to race or go on a track anytime soon. I drive around the city and I don't need to go from 0-60 on a residential street. Exterior styling is very nice, yet simple and to the point. The front grille is what caught my attention. And the LED lights are a plus. Interior design is also very nice and to the point. Not so many plastic parts like other sedans have. Very spacious both front and back. The kids love the space in the back, the rear air vent to keep them cool and the USB port to keep their tablets charged. Value for the money is TWO THUMBS UP !! I'm sure there is other cars in the same category that have great value. And I see everyone else driving those cars. I'd rather be different and drive this particular model because it's turning heads when I'm driving around town. Reliability has been great yet I've only had the car for 1 year. I can't really give too much information on this subject.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have owned in years.

by mauiman from Chattanooga, TN 37405 on Fri Apr 12 2019

This car is a true "German Car", even though it is made right here in my hometown of Chattanooga, TN. It is powerful (280hp), extremely refined, and rivals an Audi A6.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent sedan that is most reliable

by Steve from Louisville on Wed Sep 09 2020

Of course we know about German engineering being superior and that always helps. The handling on my Passat R-Line is excellent. I love the feel of the car. I opted for the more sporty R-Line version because the appearance and styling of it look special. I prefer a sedan over any truck like SUV that are usually just too bulky to drive. The sedan is more of a pleasure to drive. If you want to add speed opt for the 3.6. I certainly feel my 1.8 turbo is more than adequate.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

so far, so good!

by sspro from Lansdale, Pa on Sun Dec 23 2018

Found this particular model (R-line w/lighting package))with 16,500 miles on it. Bought it 4 months ago, put 2,500 miles on it with road trip to Florida...no issues (and upper 30's on mpg highway)5, 000 miles overall. Ride and comfort good, lots of storage/leg room, technology excellent (had 2009 Jetta prior), and many comments on good looks. Still have year to go on warranty, don't expect any issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Really like the car

by born2bwild 07 from New Oxford on Sat Sep 15 2018

Every car I have owned over the past 12 years , I found several reviews that were negative and others commenting on styling etc. I read several reviews on this car about the lack of exterior styling and how it was a plain and simple car. Hey go look and test drive the car or any car and if you don't like it don't buy it, it is that simple. We have freedom of choice in America. I buy a car because I like it , not because some guy in California did or didn't like it. I like the plain styling both inside and out. It runs great feels good and is very comfortable and responsive to drive. I am old school and the simpler a car is the better I like it. I don't want or need a car with more components then the space shuttle. I want a car to get from point a to b comfortable and responsive and this is that car. I love the car. I bought it pre-owned with very little miles on it. Traded my big xxx SUV in on it since I no longer work and do not have to drive one hour to work daily. Hey if it snows I stay home now, how easy can that be. Check the car out and make your own choice. Mine is in Real White and I had more heads turned then when I had my two Mustangs. One was also in white. No matter how fast a car is or how fast it gets from zero to 60, it doesn't matter. This cars accelerates quick enough to get up to interstate speed which is fast enough for me. I have already squealed the tires twice so far and I was not even trying. The Turbo is awesome. Your choice , buy it because you like it or don't, no one is twisting your arm. But I like it. and highly recommend it. I am a old school motor head, I used to do a lot of my own repairs and own a lot of muscle cars. A long time ago I bought a VW Bug because my car was in the body shop and it was very reliable and no matter how hard you tried , you couldn't kill it. I trust VW and German engineering and am sure this will also be reliable. Hey all cars have problems at one time or another, take care of it, do the maintenance and oil changes etc and I am sure it will last a long time. My son has owned 2 GTI's and that have been reliable and solidly built . Thought I would give VW a shot and I am glad I did I bought mine at Hanover VW in Hanover Pa and the dealership was fantastic. If you are in the neighborhood stop by and see Travis, he is a great salesman and all around decent young man. Glad I went there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

I've owned 6 cars - this is the worst

by Mike from Dallas, TX on Mon Dec 16 2019

I hate this thing. The only reason why I bought it was because it was $7k off MSRP ! I couldn't resist. I've had two flat tires, warning lights going off randomly, and the most unsafe thing is its automatic emergency brake. It's gone off twice when it shouldn't have and I'm incredibly lucky it didn't cause an accident. Repairing this car is as headache if you don't live near a VW dealership. The parts of this car is very specific to VW, so there's really no aftermarket sector that makes these products. You have to get pretty much everything directly from VW.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Passat a great buy

by Passat owner from Graham, WA on Wed Jul 05 2017

It is a great example of German design. Car is an incredible buy. They say 32 MPG, but so far I am up to 40 MPG. Car is comfortable and does hold its own on power. The styling is incredible. Beautiful car inside and out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Has everything I needed in a luxuary car.Good powe

by Lon Phillips, Retired from Blue Springs, Mo on Thu Nov 08 2018

Plenty of power and very comfortable ride. Looks and feels like an expensive lux. car. Very responsive. Just took a 6k trip, very satisfied with performance and quality. Cruise control could keep up on hills better is one concern and air conditioner sometimes takes to much time to cool.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super nice car for a daily driver

by Mjm23 on Thu Nov 02 2017

The car met my needs, very good styling in my opinion looked pretty aggressive and v6 engine not bad at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2017 Volkswagen Passat

The verdict:


Multimedia system updates, a slew of new advanced safety features and lower fuel costs make the refreshed 2016 Volkswagen Passat much more attractive, even if its styling changes go largely unnoticed.

Versus the competition:


The Passat remains one of the roomiest and best-driving mid/full-size sedans. Updates where they were most needed keep the 2016 competitive, though its mileage is beginning to trail even though it went up this year.

Editor’s note: This review was written in January 2016 about the 2016 Passat, but little of substance has changed for this year. To see what’s new for 2017 click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. To read the full review of the 2016 Passat, click here.

When it was introduced, the current-generation Volkswagen Passat sedan won Cars.com’s top award, the Best of 2012. The midsize-priced, full-size sedan aged well, and the 2015 took third place against nine competitors — most of which had been redesigned more recently — in our $27,000 Midsize Sedan Challenge. For 2016, Volkswagen’s product planners left well enough alone and improved only what... Read More