Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2009 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

$4,257 - $11,581  MSRP Range
2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

44 Reviews
70% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1 Year- Not 1 Problem

by Capt. B from Black Hills, SD on Fri Sep 24 2010

SEL 4Motion. 1 Year 15k miles and zero problems. Very pleased with this vehicle, unique look, excellent handling and acceleration. Driven on rough dusty roads every day and no rattles or squeaks. Great build quality in and out. Front and rear seats the best I have experienced in a small to mid sized SUV. Average MPG using premium fuel in combination city/hwy with hills has been 21.5. Winter conditions no problem at all, however we did swap to snow tires and wheels. The 19" wheels and low profile tires not made for serious winter driving, no surprise there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Do not depend on this SUV!!!!!!!!!!

by No more VWs from Texas on Tue Dec 10 2013

This car has been nothing but a headache. I bought a CPO. The first thing to go wrong was the panoramic sunroof. The shade covering it went offtrack and they had to replace the whole thing which took quite a while. I had to argue with them about replacing it. The cost was about 2K because they have to take off the whole top interior and panels to replace this one shade. Also it appears to leak and still does . Spots on headliner. They would not even look into fixing that. Then at 62K miles the car stops running. I barely made it to the dealers. I googled issues since it was giving engine code. Apparently the timing belt tensioner in this car is not made well. There has been a bulletin but no recalls. So the costs to fix all the engine parts the failed tensioner damaged was around 6K. The dealership would not pay for repairs because it was 2K miles out of warranty. When I picked up my car from being repaired a sales person said someone just brought their Tiguan in with same issue and it only had 135 miles!! If you google tiguan tensioner you will see that this has happened to quite a few people. Now My ac has stopped working at around 65K. No telling what this will cost. Save your money for a more reliable car. I never owned a VW and thought they were reliable. I am now scared to drive anywhere and cannot wait to be able to get rid of this suv.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Best SUV Out There!

by Finicky Fellow from Kansas City, KS on Thu Mar 04 2010

I have been looking for the perfect small SUV. I have owned five SUVs since 2008- 2 Elements, 2 Escapes, and an Edge. And finally I have found it! The Tiguan combines the comfort, fit, and finish of a european luxury car with the sports utility of an american SUV into one SUV. The best of both worlds. The Tiguan's only problem so far has been a repair to the rear passenger window. The dealership diagnosed it as a problem with the window track getting out of line causing the window to malfunction. The best features are the heated seats and side mirrors along with the refrigerated glove compartment. Great for a chilled bottle of wine lakeside. Oh, did I also mention that I also owned 2 VW convertibles during my search for the perfect car and the Tiguan's sunroof is just like owning another convertible. Love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great Small SUV

by Dean the Chef from St. Petersburg FL on Fri Oct 17 2008

We were out looking for a used car for myself, and were at a Mazda/VW dealership. We were waiting on some info and were looking around and sat in the Tiguan. Fell in love instantly. We went to a different dealer closer to home and took the car out for a drive. The dealer let us keep it over the weekend and we knew we had to have it. The engine pulls nicely, has nice low end torque and great high end power. The transmission is nice and smooth, we opted for the automatic. The manumatic function is almost as good as rowing the gears with a manual. The fit and finish is great, all of the switchgear is sturdy and has nice looks, the panoramic sunroof is a great option, the sunscreen blocks more than enough sun to not have to worry about it. Panel gaps are non existent and the paint is shiny and has minimal orange peel. Things to change, not too many... A Diesel option would be great, but lets be honest, this isnt Europe and not too many SUV/CUV buyers are looking for a diesel. I am a huge proponent of diesels and would love to see one but I dont know if it would be in VW's best interest. A better traction control system, when giving the Tiguan a heavy foot the front tires will not grip too well. Towing Capacity could be a little better, but 2000 pounds will tow a 17-18 foot boat or a nice trailer, so for most it will work. Things that are good... Gas Mileage, we get almost 29-30 MPG highway and 23-24 MPG city, of course if you get on the gas you will get lower but the engine is very efficient. This is a great size SUV for a small family or couple that doesn't need a huge SUV, but wants more versatility then a sedan can offer. Others cars we have owned, Nissan Altima, Scion xB, Hyundai Sonata V6, and the Tiguan is by far the best. i have driven many types of cars from BMW, Lexus and Audi to other VW's, Toyotas and Mazdas. The Tiguan is a great car that deserves a good long look if you are considering a small SUV or even a Sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun to drive.

by KC from San Diego, California on Wed Jul 11 2012

This car handles great, you have to watch your speed as you can look down and be going over the limit. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

no way these ratings are real

by vw no more from Ontario on Thu Apr 06 2017

Owned 09 Tig for 4 years. Have put over 5 thousand CDN into it - it is now a German paper weight at a garage. How do i hate it? Let me count the ways...three times for out of warranty leaky roof drains...over $1200 total every other spring when freeze/thaw season comes around. Turned car into an expensive child's pool inside. Nav system went year 3...didnt even go there to fix that.... Over $1000.00 on new starter install - since they have to drop engine to replace - same goes for $800 to replace/get at $30 gasket seal. Currently....timing chain went because of plastic inside the design...bent shaft...at $3000.00 currently and still in pieces at mechanic's garage. I cant even look at it - not only bc its in a garage...but because i hate it so much. While there...replaced water pump that was already failing. All maintenance up to date, expensive Euro-synth oil changes on the date...evil. Avoid this year /model at all costs...It was not ready for the market.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looking for a small SUV’ - This is the one!

by DG from Pensacola, FL on Sun Oct 12 2008

If you’re looking for a SUV with a lot of cargo space this isn’t it, nor are you going to get stuck with 16 mpg city like those larger SUVs. Also, if you’re looking for more plastic in the interior along with fake chrome you’ll need to look elsewhere. But if you want a quality built compact SUV with decent cargo space that actually accelerates when you push down on the gas and has some real style the Tiguan is for you. It has a fantastic 2.0 turbo and a smooth transmission that give you an excellent ride. If you want a combination of a GTI/Passat in a SUV this is it. The Tiguan has both style and performance and you can get just about every option you need on a standard Tiguan S with AT6. Even the stock radio/CD/mp3 along with 8 speakers provides great sound.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Sleek looking money pit"

by SpringsCO Girl from Colorado Springs, Colorado on Thu Dec 21 2017

I've owned my VW Tiguan since 2010. It looks so nice and is fun when it is functioning properly... at 40,000 miles. My turbo went out and i brought it back to the dealership that I paid an extended warranty for and they fought me about it. They ended paying for it. My engine light has been turning on and off for the 4 years with cylinder misfires. No one knows what's wrong with it. The sun/moon roof does leak and I have lovely stains on the ceiling of my car because of it. I've had wires break and constantly have to repair this car which is expensive. All mechanics have told me to trade it in before it breaks down more because it's not worth the price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty and reliable with 'long legs'

by vdubs-r-us from Albuquerque, NM on Thu Dec 01 2016

Purchased used 2WD SEL in '12 with around 50K miles as a replacement for a 2.0L Jetta IV that was wrecked. Impressive acceleration keeping up at highway speeds. IIRC dealer-paid maintenance included coilpack replacement, intake carbon removal. Crank seal took a dump at about 100K and inner CVs started going bad at 115K so both axles replaced.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my VW

by First SUV from Melbourne, FL on Thu Oct 01 2009

This is the first VW I have ever owned. My last vehicle was an S-10, and have had several trucks, and a Mitsubishi Montero. This is a great vehicle..It has everything I was looking for +. Only a few problems - visor lights, wipers, but all covered by warranty. Do wish the satellite radio was not on the dash. Price was a little higher than other vehicles, but I am pleased with the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Volkswagen's new compact crossover, the Tiguan, is everything the midsize Touareg should have been but isn't: relatively light, efficient, peppy, modern and roomy. I say "relatively" because a car-based SUV is never as light and efficient as an actual car, but the unibody construction usually makes it lighter, more efficient and roomier than a truck-based SUV in the same class. Though the Touareg, released in 2004, was technically unibody, VW made the error of building it to be fully offroad capable, resulting in a handsome, beautifully appointed model with outdated features, compromised interior space and dismal gas mileage. It is one of few models I strongly dislike. The Tiguan makes no... Read More