2009 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews
2009 Volkswagen Tiguan

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

42 Reviews
2009 Volkswagen Tiguan
4.3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.5 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1 Year- Not 1 Problem

by Capt. B from Black Hills, SD on September 24, 2010

SEL 4Motion. 1 Year 15k miles and zero problems. Very pleased with this vehicle, unique look, excellent handling and acceleration. Driven on rough dusty roads every day and no rattles or squeaks. Great build quality in and out. Front and rear seats the best I have experienced in a small to mid sized SUV. Average MPG using premium fuel in combination city/hwy with hills has been 21.5. Winter conditions no problem at all, however we did swap to snow tires and wheels. The 19" wheels and low profile tires not made for serious winter driving, no surprise there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CUV!

by Dee from California on February 26, 2010

(This review is for the 2WD, SE model) Yes, it's pricey compared to the cheaper CRV, Rav4 etc., but the price difference is well worth it. We didn't want something huge (seems like CUVs are in the SUV-size range now), we basically wanted a car with a bigger trunk & better visibility, without the cheap quality of some other brands. If you're looking for low cost and huge trunk better look somewhere else! Not to say that deals can't be had on some Tiguan models though. Interior quality is very good, panoramic roof is gorgeous. There is plenty of room in the back for adults, and we have no issue with cargo space. There's lots of storage up front for the driver too. We love the multifunction display that allows you to see MPG, a compass, music playing, miles, etc. + steering wheel controls. The Tiguan handles well, love the peppy 2.0T engine, and our mileage is better than expected (24MPG combined, mostly city / 28MPG combined, mostly highway!). We do use premium gas though. Safety ratings are HIGH (look for videos on roof test ratings, it'll blow your mind!). The doors are heavy and when you step in you know that the car is very well built and will protect you. We've had no reliability issues so far. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone. It's worth every penny.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Do not depend on this SUV!!!!!!!!!!

by No more VWs from Texas on December 10, 2013

This car has been nothing but a headache. I bought a CPO. The first thing to go wrong was the panoramic sunroof. The shade covering it went offtrack and they had to replace the whole thing which took quite a while. I had to argue with them about replacing it. The cost was about 2K because they have to take off the whole top interior and panels to replace this one shade. Also it appears to leak and still does . Spots on headliner. They would not even look into fixing that. Then at 62K miles the car stops running. I barely made it to the dealers. I googled issues since it was giving engine code. Apparently the timing belt tensioner in this car is not made well. There has been a bulletin but no recalls. So the costs to fix all the engine parts the failed tensioner damaged was around 6K. The dealership would not pay for repairs because it was 2K miles out of warranty. When I picked up my car from being repaired a sales person said someone just brought their Tiguan in with same issue and it only had 135 miles!! If you google tiguan tensioner you will see that this has happened to quite a few people. Now My ac has stopped working at around 65K. No telling what this will cost. Save your money for a more reliable car. I never owned a VW and thought they were reliable. I am now scared to drive anywhere and cannot wait to be able to get rid of this suv.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my Tiguan!

by Nedrow from MI on January 2, 2012

This car is so much fun to drive-love the feel of it. I previously owned a Jetta for 11 years. When this car died, I first bought a Subaru Forester, but missed the feel of a VW so much that after one month I turned it in for the Tiguan! The only thing keeping me from a 5 star rating is the fuel economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VW Best SUV Out There!

by Finicky Fellow from Kansas City, KS on March 4, 2010

I have been looking for the perfect small SUV. I have owned five SUVs since 2008- 2 Elements, 2 Escapes, and an Edge. And finally I have found it! The Tiguan combines the comfort, fit, and finish of a european luxury car with the sports utility of an american SUV into one SUV. The best of both worlds. The Tiguan's only problem so far has been a repair to the rear passenger window. The dealership diagnosed it as a problem with the window track getting out of line causing the window to malfunction. The best features are the heated seats and side mirrors along with the refrigerated glove compartment. Great for a chilled bottle of wine lakeside. Oh, did I also mention that I also owned 2 VW convertibles during my search for the perfect car and the Tiguan's sunroof is just like owning another convertible. Love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Money Pit

by vikingolfer from Vallejo, CA on January 17, 2014

Money pit says it all. A $1500 repair every year. I thought that modern technology vehicles were supposed to require minimum maintenance. My 3 year extended warranty is about to run out. TIME TO GET RID OF THIS CAR.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable and fun to drive.

by KC from San Diego, California on July 11, 2012

This car handles great, you have to watch your speed as you can look down and be going over the limit. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great Small SUV

by Dean the Chef from St. Petersburg FL on October 17, 2008

We were out looking for a used car for myself, and were at a Mazda/VW dealership. We were waiting on some info and were looking around and sat in the Tiguan. Fell in love instantly. We went to a different dealer closer to home and took the car out for a drive. The dealer let us keep it over the weekend and we knew we had to have it. The engine pulls nicely, has nice low end torque and great high end power. The transmission is nice and smooth, we opted for the automatic. The manumatic function is almost as good as rowing the gears with a manual. The fit and finish is great, all of the switchgear is sturdy and has nice looks, the panoramic sunroof is a great option, the sunscreen blocks more than enough sun to not have to worry about it. Panel gaps are non existent and the paint is shiny and has minimal orange peel. Things to change, not too many... A Diesel option would be great, but lets be honest, this isnt Europe and not too many SUV/CUV buyers are looking for a diesel. I am a huge proponent of diesels and would love to see one but I dont know if it would be in VW's best interest. A better traction control system, when giving the Tiguan a heavy foot the front tires will not grip too well. Towing Capacity could be a little better, but 2000 pounds will tow a 17-18 foot boat or a nice trailer, so for most it will work. Things that are good... Gas Mileage, we get almost 29-30 MPG highway and 23-24 MPG city, of course if you get on the gas you will get lower but the engine is very efficient. This is a great size SUV for a small family or couple that doesn't need a huge SUV, but wants more versatility then a sedan can offer. Others cars we have owned, Nissan Altima, Scion xB, Hyundai Sonata V6, and the Tiguan is by far the best. i have driven many types of cars from BMW, Lexus and Audi to other VW's, Toyotas and Mazdas. The Tiguan is a great car that deserves a good long look if you are considering a small SUV or even a Sedan.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've owned!

by Tiggy from California on June 23, 2008

I just purchased the Tiguan and love it! The Tiguan handles expertly with a smooth and quiet drive. The turbo engine is great-it is very powerful and fast when you need it to be. The interior design is comfortable and sleek. The instruments are logically laid out and easy to read. The visibility is very good (not as good as the forester's). The position of the seat is great for shorter drivers. Some aspects that could be improved: The seats are not as easy to fold down as the others. The driver panel lights don't turn off automatically in the SE. I test drove the CR-V, RAV-4 and 2009 Forester and none of these vehichles compare to the richness in the quality of the vehicle nor in the performance of the car. Although you pay about 3-4K more than other cars in the class...the money spent is well worth it! This is the best car I have owned (previous vehicles: Subaru Forester(s), Saab 900-s).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looking for a small SUV? - This is the one!

by DG from Pensacola, FL on October 12, 2008

If you?re looking for a SUV with a lot of cargo space this isn?t it, nor are you going to get stuck with 16 mpg city like those larger SUVs. Also, if you?re looking for more plastic in the interior along with fake chrome you?ll need to look elsewhere. But if you want a quality built compact SUV with decent cargo space that actually accelerates when you push down on the gas and has some real style the Tiguan is for you. It has a fantastic 2.0 turbo and a smooth transmission that give you an excellent ride. If you want a combination of a GTI/Passat in a SUV this is it. The Tiguan has both style and performance and you can get just about every option you need on a standard Tiguan S with AT6. Even the stock radio/CD/mp3 along with 8 speakers provides great sound.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5
Our Expert Review: 2009 Volkswagen Tiguan