Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2014 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2014 Volkswagen Tiguan

$9,540 - $19,444  MSRP Range
2014 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

51 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2 VW's

by TouaregLover from Denver, CO on Mon Jun 02 2014

I've owned the Touareg, it was a good car so bought a base 14 Tiguan, and this little car does pretty good. It handles well, gets better than advertised MPG in city and highway. It can be better at acceleration from the stop, and electric seats should be standard. Great car for the value, especially in Colorado or anywhere it snows.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top 3 Most fun cars I've owned

by Performance Type from South Florida on Thu Jan 23 2014

Tiguan SE I love this little SUV. I spent long hours on the road so I needed something confortable, while also a good power delivery and agile handling. So I basically needed a sedan/coupe, EXCEPT, due to the nature of my job, I needed a higher ground clearance. This is literally the ONLY vehicle (in its price range) that checked every one of those boxes. Compared with its direct competition Rav4, CR-V, etc. The one thing I have to point out that it is specially the most bang for dollar for someone who is performance oriented. If you are the "point A to point B" kind of person. You may find the other ones more fitting (better mileage, extra standard features, etc). My only con is that I've been hearing this little 'click' noise coming from the transmission or perhaps the differential. I already had their tech look into it without any findings. But the one I test drove didn't make this noise. Unfortunately this one does and it's been doing it from day one. So just make sure you test drive the one you will be taking home. That's all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Middleaged Mom from Chattanooga TN on Sat Aug 23 2014

I have driven this car for the past five months and can honestly say I started looking for places to drive after the first trip around the block. I'm a middle-aged woman with grown children and the only negative I can think of is maybe the Tiguan would not be roomy enough for a large growing family. I have the SEL with backup camera, navigation and Fender speakers and love it. It is so fun to drive! The steering is precise, great brakes and I can blow most any other vehicle off the entrance ramp to the interstate. The interior is well appointed but easy to figure out. (I had an Audi Q5 a few years ago and never figured out how to set the clock) The Tiguan is not cheap, but it is well worth the price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 Tiguan @ 40k

by T.J. from Easton, PA on Sat May 27 2017

I purchased a 2014 Tiguan for around 14k and I love this car! I traded in my truck so having all the accessories is like night and day. The only downside is trunk space but then I found out you can slide the rear seats forward for more space! Gotta love the germans.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I'm in love with my Tiguan

by Tootoo from Montreal on Fri Oct 03 2014

I've owned a Tiguan since 2012 and I really love this cars..I 'm planing to buy another Tiguan for my wife :) thanks Das Auto

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 VW Tiguan S 4motion is super

by Richard Qiu from Akron, OH on Wed Mar 29 2017

Just go the car. We test drove a couple of cars, like Jeep, Ford, Nissan. None of them are close to the driving experience that Tiguan offered. It is super smooth on the road with enough power. 4WD is great with snow conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car!

by Kevwheels220 from Fremont, CA on Wed Jul 19 2017

The Tiguan is a real gem! It is comfortable, peppy, and a real blast to drive. I really love the flexibility that the Tiguan has to offer. It is great for commuting, going to the grocery store, chores, and that summer camping trip. For a compact SUV, the Volkswagen Tiguan deserves your consideration.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great handling, 20-30 mpg, best car I’ve owned

by Dennis from on Thu Jan 04 2018

Tiguan ’R’ Series has all amenities (and then some) that you’ll ever need. Great space, comfort and storage w/easy to use and access controls.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Stylish & Sporty SUV

by Emily from Pittsburgh, PA on Tue Jun 19 2018

This car is perfect for me! I recently upgraded from a 2003 Toyota Corolla, so this new car has everything and more that I could have asked for. There is plenty of legroom, the seats are comfortable, the system interface is helpful, and the interior/exterior is beautiful. Great quality and has all the "bells & whistles" for a new college grad.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

by Smc81580 from Boston ma on Sun Aug 06 2017

Good car, good features, except no USB ports and gas tank is a bit tough to open. Gps system doesn't seem to recognize a lot of addresses

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6