NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Tiguan

$12,585 - $20,041  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

58 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 58 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Condition Car

by DianeD from Basking Ridge on Thu Sep 14 2017

Great drive experience, nice and reasonable sensitive gas and break. Very well kept car, looks like a beautiful cherry red brand new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Tiguan is a great car with many uses.

by LDG from Denver, CO on Mon Jan 07 2019

The Tiguan is just the right size and maneuvers well. It is good looking and performs well too. It is great for hauling things around and handles very well. It is an all around excellent car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very capable performer with great exceleration

by Quazolinie from Medford, OR on Sat Jan 21 2017

I've had this car for five months, taken 2 one thousand mile trips and look forward to the next trip. Gas mileage is a bit disappointing, but improving with some miles on it. The Tiguan 4motion is stable, solid and very predictable in sloppy driving conditions. Our last trip was through ice patches, snow and slush. The car was extremely sure footed, and never gave me a moments pause. Fuel economy over one thousand miles of mountain driving in said conditions returned 25 mpg. As I stated, it's getting better. Exceleration getting on highways is more than capable. Shifting is crisp and sure. Too many attributes to list, just would like to see blind spot monitoring, as visibility is a bit limited on passenger side.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Tiggy

by JAS22 from Rochester, NY on Mon Sep 28 2015

The Tiguan is nice. We have driven about 400 miles and it seems to be performing well. The gas consumption is a concern for a small vehicle. It is very similar to the ML I had for the past 8 years. With less towing capacity...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and Comfortable Car

by NoraO from Chicago, IL on Wed Apr 10 2019

I can't really touch too much on reliability, because I have just purchased this about 3 weeks ago. It is a very comfortable car and I am finding that there are tiny things about it that have just been such conveniences. An example would be that it has many compartments for item storage, and they are textured (lined with rubber or something), which keeps my stuff in place due to the friction. It seems like almost every piece of this car was built smart, and has more functions than you'd initially think. Another thing I really appreciate is the lumbar support settings for the seats - totally customizable. Also, the heated area of the seats includes the lower back, which has been so nice (not to mention, many people who get in my car say that they are the warmest heated seats they've ever sat in).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Tiguan

by Kreyes2588 from Long island city, NY on Wed Dec 02 2015

I purchased this car the day before thanksgiving 2015. I absolutely love it! I went to the dealership (koeppel Queens) on Tuesday and picked the car up on Wednesday. The sales associate was amazing. He really tried to work with me and never made me feel forced to buy anything. Nino is the sales Manager and gave me a great deal with the miles. This car is fast and amazingly comfortable. My family and i love it. 2 of my friends are already thinkin of buying it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy VW owner

by cbtiguanowner from Port Coquitlam, B.C. Canada on Thu Feb 01 2018

My wife and I are very happy with the vehicle. It has lots of power, ride is smooth and comfortable, and the visibility is excellent

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck

by Luke's from Los Angeles,ca on Sat Jun 22 2019

I purchased used and went ahead and got synthetic oil,changed the engine filter,cabin air filter,and added nitrogen to the tires for maintenance free driving. I have had no issues at all with this car. At first the drivers seating arrangement felt awkward to me but in time you'll adjust and learn to appreciate it. I love all the features that you would miss if you didnt pay attention. The drive is great and although gas mileage doesn't meet competition it is still a great ride and not too far off. I would buy another one without hesitation. Just do your maintenance and take care of it and itll take you far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle, smooth and fun

by Happy Cambers from Abbotsford on Tue Mar 21 2017

I had wanted to acquire the VW Tiguan, it is the smoothest ride. There is plenty of space for grabbing your gear heading out and do some gold panning. I liked the fact that the top of the vehicle is very strong if it ever rolled.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A sleeper in the SUV segment

by NEW TO VW from Burlington, VT on Sat Nov 14 2015

I absolutely love my new Tiguan. I've only had it for 2 months but I can truly say it is a gem in a overcrowded segment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com