NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Tiguan

Consumer Reviews

2016 Volkswagen Tiguan

$12,589 - $20,053  MSRP Range
2016 Volkswagen Tiguan

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

58 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Volkswagen Tiguan?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 58 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2016 R-Line

by JO from on Mon Dec 19 2016

Needed to give up my Honda Element, and seeing as Honda has ruined the body style of every model this year, I went back to an old favorite - the VW. For the most part I am happy with this car. There are some things that bother me, however. After it rains, I get massive condensation on the inside of the windshield. It takes days for it to go away. Also, the A/C vents are small and blocked by the steering wheel. I also don't like that key-less entry doesn't unlock all of the doors. Heated seats and moisture sensing wipers are a huge plus. Handles great and is quick! Getting better gas mileage as well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2016 Tiguan

by Tiggie from Las Vegas, NV on Sat Jan 16 2016

Very nice care, feels very luxurious..great performance... although I have less the a 1,000 miles on it, I for-see no problems....Drove it from N California to Las Vegas, without a hitch...everything went smoothly...Great Car...!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value

by LynnefromSylvania from Sylvania on Sun Sep 30 2018

This car has a peppy engine and all the amenities I wanted. The body was in great shape, too. We've found Volkswagens to be very reliable.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Very unreliable

by P Jones from Cape Town on Sat Jul 28 2018

I really like it but very very unreliable it has left me starting on a very busy intersection very unsafe and VW SA can’t get it sorted I have had it for a year and has been in for at least three months and still not sorted. I am waiting two weeks now for a answer and still with out a vehicle I am not satisfied with the fact that they just ceep charge parts and only lost two days

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect balance of power and fuel economy

by Lukaine87 from Forest,va on Sat Jan 19 2019

I just purchased a 2016 Volkswagen Tiguan Rline with 4motion 2 months ago and so far I love it has great power and tons of aftermarket parts to upgrade and get a lot more power out of the stock engine so far I’m averaging 30 mpg highway and 25 city and that’s living in the mountains also does great in snow and mud the interior is very nice and has all the creature comforts you want or need.It also has a great sound system from the factory.the only thing is would be nice if the trunk was a little bigger but the seats do fold down also mechanically the engine runs great and has all the torque you need but there’s a few things I would recommend to upgrade after your warranty is up just to make it better the stock such as all the turbo and inter cooler pipping,cold air intake,exhaust,oil catch can and a stage 2 tune and you’ll be making a lot more power

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very nice suv

by fc from Windsor on canada on Mon Dec 07 2015

very reliable suv performace very well i recommanded to a friend very stylish and very comfortable fun to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Quality Vehicle

by Booker from Charoltte on Tue Dec 05 2017

Depending on what you're looking for, this is a great fit for a small family or a starter car for your college student. Great highway gas mileage, acceleration is good & at 6'5" I fit comfortably.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Terrible MPG for this size vehicle

by mrexplorer from Manchester, NH on Tue Nov 14 2017

My first VW and I like it for the most part but the MPG is really bad in my opinion. I get less than 19 mpg with a 2.0. That's not much better than my Ford Explorer with a V8. VW is good in snow and rides comfortably on long distance trips. Roomier than it looks but again I emphasize lousy gas mileage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best compact Suv on the market for my budget.

by Mr Tiguan from Carneys Point, NJ on Thu Jun 15 2017

Comfort and drivability are important to me and this car meets my needs for speed and fix easily into tight parking space

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my r-line

by Sporty! on Thu Jan 18 2018

It rides well, sporty and sleek. B Not the best gas mileage but that not what appealed to me. I see a lot of them on the road, which is fine with me. It the Perfect size for me. I wish it had auto open hatch and longer seats.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com