2014 Touareg

Consumer Reviews

2014 Volkswagen Touareg

$15,971 - $35,259  MSRP Range
2014 Volkswagen Touareg

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Volkswagen Touareg?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV

by Carfan1 from Seattle, Wa on Mon Oct 09 2017

I own a Touareg Sport V6 3.6 with navigation package. Probably the most underrated midsize SUV on the market. Especially as used it is great value for the money. Beautiful both on the outside and inside. Super quiet and comfortable. Powerful engine, confident handling and lots of space and practical features. It feels solid and with good finish everywhere. No issues. It also has 7700 lbs towing capacity which is better than most SUVs and many trucks. I also test drove a BMW X5 and didn't like it. The Touareg felt better in every way so it was an easy choice. Very happy with my Touareg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality in every aspect

by Alan from Eustis, FL on Sun Feb 18 2018

This SUV is one heck of a vehicle. The towing performance for a mid size SUV at 7700 lbs is just wonderful. Developed with Porsche it is the vehicle no one thinks about or really knows how good it really is. It handles like a sports car and rides fantastic. If you haven't experienced a Touareg you don't know what you are missing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by BSquared from Colorado on Tue Nov 08 2016

I love my 3.6L RLine Touareg. Great in all conditions; lots of room inside for people and stuff. I have had no issues with the vehicle. The ride is great and quiet. My only mild disappointment in the engine performance. I wish there were a gas powered engine that is turbo charged. The TDI motor would be better, but stayed away because of the issues VW has had. Previously owned an Audi Q5 and love the Touareg in all aspects except the engine power.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Touring, a fantastic automobile

by bruce from St. George, Utah on Sat Nov 18 2017

This car its comfortable and reliable whether I am driving around town, cruising down the highway (sometimes at speed), or if I am driving on sand or a dirt and rocky road. This car does it all with comfort, reliability, and with ease. She has great towing capability as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great compact SUV

by Oldskool from Indiana on Tue Jan 09 2018

Amazing power, comfort and ergonomics. Tragic that Bw will not make any More compact diesels. These are by far better then the gas options that are available today.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Had this car about a month now.

by Caro90panther from Birmingham, AL on Wed Jul 26 2017

Best vehicle I ever owned. May not be saying much, but I love it. V6, AWD, GPS, Leather, not too big, not too small.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth drive for luxury SUV

by Denver0303 from Denver, CO on Wed Jun 21 2017

The Touareg is a spacious SUV that drives with performance handling like a car. I primarily used the Touareg for city driving around Denver, but was easily able to take it up to the mountains in any conditions. Handles wonderfully in rain and snow.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best riding vehicle Volkswagon made

by Robbi40 from Sioux Falls, SD on Tue Nov 28 2017

I judge a car by style and comfort. I am very comfortable driving this vehicle long distances. It has a quiet ride. The interior room is just right for me. The reliability is top notch...VW makes great cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great ride at great gas mileage (Diesel)

by Diesel fan from Westchester, NY on Fri Aug 12 2016

We have been driving a 2014 Touareg TDi for two weeks now and all around love it. The TDi punch is fun and pushed you in the seats already at low RPMs and the gas mileage so far has been great. Getting consistently 29mpg on the highway and about 23mpg in suburban town driving. Even though the car is two years old it's super solid, nothing rattles, handling and cornering are nice and firm. The trunk is not the biggest, e.g. compared to a 2014 Ford Explorer, but second row seating space is plenty and all seats are really comfortable - especially compared to the Explorer. The Executive trim level has all the bells and whistles you'd like. Fantastic car so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Safe and comfortable

by PortableAlpha from Dallas, TX on Sat Feb 03 2018

I like the Touareg as it feels very safe and comfortable. Perfect size for the city and highway driving. It’s been a pretty reliable vehicle overall.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2014 Volkswagen Touareg

I'm a little shocked to discover that the last time I reviewed a Volkswagen Touareg was a full decade ago, before I had a teenager and the two corresponding faint parallel lines between my eyebrows to show for it (there are an equal number of smile lines worked in there, as well). While I'm only starting to review 2014 vehicles, the VW Touareg is starting the year off strong and might just qualify as one of the decade's most improved vehicles.

Although the Touareg has improved greatly, it's still missing a few features that, at its high price, really should be standard.

For 2014, VW has added a new R-Line trim with a sport-tuned suspension and a few sporty-looking design features into the Touareg lineup... Read More