2008 Touareg 2

Consumer Reviews

2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2

$4,344 - $12,952  MSRP Range
2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME MACHINE!!

by surfingpowderhog from Australia on Thu Jan 03 2008

I have bought the new Touareg 2 V6 TDI which is fantastic vehicle. I test drove all the other competiters in the field ML320,X5,Grand Cherokee,Range Rover Sport,Lexsus and the XC90. All had their good and bad points,but the touareg seemed to combine all the good points in one package. With a much more value for money than any of the rest. I would defenately reccommened the veedub to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by DrivesEveryWhere from Denver , CO on Sat Jun 15 2013

I bought my black 2008 Touareg 2 (350 HP V8, 6-spd tip, Executive trim pkg) with 40,000 miles on it. I was driving an Audi A6 BiTurbo but wanted an SUV with similar performance and cockpit features with off road capability. I love my SUV. The Touareg delivers excellent traction with all season tires in the worst Colorado winter driving conditions power and cornering to spare while climbing mountain passes. I love the way the VW 4XMotion all wheel drive system with ESP handles on snow and ice and off road. The 6-speed transmission can be driven in automatic, manual, or sport mode. The manual mode is perfect for winter driving and driving in mountains with steep grades. The Executive trim package is loaded. My favorite features include parking assist, cornering headlights, cabin rear air conditioner and heated seats, and keyless entry and ignition. There is also a 110V power converter that offers great convenience for electronics and utility. With well balanced center of gravity, skid plates and locking center differential, you can go where ever you want to off road. Reliability has been good after year of ownership . This is a very sturdy stylish unique vehicle. Whether you are pulling up to the valet at a nice restaurant or driving off road to your favorite trail head, you arrive in style or confidence and strength. Many upsides to this remarkable flag ship vehicle from VW. The only down side is the high performance V8 gas mileage and expensive maintenance. Premium performance vehicles require premium parts and premium service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

beautiful car

by "grey one" from Grand Junction on Sun May 01 2011

I love this car, it drives great, very comfortable. Beautiful interior with all of the extras. V8 is nice, but gas mileage low. Don't bother with the navigation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

only one word - farfegnugen

by zoomie from Charlotte, NC on Thu Sep 20 2007

I test drove BMW X3/X5, Toyota Highlander, Honda Pilot, Volvo XC90 before purchasing the Touareg. It handles as well as the BMW and better than any Asian import. Only detractor for me is the front seat pedastals have square corners and catch dirt/feet as you enter and exit the vehicle. It truly lives up to the VW reputation and the farfegnugen legend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Far More SUV than Price Suggests--Cayenne VW!

by Go Go Go!!! from Park City, UT on Wed May 28 2008

This vehicle has a something about it that is so enjoyable, along with great luxury and the practical prestige you might expect from Land Rover. I also have a 2008 Lexus RX 350 - they are completely different rides: the Lexus more quiet luxury, the VW more agressive and determined. I wouldn't trade the VW for the Lexus. The interior, the driving, and the handling are all far better than the cost (V6 an V8 models) - it's a Cayenne in hiding. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Touareg Yet!

by Happy Customer from Chicagom IL on Thu Jul 19 2007

I traded in my 2004 Touareg 3.2 for a new, 2008 Touareg 2, 3.6. what a difference. though there are not many changes inside, you can tell that there are some. frequently used buttons are much easier to reach and the everything is just in a better layout in general. the outside styling is pure VW. the chrome grille really charaterises the vehicle well. the more powerful engine is a definite plus, and it gets pretty good fuel economy for such a big vehicle. i get about 16-18 mpg in the city and between 20-22 on the highway. the handling is a bit better than the previous Touareg, and can even be called sporty for such a big vehicle. its no Porche 911, but the Touareg 2 is extremly agile and fun to drive for being 2 tons. this is also one of the safest cars on the road. there are so many standard saftey features, but thats what you expect from a company that designs cars for the road without a speed limit. i would definitley buy another!! before you buy one of those Japanese SUVs that have mediocre, lackluster handling and sacrifice alot to get 1 mpg better, check out the Touareg 2. for the same money you can get so many features (like a sun roof standard on all trim levels, something that they dont have), better comfort, more exciting drive experience, and better saftey.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 VW Touareg Excellent Vehicle

by Greg Pat from Wisconsin on Wed Oct 18 2017

Purchased our 2008 Touareg used. Great vehicle, reliable, sturdy, stylish, comfortable. Gas mileage could be better, but the trade-off to have its other features is worth it. Very solid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love that car

by Molar rules from Blairsville ga on Mon Mar 12 2012

Beautiful comfortable vehicle just not great on gas. Love the way it handles on the road and all of the great options .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent tuareg

by Yuan from west Lafayette on Thu Jul 13 2017

I purchased a used 2008 Tuareg under 70k miles. There is enough room for all passengers. the car satisfy all what i want. I really like this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Finally found a Touareg I could afford

by just an average dude from Oswego, IL on Tue Sep 24 2013

Dealership didn't disclose that I needed to "pay" an extra 2K to get "certified" status on my pre-owned Touareg. However, at that point in the process, I was already in love with the car. Also, small imperfections, such as broken mirror switch and missing flap to protect children from putting fingers in backseat cigarette lighter/charger were "not covered" under the certified pre-owned process. Those 2 repairs will eventually cost me a total of another $700. Overall, I still do like this car quite a bit.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2

Don't let the name fool you: The 2008 Volkswagen Touareg 2 is just an updated version of the Touareg, which debuted in 2003. Since then the company has made some minor alterations to the exterior and interior, and there are some significant changes this year, but none of the fiddling around has been enough to make the Touareg 2 a worthy competitor in a luxury SUV field ruled by the BMW X5, Mercedes-Benz M-Class and Land Rover Range Rover Sport.

Styling
If you liked the looks of the original Touareg, chances are the Touareg 2 won't turn you off. There are subtle changes to its overall styling, including an updated front end with a large chrome grille that resembles the rest of VW's lineup. There are... Read More