Postal Service Stamp Celebrates Indy 500

May 30 marks the 100th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500, and in honor of the milestone, the U.S. Postal Service has issued 50 million new first-class Forever Stamps.

The stamp displays the inaugural winning driver and vehicle — Ray Harroun and his Marmom “Wasp” — which was viewed by about 80,000 spectators. Harroun beat 39 other drivers with his winning time of 6 hours, 42 minutes, 8 seconds.

It’s been more than 100 years since the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and its 2.5-mile oval track was built. Today, the speedway is the largest spectator sporting facility in the world.

In a related story, the U.S. Senate passed legislation that recognizes the 100th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500, according to

More From