Specific VINs for Recalled Toyotas Released

An easy way to determine if your specific Toyota model was included in the accelerator pedal recall of 2.3 million cars is to locate your vehicle identification number (VIN) under the windshield on the driver’s side of the car. With the exception of the 2007-2010 Toyota Camry, which we explain later, the recalled cars will have the following VINs:

2005-2010 Avalon with VIN starting with 4T1
2009-2010 Matrix with VIN starting with 2T1
2007-2008 Tundra with VIN starting with 5TB
2007-2010 Tundra with VIN starting with 5TF
2008-2010 Sequoia with VIN starting with 5TD
2009 Corolla with VIN starting with 1NX or 2T1 CTS*
2010 Highlander with VIN starting with 5TD CTS*
2009-2010 RAV4 with VIN starting with 2T3 CTS*

All 2007-2010 Camrys with VINs starting with 4T4 CTS are also included, but owners of Camrys with the VIN 4T1 need to have the car’s pedal inspected to know which part was installed.

The asterisked vehicles above, as well as the Camry, are also built in Japan. Any VIN for those specific models starting with JT are not included in the recall. Every single Avalon, Matrix, Tundra and Sequoia in the recall are assembled in the US and all have these VIN numbers.

Photo of David Thomas
Former managing editor David Thomas has a thing for wagons and owns a 2010 Subaru Outback and a 2005 Volkswagen Passat wagon. Email David Thomas

Latest expert reviews