Toyota Adds 1.6 Million Vehicles to Takata Airbag Recall

img 1132475155 1444928330471 jpg photo by Kelsey Mays

CARS.COM — Toyota announced an expansion of the Takata airbag inflator recall today, adding 1.58 million more vehicles from its Lexus, Scion and Toyota divisions. The newest batch spans the 2006 to 2011 model years and includes everything from minivans to luxury sport sedans.

Related: Is Your Car Part of the Takata Airbag Recall?

Toyota’s expansion covers passenger-side airbags in the following cars:

  • 2007-2011 Lexus ES
  • 2010-2011 Lexus GX
  • 2006-2011 Lexus IS
  • 2008-2011 Scion xB
  • 2010-2011 Toyota 4Runner
  • 2009-2011 Toyota Corolla
  • 2009-2011 Toyota Matrix
  • 2011 Toyota Sienna
  • 2006-2011 Toyota Yaris

Those cars join many more Toyota and Lexus models already under Takata recall, the vast majority for passenger-side airbags.

Toyota’s expansion comes in the wake of federal regulators’ May 4 decision to add some 35 to 40 million more inflators to Takata’s already enormous recall, more than doubling the current total. Toyota said today’s expansion is “based on recent information” from Takata and federal authorities; it’s likely the first of many automakers to announce such an expansion.

Photo of Kelsey Mays
Former Assistant Managing Editor-News Kelsey Mays likes quality, reliability, safety and practicality. But he also likes a fair price. Email Kelsey Mays

Latest expert reviews