Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge RAM

4.7
(213 reviews)
Visit Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge RAM
Sales hours: 9:00am to 9:00pm
Service hours: 7:00am to 6:00pm
View all hours
Sales Service
Monday 9:00am–9:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am–9:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am–9:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Thursday 9:00am–9:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Friday 9:00am–9:00pm 7:00am–6:00pm
Saturday 9:00am–5:00pm 7:00am–3:00pm
Sunday Closed Closed
New (414) 386-8714 (414) 386-8714
Used (414) 377-4903 (414) 377-4903
Service (414) 409-7893 (414) 409-7893

Inventory

See all 163 vehicles from this dealership.

About our dealership

This seller has been on Cars.com since October 2006.
With a consistent supply of high quality new and pre-owned vehicles by Chrysler Dodge and Jeep Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge RAM offers customers in the Franklin WI region tons of choice; we have something for everyone. We also provide a full line of services to our customers which include vehicle repair car loans and an inventory of OEM Chrysler Dodge and Jeep auto parts. There is something here for everyone so come and visit us at 6319 S 108th Street to see for yourself!
"All Together Now All Together Different"

Service center

Phone number (414) 409-7893

Service hours

Monday
7:00am–6:00pm
Tuesday
7:00am–6:00pm
Wednesday
7:00am–6:00pm
Thursday
7:00am–6:00pm
Friday
7:00am–6:00pm
Saturday
7:00am–3:00pm
Sunday
Closed

Reviews

4.7
(213 reviews)

A dealership’s rating is calculated by averaging its lifetime reviews. Includes reviews from DealerRater

5.0

Salesman Howard Robinson Support Above and Beyond

Kudos to my salesman Howard Robinson on customer service and follow up. Great person to work with and a great resource for information on my Pacifica

Dealer response

Thanks for the great review Gerald! We are so glad to hear that you had a great experience working with Howard - he is very friendly and great to work with. Thanks for stopping in and working with our team. We look forward to seeing you again next time. We wish you many happy and safe miles!

5.0

Purchased a Jeep

Wanted to purchase a 2020 Jeep Wrangler and after the long search for the vehicle and process of purchasing the vehicle Lonnie Peterson made it happen! Great service!

Dealer response

Hi Arreon, Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with Lonnieduring your visit. We truly appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

5.0

2014 genesis coupe

Everyone there was very kind and welcoming and got down to business asap while maintaining a kind trendily atmosphere and it wasn’t like talking to a machine you felt like you were talking to a good old friend

Dealer response

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience working with our team at the dealership. It is important that our customers are heard and are taken care of properly when they visit the dealership. We truly appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again next time and follow us on Facebook for dealership events, special promotions and savings!

5.0

My Car Buying Experience

After a horrible experience with other dealerships I found Ewald in Franklin, WI and decided to give them a try. I was looking for dealership to help me with my unique situation and Ewald didn’t disappoint. When I walked into the car lot Lonnie Peterson greeted me right away and was kind and helpful. He is a great salesman. If you want a good price and direct answers for a car you are interested in, talking to him is the best choice. Pricing on the cars and your trade in will be fair, and the buying process is easy. Lonnie worked hard to make my deal as simple as possible and never gave up on making a deal workout for me. I’d recommend any of my friends or family to him. I left with a great deal on my new (used) car and I will go back to Ewald and Lonnie again because of the excellent customer service and high quality vehicles. Lonnie Peterson is a true professional throughout the process and continues to be with his follow up. Best decision I going to Ewald in Franklin, WI. Thanks for exceptional customer experience!

Dealer response

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience working with Lonnie. It is important that our customers are heard and are taken care of properly when they visit the dealership. We truly appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again next time. If you would like, follow us on Facebook for dealership events, special promotions and savings.

5.0

Tom you were excellent you went went above and bey

Tom you were excellent, you set the bar with your honesty, helpfulness, made us very comfortable and pleased with our decision to purchase from ewald.because of you we would come back.kudos to you Tom.

Dealer response

Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with Tom during your visit. We truly appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again next time. We hope you enjoy many happy miles in your new vehicle - have an amazing week.

2.5

Customer service

I recently purchased a 2019 dodge rebel, pete was my sales rep with the assistance of pat the general manager. My purchase experience was awesome. But where things took a turn for the worse was parts and services. My rebel is having issues maintaining a battery charge, initially the dealership diagnosis was the alternator. I was given a 5 day lead time on this issue, I followed up with service on the 5th day, to find out my part was given to someone else and the new lead time would be 2 to 3 weeks. No one was going to call me I'm assuming, so I asked could i get the part number to see if it was anything i could do. I was told no and its a chrysler issue the part is back ordered. I called my local dealer not only did he get the part in 2 days, when he guaranteed me 3 to 5 days. I'm still yet to really drive my brand new car i bought. The kicker is the alternator wasn't even the issue, the new dealer order the correct part which is my current status. I'm moving to another state at the end of the month, i would have really been in a bad spot had i waited the 2 to 3 weeks for a part that wasnt even the issue. Please ewald dont let emotions play a a part in a customers experience, I never showed any anger throughout this process I only wanted my car fixed in a timely manner before i move. And with enough to time to ensure its good to drive 400 plus miles without any issues. The service department cared more about the revenue of the maintenance than getting me the best service for the car.

Dealer response

We apologize for the delay in response, we would like to hear more about your visit and experience, please email us at social@ewaldauto.com or you can reach the General Manager - Brandon Busse at 414-427-2000

4.3

Repair of 2009 Van

Problem with passenger sliding door. Broken latch was more expensive than value of vehicle. Ended up trading in for different used car. Good compromise. Happy with 2017 van.

Dealer response

HI Laura, Thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you had a good time working with our team during your visit. We truly appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you again next time

1.0

Trash

Absolute trash Won't stand behind their product when you spend 27k there Avoid them at all costs It's impossible to talk to a human, they'll transfer you around until you give up

Dealer response

TJ, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about our experience during your visit. We apologize for any confusion or miscommunication. We take your feedback seriously, appreciate your business, and we hope we can earn it back again in the future.

5.0

Love my Jeep!

This was not my first car buying experience but it was by far the best! Pete Ruiz was amazing and without him I wouldn’t be driving a brand new Jeep! Great customer service from him. I was in and out in no time! Thanks again Pete!

Dealer response

Katie, thank you for another great review! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back again soon!

1.0

Sucked.....

Low balled on trade didn’t care to match another dealer GM stepped but felt like they didn’t care to get deal done waste of time

Dealer response

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your experience with us did not go as you hoped. We truly appreciate your business, and we hope that we can earn your business back again in the future.

Read all 213 reviews