King's Kars

1.3 out of 5 1.3

Reviews

1.3 out of 5 1.3
14 lifetime reviews. A dealership's rating is calculated by averaging scores from reviews received in the past 24 months.
  • 1.0 out of 5
    May 17, 2019

    Brought my car in for an oil change...a short time later my car broke down on I-380. Found out from another mechanic that they had not put the oil cap... on correctly and I had oil all over my engine, which caused a belt to slip and overheat my car. Contacted them and they said they would call back but did not. A week later, my compressor died due to the damage done by the oil. Went to the shop and they said they would not do anything about it. The damage, that I know of so far, is up to about $800...due to their mechanic not putting an oil cap back on during a $25 oil change. They took no responsibility.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Came in for service or repair
    Did not make a purchase
    2 people out of 2 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Sorry for your inconvenience. You had told me that you had the vehicle for over 3 weeks after the oil change before this all happened. If oil was sp...raying all over the engine and you drive 80 miles a day there is no way you wouldn't have smelt the oil burning on the engine. I am certain that something happened after the fact that your oil was changed here. If your serp. belt broke it would have potential done damage along with mess up your A/C compressor. The prices you are quoting me to change a belt, clean an engine bay, do a oil change and change a compressor seem extremely high. Again, I apologize for the car issues you are having especially during your wedding planning. If we would have had a chance to fix the vehicle we would have, but just giving money back is not an option. King's Kars wishes you the best wedding possible. Read less

  • 1.0 out of 5
    February 14, 2019

    Bad customer service very aggressive people at this establishment they sell crappy car paid $400 as a down payment and got the car released to me and less... than 24 hours it broke down had to jump start car was told battery was fine that was a lied they claim they change the radiator which was new but they couldn't see a bad belt then tried to charge me for the repair and then don't return the car back even though you have four days before payment is due and all your references check out. PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE they will have you on the edge they will not work with you to fix the issues when I was very open to fix the problem they will FU*K YOU OVER I will verify every comment personally please do not go to this place

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    4 people out of 4 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Sorry Daniel. We never charged you for the belt repair. The only thing we asked for was the rest of the $300.00 that was owed to us as part of the do...wn payment and proof of full coverage insurance. Both of which was in the contract that you signed. This was a buy here pay here contract that started out bad. It is for reasons like this that dealerships don't do the buy here pay here any more. Good Luck with your food delivery service.

  • March 24, 2015

    The most painless buying experience I've ever had. Top quality vehicles and service. I am extremely pleased with my s.u.v. I just purchased from kings.... Hands down the best service and quality in the cedar rapids area. The friendly cheap servicing after the sale is a plus. I highly recommend checking out kings Kars before going to "the big guys".

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you for the comment. I hope you enjoy your Tahoe. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help. Good luck with your new twins:...-)

  • 2.0 out of 5
    January 25, 2018

    I found that no one came out when we pulled in to the car lot and got out and looked at a pickup that was rusty and in bad shape. I drove from Mt Pleasant,... IA and wasted my time. Pictures did not show the overall condition of vehicle.

    2.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Gene, I apologize for not having someone come out to help. We are a small family owned business that runs shorter business hours. My father has rece...ntly had surgery and we are running a little slower. We can work by appointment, or if I ever know someone is coming in from out of town I would make sure to personally be there. For the rust on the truck, I am sure we are asking under $3000.00 for anything in that condition. Its no excuse for not having someone help you, I apologize. Have a great day and God Bless.

  • 5.0 out of 5
    July 28, 2017

    Found a Great car for my future trips to and from Nebraska. Nick was super friendly and my Mom was very impressed. Got the car I wanted. Thanks for being... so helpful.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you very much for your business, I hope you enjoy your Monte Carlo. Good luck in Nebraska and have a great season.

  • 5.0 out of 5
    March 20, 2017

    We were looking for an inexpensive used car and found a great car for the price at Kings Kars. Leon was very laid back, friendly and helpful. When we... noticed a couple of minor problems with the car, he offered to have them fixed at no cost and in the end we were very happy with the service and the vehicle!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you very much. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let us know. - King's Kars

  • 5.0 out of 5
    March 21, 2014

    The staff at King's Kars are friendly and sociable without seeming too pushy. I found them when I researched cars on this website and found a '96 Mercury... Mystique 5-Speed Manual that only had ~80,000 miles on it. They offered a great price for a car with such low mileage and even arranged a refresher course with one of the employees on driving a stick. The buying process was quick and easy. I have been driving my new car for a couple months now and have had no problems with it. I live two hours from Marion and it was well worth the trip. When the time comes that I need another car, they'll be the first people I call. King's Kars is a good dealership. They are salespeople, but they won't try to push you into a car unless you are satisfied and comfortable with it. I was very pleased in my dealings with them and would gladly recommend them to anyone in Central Iowa who is currently shopping for a car.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you very much. Let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

  • 1.0 out of 5
    March 3, 2014

    Bought a car from these folks - the engine blew in less than a year - they got the car back and have threatened to take me to court over the remainder... of the loan. Well not sure, but seems that since they are trying to sell the car again - I wouldn't owe them anything. The car had so many other issues that I didn't feel it was worth over $3,000 to have a new engine put in it. They are very nasty to work with - and heaven help you if you can't get there on the due date of your payment (due to weather or whatever) - You will get a call before noon the next day. Overall, the worst experience I have ever had buying a car. After all - how many cars leak water from the dash when it rains. Or has 4 different types of tires on it when you buy it. Worst part is they charged 29.99% interest.... ridiculous. I even paid more than my payments monthly - until it died and I had to have it towed 120 miles - yeah over $500 there in a tow bill - and another $200 to have a reputable mechanic tell me what what wrong. He looked at it and strongly advised not to put a penny in it. After all I spent over $5,000 on it with purchase price, tires and repairs, towing and diagnosis. And they still want $1100 from me. I wouldn't recommend them if they were the last car dealer in town - I could have taken a cab everywhere I went and saved money and frustration! Avoid them like the plague!

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    3 people out of 4 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Sorry for your experience on your Buy Here Pay Here car. We do not and have never charged 29.99% interest. There are a lot of items that go into fig...uring out an interest rate on a vehicle, most important credit score. I would also like to state that we were never notified of any issues this customer was having with her vehicle. Maybe because it might have been past due? I offer a full service shop with discounted labor rates of $45.00 an hour on all Kings Kars vehicles. We are a local family owned business that tries to give people a second chance to reestablish there car credit.

  • 5.0 out of 5
    January 4, 2014

    I was very impressed with Kings Kars, they treated us very nicely and went out of their way to help us, and it was well worth the drive to Marion to buy... a vehicle from them.

    4.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    1 people out of 1 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thank you Don very much. We appreciate the review and comments. If there is anything we can do for you in the future please let us know. Kings Kars

  • 5.0 out of 5
    November 12, 2013

    I just bought my second car from Kings. They are always easy to work with and gave me a great deal. I traded in my old car I bought from them close to... the same price I had paid for the first time. I will keep buying my cars from them.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    3.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    James, thank you for your review. As always it was a pleasure doing business with you.

View More Reviews