Baldwin Auto Sales

Rectangle 48
Sales

Baldwin Auto Sales Hours

Sales

Monday

9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday

9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday

9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday

9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday

9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday

9:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Sunday

Closed

About Our Dealership

Dealer on Cars.com since November 2012

Let Baldwin Auto Sales show you how easy it is to buy a quality used car in Escondido. We believe fair prices, superior service, and treating customers right leads to satisfied repeat buyers.

...



Our friendly and knowledgeable sales staff is here to help you find the car you deserve, priced to fit your budget. Shop our virtual showroom of used cars, trucks and suv's online then stop by for a test drive.

"Family owned and operated since 1983"

Reviews

3.6 out of 5 3.6
63 lifetime reviews. A dealership's rating is calculated by averaging scores from reviews received in the past 24 months.
  • 1.0 out of 5
    November 26, 2018

    Unfortunately I bought car at this place. They lied about car condition. Someone was working on the car and everything was covered to hold for a time.... I discovered after 20 days small leak under the hood but wasn't just a leak. There is big time issue and some broken bolts on the engine. Of course when I asked guy at Baldwin, He said that the car is in great and excellent condition. No issues at all. Lying is the best what they know. I wish the karma will do same to them. Worst experience in my life.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    1.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    1.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    1.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We do not lie about car conditions or have the ability to cover something to hold for a time as you say. I...f you have an issue with a vehicle that you purchased please bring it to our attention so we can provide assistance. You never made us aware of any issue nor did you state which vehicle you purchased. We do not walk away from our customers and this is why we have been in business for over 30 years! Calling us a liar is not the way to solve an issue. I wish you the best Karma as well.

  • 2.0 out of 5
    October 19, 2018

    I didn’t go to a used car lot to find upstanding individuals of character. I read reviews and their website and I was struck by the apparent racism,... several reviews. The website says it is an “English speaking” business. ?? Assuming this is to deter non-English speaking business, if you could in fact read their website to begin with. Stupid. Usually a business will say the inverse, Hablamos Espanol, an inclusive statement. This is the US, all businesses are English speaking. So, I’m assuming they take issue with Mexicans. I’m half Mexican with Mexican last name. I arrived. I was told to work out my financing before test drive. Don knew nothing about the car, what he thought he knew was wrong. I had owned the car before. Right after test drive he just assumed it was a done deal. I don’t need high pressure sales but there was no courtesy or consideration. I wanted the car. So we take care of everything. Told me earlier I would be financed at estimated 8%, learned it 13%, ok I have poor credit. I give him $2000 down. The insurance company needs odometer reading. I ask for the key and he won’t give it to me, instead he goes to open up car and stays with me with the key. I just gave him more than the trade in value of the car and I still have to be supervised on a lot that’s blocked at each driveway. Apparently English speaking criminals frequent the lot. We walk back into offices and I can clearly see his father, I’m assuming, passed out sitting up in his office chairs. Weird to do at work with glass panes and customers. Had I found the car I wanted in the condition I needed elsewhere, I would’ve ripped him and left. Worst car buying experience I’ve ever had. Treated like a second class citizen.

    1.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    4.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    2.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
    Dealer Response

    Thanks for the excellent review. Your first statement was very revealing about what you thought about people who work at a car lot and how judgementa...l you are right from the start. We have been in business for over 30 years as a family and work very hard to contribute to society positively and take issue with your negative assumptions. Not all businesses speak english, our guests thank us for this information regularly, and we do not take issue with anyone. Your statement about Mexicans is very racist and your own. The fact that you are stating that you would have "ripped him and left" really reveals the kind of person you are. You also stated that "English speaking criminals frequent the lot". This is another racist statement and your own. If you think of yourself as a second class citizen I feel sorry for you. I wish you all the best in your future

  • February 13, 2016

    Don Baldwin led me through the process of buying my 2005 Trailblazer. He was helpful and straightforward without the usual coercion that you encounter... so often when buying a car. The car was in excellent condition, and I really enjoy driving it. I had one service issue early on, and Baldwin Auto Sales resolved it quickly and cheerfully. Don and John are great to do business with.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    5.0 out of 5
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 3, 2018

    I found a car I was looking for online that was here....The problem was I was over 400 miles away. I spoke to Don about the vehicle & it was still... available. A less than a week later I flew in went straight to Baldwin's. Even though Don was busy with another customer he made sure I was comfortable by giving me water & waiting inside where it was air conditioned. He finally had a chance to get the car I was interested in. The car looked great & Don let me take it for a test drive and the rest is history.... I drove back in a new used car.... My only gripe is, I had to walk to the bank in 90+ degree weather.... Lucky it was a couple blocks away.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    April 16, 2018

    I just bought a car for my dad at Baldwin Auto Sales and the process was so quick and easy. There was absolutely no hassle, no long waiting and no up selling.... The owners are so professional and pleasant to work with. They were very patient and calm with my dad who can be very demanding. Thank you so much for your professionalism and making the process quick and easy.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    March 3, 2018

    The car I wanted to look at was better than advertised. Don was upset easy to deal with and the transaction was the smoother and faster than with any other... car I ever bought. If need a vehicle, go see what they have. You will not be disappointed!

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    5.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    November 4, 2017

    Asked them to look at car...they indicated AC was inop. Took few weeks to get it fixed and I bought elsewhere.

    5.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    4.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 4.0 out of 5
    July 8, 2017

    Bought a 2011 Dodge Journey from Don Baldwin in Escondido. The guy was super nice and patient. I never felt pressured to buy and simply showed up in jeans... and a tee shirt, he thought nothing of it and offered a test drive of the car. I told him I had my own financing and needed some help with getting everything together. He talked to my bank and helped me get all my paperwork in line. Was super patient and helpful. I was reading these other reviews AFTER THE FACT, and am really surprised. Maybe I didn't deal with the dad or brother, but these guys seem like a legit family trying to do the best they can. Went home with the car that day. He was super honest about the car, pointing out chips and scratches and rust, but never seemed to try and describe the car for more than it was. My 90 day warranty is still valid, and I am sure if something goes wrong they would gladly honor it... I hope. Lol. If I'm buying again, I will definitely look here first.

    4.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    4.0 out of 5
    Overall Facilities
    5.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 2.0 out of 5
    April 13, 2017

    Asked very simple, specific questions about a car they listed - response was a generic sales pitch.

    2.0 out of 5
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    2.0 out of 5
    Buying Process
    Does not recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
  • 5.0 out of 5
    August 5, 2015

    I showed up to the lot and it is separate from the office but they are a phone call away. The cars are nice and have good to mint appearance. Good selection... and pricing along with some real rare finds in great condition. The guys are up front and honest (I can handle that). The only real issue is that the cars are sitting out in the sun receiving sun damage (easily fixable). I wasn't approved for the loan but I am saving my money to buy one of their rare finds.

    Not Applicable
    Customer Service
    Not Applicable
    Quality of Repair
    Not Applicable
    Overall Facilities
    Not Applicable
    Buying Process
    Does recommend this dealer
    Shopped for a used car
    Did not make a purchase
    0 people out of 0 found this review helpful. Did you?
View More Reviews