Autoplex

3.8
(16 reviews)
Visit Autoplex
Sales hours: 9:00am to 7:00pm
View all hours
Sales
Monday 9:00am–7:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am–7:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am–7:00pm
Thursday 9:00am–7:00pm
Friday 9:00am–7:00pm
Saturday 9:00am–4:00pm
Sunday Closed
(414) 240-3277 (414) 240-3277

Inventory

See all 50 vehicles from this dealership.

About our dealership

This seller has been on Cars.com since February 2021.
We Are More Than Just A Dealership!
We offer car buyers competitively priced vehicles and service with a smile. We are proud to offer these values in our sales and business practices so our customers keep coming back. The vehicles on our lot have the best prices and quality in the area so come and see us today, or call today to schedule a test drive!

Service center

Phone number (414) 212-8218

Service hours

Monday
Closed
Tuesday
Closed
Wednesday
Closed
Thursday
Closed
Friday
Closed
Saturday
Closed
Sunday
Closed

Reviews

3.8
(16 reviews)

A dealership’s rating is calculated by averaging its lifetime reviews. Includes reviews from DealerRater

2.0

Worst car ever purchased.

Worst care I ever purchased. Several maintenance issues on vehicle since day one that was manipulated in the car fax i n which they created themselves. Edit everything in the report to make the vehicle worth purchasing and when you do purchase you realize that you actually purchased a car that keeps its check engine light on, keeps oxygen codes on at all times, stops after immediately being serviced by their mechanics half way down the block. Bring car in for service several times on the same issues over and over again and the maintenance issue gets worst, along with the original issue not being addressed and fixed properly. Very horrible maintenance team who are working on these barely functioning vehicles. You try and call to address the head service guy as he lies and states that you never brought your vehicle in for the original issue that was suppose to be addressed on the first visit but yet tries to convince you that you didn't bring your vehicle in for this particular issue but yet another one in which he made up in his head at the time of conversation. You will definitely be purchasing AT YOUR OWN RISK by the time you finish paying off the vehicle you will have spent more money in repairs from a more qualified mechanic then what the car was originally worth.

Dealer response

Hello Mary thank you for you reply, we are unable to manipulate carfax. We always offer extended Warranty's and encourage them, They are used cars but we do our best to offer discounts if any issues arise. Let us know if we can do anything else

4.3

Easy shopping. Full service repair.

Found a vehicle that I was interested in at cars.com. Went to dealership for a test drive. Vehicle was at another site, but driven over within 10 minutes. After noticing brake wear, they offered to fix the issue and when I came back later to pick it up, they had noticed a bad wheel bearing and changed that also. Office is small and a bit crowded for a busy shopping and service day.

Dealer response

Thank you , we are very busy and sale about 100 cars a month , we are going to expand the office in the next year for 2022

5.0

Dave and his team ROCK!!

Need a repair? I wouldn’t go anywhere else. I appreciate honesty in the car repair game and Dave delivers. Thanks for getting the work done quickly at a great price.

Dealer response

Thank you for your visit we do our best for all our customers

5.0

Possible purchase of used truck

Excellent operation,great customer service from John,he could not do enough to please me and enhance my buying experience.Excellent selection of very clean cars and trucks and service department is very organized and efficient.Service could not have been better,new car dealers could learn a bit from Autoplex, Thank You,Mike

Dealer response

Thank you, thanks for taking your time for a review , most happy customers move on and forget to leave us a review when they are happy !!!!

3.0

Used car

I purchased a Chrysler 300. The salesman was cool but tire light was on and he said it just needed air. It’s still on. Also, I had a few issues with the car. Took it back several times. Nothing but problems. I just stop going up there. The bad part about it, it had hail damaged and it was in an accident. Not on car fax. That’s bad. There’s 2 individuals there I do like but the car was garbage.

Dealer response

Sorry for your bad experience , but we can not guarantee tire monitor lights bc the salt eats up the tire sensor on each wheal, Car fax does not always how all the details but is a good guide, we always give the option for you to get the car pre inspected checked by our own mechanic of your choice

4.3

Positive experience

John, the sales rep I had the pleasure to work with, is knowledgeable and fair and did not high pressure for a sale. Will definitely try to do business with Autoplex in the future.

Dealer response

Thank you im john , Tom any time u need a truck or car let me know

5.0

Used truck

Sale person Jon,excellent on finding a loan for the truck. What ever it took Jon did it for you and that’s customer service so if you need help finding your next Vehicle or need Finance contact Jon Jon will do everything in his power to get that next vehicle you need and fast. Great job. Thanks again.

Dealer response

Thank you we have a great finance department, Thank you for the application. Let me know when you are ready for a new car.

1.0

Worst buying experiance

Had H2 since Oct and still cant get License plates for it made 3 payments they messed up my paperwork will not make it right

Dealer response

Very sorry about the clerical error. Since we have not received payment from you for the Taxes and Registration we have not been able to submit the application for your plates and title. Upon receiving the money due from you the application would be submitted. Again it was a clerical error and we tried to correct as soon as we were informed of our mistake, but without payment we can not process the forms. The state of Illinois will reject the form if submitted with out payment. We did offer to pay for your plates and title but still need you to pay for the taxes. Again this was a clerical error and was not intentional to cause you any troubles.

1.0

Absolutly horrible experience

Do not trust these people. They tried selling me a car that was burning oil and a car that I was told by salesman had 2 owners. After I ran car fax I found out the odometer had been reported rolled back and the vehicle had 60k more miles than advertised. After turning down the car i was almost what i would call harrased with almost a dozen phone calls trying to sell me different cars while I was trying to work.

Dealer response

We thank you for considering our company, a tex message was sent to our customer DEC 5 at 7:10 Pm about the discrepancy on the Car Fax. As soon as we ran the car fax the customer was notified and offered a different auto options. We do hope that this customer finds a car that he likes and do apologize for any and all misunderstandings. We are a small company and feed back is important to us since our family's depend on this business.

2.0

Worse car experience EVER

Purchased an 07 accord. First off the car had an issue with not recognizing the key which resulted in car sometiems not starting then with in less than 200 miles of owning it the motor blew out and needed a completly new engine. To their credit they gave me a car to use during the fixing process. Got the car back last week and today battery icon pops up and then radio dies and gas Gage goes crazy. I take it back in and they say you need to replace the alternator. So now a car that I've driven less than 500 miles has had been in the shop three times. I'm to the point were if anything happens to this car in the next couple weeks of owning it I'm gonna stand out in front of their shop with a huge cardboard sign saying scammers.

Dealer response

Good Day Caleb i am glad that we were able to help you fix your car with a little out of pocket from you part. We always provide a loner car when problems like these arise. Out of the 50 cars sold this month yours was the only warranty we had to do. We do apologize for any and all inconvenience you might have had. Warranties are greet and i'm glad your car had a warranty on it. Unfortunate that the alternator went out but in the winter its common this can happen at any time. WE do feed many families with our business so we do take this very seriously. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.

Read all 16 reviews