Route 17 Nissan

4.2
(37 reviews)
Visit Route 17 Nissan
Sales hours: 9:00am to 8:00pm
Service hours: 7:30am to 6:00pm
View all hours
Sales Service
Monday 9:00am–8:00pm 7:30am–6:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am–8:00pm 7:30am–6:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am–8:00pm 7:30am–6:00pm
Thursday 9:00am–8:00pm 7:30am–6:00pm
Friday 9:00am–8:00pm 7:30am–6:00pm
Saturday 8:00am–8:00pm 8:00am–5:00pm
Sunday Closed Closed
New (201) 625-1289 (201) 625-1289
Used (201) 266-5041 (201) 266-5041
Service (201) 266-5014 (201) 266-5014

Inventory

See all 214 vehicles from this dealership.

About our dealership

This seller has been on Cars.com since October 2018.
We have a strong and committed sales staff with many years of experience satisfying our customers' needs. Feel free to browse our inventory online, request more information about vehicles, set up a test drive or inquire about financing!
We make buying fun and easy!

Service center

Phone number (201) 266-5014

Service hours

Monday
7:30am–6:00pm
Tuesday
7:30am–6:00pm
Wednesday
7:30am–6:00pm
Thursday
7:30am–6:00pm
Friday
7:30am–6:00pm
Saturday
8:00am–5:00pm
Sunday
Closed

Reviews

4.2
(37 reviews)

A dealership’s rating is calculated by averaging its lifetime reviews. Includes reviews from DealerRater

5.0

leasing a car

Rich and Andrew made my experience with leasing a car less stressful and enjoyable. These two guys made leasing a car happen. would highly recommend.

Dealer response

Kathy, happy to hear that Rich and Andrew made your leasing experience an enjoyable one. We appreciate the recommendation to your friends and family.

5.0

Sally Phan for the win!

Sally Phan handled my entire purchase and from start to finish, it was quick, easy, honest, and no hidden surprises. I can honestly tell you that in my 60 years this was the easiest auto purchase ever.

Dealer response

Thank you for sharing your excellent shopping experience with Sally. It was a pleasure serving you as a customer.

1.0

LIARS

I called and asked if the price was as advertised. they said "yes". when I showed up and took a test drive they added a $2995 used car fee. LIARS

Dealer response

Dear Isaac, we do not have a "used car fee"; our only additional charges are for tax, tags, DMV, and Documentation. However, some banks may require a fee which we can discuss. Please contact Tony Tallarico, ttallarico@route17nissan.com

5.0

They were willing to work with me

Engell Capellan was my salesman. He has a great personality and made me feel at ease with the process. We wore a path on the floor going back and forth from me to the powers that be. Engell kept working it until I was comfortable with the deal while other salesmen might have said “Take it or leave it”. When I went back to the dealership to pick up my registration I asked Engell about a license plate mount for my front plate. The service department was closed but he found the bracket and installed it for me. I will absolutely go back to RT 27 Nissan the next time I’m in the market for a car.

Dealer response

Thank you for your positive feedback. Engell appreciates hearing great things from his customers. Enjoy your new vehicle.

5.0

Very friendly and efficient car purchase!

The salesman Engell helped me buy a 2020 Nissan Altima. Overall was my best experience ever buying a car. Everyone there was super friendly and helpful. The process was very efficient and honest.

Dealer response

Noah, thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent review. Happy to hear that Engell was able to make your buying experience a pleasant one.

1.0

Horrible Dealership customer service!

Horrible Dealership! I have never experienced a dealer that was not so eager to sell a car. For 3 days straight I was calling to make a purchase on a car I am interested in. I am in Chicago, so I had a loan already approved and a downpayment ready to send them with a card. They kept saying they will call back and never did. Finally started getting some action and they told me they would start the paperwork the next day (4thday). Now today is the 4th day and they sold the car to someone else.

Dealer response

Phillip, I apologize for your unpleasant experience. Please contact me Jamie Rusignuolo at 973-256-1200 x 1022 if you would like to discuss this matter further. Thank you.

1.0

Route 17 Nissan are lying crooks

I called a sales person named Nico to inquire about a specific vehicle that was advertised. We agreed upon a price which I made clear was going to be a CASH PURCHASE. I explained that it would take an hour for me to drive there and that I would arrive within that hour. I specifically said "please DON NOT waste my time by adding more cost when I get to the dealership. When I arrived there I found out Nico did not even work at that dealership and that the car was potentially being sold to another client . I explained to the manager that if I had been told there was another client I would not have mad the trip to the dealership. In addition I was told that the price we had previously agreed upon was the finance price , even though I previously made it clear I was paying cash. This was their attempt to make more money on the financing . Finally the rude sales manager had the nerve to tell me "Take deep breaths before driving back home". DON'T GO THERE ,. THEY ARE LIARS

Dealer response

Robert, we apologize for your experience, please contact me Jamie Rusignuolo at 973-256-1200 x 1022 to discuss further. Thank you.

1.0

Very rude and discourteous staff

A really bad experience. We were asked to meet Tony but were greeted by an elder gentleman who worked for Tony. It all started when we told him the car we wanted to look at. He got us the wrong car and tried to pass us a car with double the number of miles. We had to point it out to him that he's showing us the wrong car. That was just the start. Thereafter (since we were buying a used car) he kept telling us that we were dumb not to realize that we are getting a lower price on a used car, and we are getting a discount compared to the price of a new car. We tried to reason with him that buying a used car will definitely have a lower cost than a new car and this does not classify as a discount. While he kept arguing that we are acting dumb and not happy with the 'discounted price'. He then got racist and asked us which country are we from and since when have we been living in this country. At that moment we decided that we wouldn't want to buy a car from a place which didn't respect people, irrespective of the price of the car. I believe it's he who need to go back to his sales books to learn that a lower price on a used car does Not classify as a discount and he should be going back to his books on humanity to learn how to talk respectfully to people.

Dealer response

Dinika, I apologize for the experience you had at our dealership. Please contact me Jamie Rusignuolo at 973-256-1200 x 1022. Thank you.

5.0

Manny was Great

This is my second Nissan and this time the purchase process was fantastic at Route 17 Nissan. Friendly professional staff that gave us a great deal. Manny treated us like family. Will recommend to friends and family.

Dealer response

It's great to hear that our team was so helpful, and Manny made you feel like family! Thanks for your terrific recommendation and we'll hope to see you again.

5.0

Great experience!

Dealership was wonderful, Ralph provided me with all the info I needed. Jay the manager was very generous in helping us find a car to fit our budget. The process was smooth and easy. Thanks.

Dealer response

Hello Ron, thanks for letting us know that Ralph and Jay were so helpful and they made your car buying process smooth and easy!

Read all 37 reviews