1999 323

Consumer Reviews

1999 BMW 323

$758 - $15,966  MSRP Range
1999 BMW 323

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

22 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 BMW 323?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Car For Those Who Love To Drive

by BimmerMan from New York on Wed Apr 04 2007

This car is unbelievable when it comes to the driving experience. Everything from acceleration to ride to handling to stopping is excellent when it comes to this car. The interior is very high quality and very quiet, you won't find a single squeak or rattle in a BMW. The seats are very comfortable and the leather holds up forever if it's been conditioned regularly. I've found it to be surprisingly easy to work on and parts are not much more expensive than any other car. Not that it's a big concern these cars are very reliable. The radiator is one weak spot that usually needs to be replaced, mine was at around 90k miles. But other than that these cars run reliable for hundreds of thousands of miles if you change the oil regularly. I can not emphasize enough how excellent this car is to drive. I've driven Audis, VWs, Volvos, Lincolns, Infinities, and Caddies, and hundreds of other car types (I work at Hertz) and none have impressed me as much as the BMW. Basically, if you love to drive you'll love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car grows on you . Never a boring drive

by Rene from Seattle Washington on Sat Oct 13 2018

Iona 1999 323i E46 sedan I'm the second owner I purchased it in 2001 for those of you out there who think you can't afford a BMW because of maintenance costs? Live on this car for 17 years I have a hundred and ninety-nine thousand miles on it as far as maintenance brakes oil changes spark plugs one time original clutch the 4 failure items in 17 years twice I had to replace the lower control arm bushings $275 each time and once the radiator Reservoir, oxygen sensors and the air intake boot after the mass air flow sensor is notorious, inspect closely for cracking splitting will trigger check engine light and cause misfires 20 minute fix and $20 rubber boot.. it runs on regular gas gets 34 miles to the gallon on the freeway. This car is as solid is granite I recommend the manual transmission and the sport package is a must, a blast to drive.. the 99 model is unique in that it runs on regular and has a timing chain as opposed to a timing belt, timing chains last the lifetime of the engine ... all subsequent E46's burn premium fuel and have timing belts....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Once you go BMW, You never go BACK!!

by Alpina Bmw 323 from Michigan on Thu Oct 28 2010

I have owned, 07, 08, 09 Jeeps, Chryslers, Honda's... But nothing comes close to a BMW. Its an amazing & fun car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW 323i

by BMW Enthusiast from Tulsa, OK on Mon Jun 12 2006

BMW vehicles are quality. The BMW 323i is perfect for those buyers looking to get into a BMW at an affordable price. This vehicle is enjoyable to drive and reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love BMW Convertibles

by Dream from Phoenix, Arizona on Mon Mar 09 2009

I got my first car in 1997 - a 1995 BMW convertible (age 16!). I loved it so much, my dad bought me a brand new 1999 BMW ICi convertible for graduation. That was 10 years ago and my baby is still running like a dream with 119,000 miles and counting. I'm going to keep this car after my next purchase (of course, another BMW)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

99 323i

by Bmw rocks! from Bridgewater,NJ on Mon Apr 06 2009

I love this vehicle and sometimes I wish I could have this forever!I have had it for 10 years since October 0f 1998.It is so reliable that I've never had a single problam!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

This car was absolutely junk from day 2

by Jrizzle from Louisville KY on Sun Mar 01 2020

This BMW has been the worst car I've ever owned. Literally one thing after another broke. Extremely unreliable. Will never own a BMW or Mercedes for that matter ever in my life because of this experience

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A little dirty on the inside

by nicccc from on Fri May 05 2017

Seemed like a decent car but could've been better taken care of on the inside. The top also seemed to need a little boost when being opened

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I have owned.

by Laurelann from Gilbert on Sun Nov 17 2019

The get-up and go is great. Manual 5 speed is the best experience in driving. Due to the year, I started wishing there were some frills, but I still in the end am hesitant to sell the cool little car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1999 323 ragtop best ever

by Craig from Manitoba canada on Sat Jan 13 2018

Probably the most fun ever driving a sports car...got 30 mpg on a road trip of 5 hours doing 100 mpg..weakness is the rad cause it’s plastic... you can change it to a high performance rad and the problem goes away... one of the best cars ever. So much fun to drive

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com