2016 M235

Consumer Reviews

2016 BMW M235

$29,066 - $41,014  MSRP Range
2016 BMW M235

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2016 BMW M235?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Out of 135i into M235

by Small Bimmer Fan from Attleboro,MA on March 21, 2016

I had a 2010 135i (Auto/Conv) and at 123,000 miles became interested in the new 2 series. I agonized for over a year weighing the pro's/con's of 135 vs M235 (especially since my 135 was running great!) , of 228 (4 cyl) vs M235 (inline 6) etc and finally opted for a 2016 M235 primarily to keep that smooth, inline 6. I got the Auto/Conv RWD with the Cold Weather, Tech and Driver Assist Options and the Run Flat tire option. As a former 135 owner, the transition was pretty seamless as they are of similar size. What I did appreciate and enjoy immediately is the increased power, the 8 speed transmission, keyless entry, much more useful display and nav features, the M-seats are spectacularly comfortable, an armrest that extends forward and is comfortable , active suspension and FINALLY - two useful cup holders in a BMW :-) So - before the true BMW purists get mad for loving the creature comfort vs mechanical features.. I still appreciate that smooth inline 6 and precise 8 speed automatic- but all the ergonomic features mentioned just make this 1 series replacement far more enjoyable as my daily driver , especially with daily highway commutes between 100-200miles every day (!). I initially wanted the Xi AWD since they finally offered it in a convertible... but the combination of extra cost, potential for extra maintenance and further reduced F/R balance combined with the fact that we already have another AWD vehicle in the household, led me to the RWD option. I may regret that at some point but not at the moment. I also wrestled with the smoother riding Michelin Pilots (and wider tires) vs the Run Flats especially as the RFT were a $0 option... Had RFT on my 135 and they proved their value several times...getting me home safely on my long commutes. If the car had a spare tire/donut, I would rather have had the Michelins, but the RFT were chosen for practicality vs ride given my commute. As far as what I miss from the 135: I did really like the heavier feel of the steering in the 135 vs the electronic steering in the M235, and even in Sport Mode, it does not have quite the same feel/feedback that the 135 did. I'm withholding judgement on all the selectable driving modes and gadgetry in the M235. Frankly, would have been fine with just the higher performance N55 engine and 8 speed auto and keep the simpler regular/sport mode (in the 135) vs more complex electronic selections in the M235. I have not played too much with all the selectable driving modes (Sport +, Sport, and Eco...in addition to the default Comfort Mode)...so can't provide much feedback on them. I am not a fan of the "Auto Shutoff" at stops, but was happy to learn that can be selected to be off all the time (except in Eco)...and I don't expect to use Eco. (If I wanted a real Eco car, I wouldn't have selected a 320Hp / IL6 ! ) Lastly - what I really miss is the oil temp gauge! Really BMW??? Yes, we all know by now that the M235 is not a true M, that's what the M2 will fix, but come on BMW. This is more of a performance car than an Eco car... I would much rather see critical engine/fluid stats and NOT my real time fuel economy... they should have kept the 135 (or M4) Tach/Oil Temp gauge combo... and left real time fuel economy as a menu item for the display. Summary - So far - enjoying the improved performance along with improved ergonomic features and a much more comfortable car. Performance and Comfort...really nice combination! (Also snagged the 2016 as apparently in 2017 BMW's will dropped maintenance/warranty from 4 years/50,000 miles to 3 years/36,000 miles!)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW IS BACK

by Spyder229 from Gladstone Oregon on August 30, 2016

This is to be my 5th BMW. I think I've been chasing the original feeling a BMW gave me for the last 15 years.... and let me tell you this car brought it all back and surpassed it. FAST, SILKY-SMOOTH,COMFORTABLE, FIRM , AND HANDLES LIKE A DREAM. I just cant say enough about it! everything is just perfect. they need a little four door version and everyone can have there three series back....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love This Car!!!

by John B. from Grand Rapids MI on April 7, 2018

The perfect car for a specific buyer. Front seats, cabin, and driver cockpit are outstanding in this vehicle. If you can't find a comfortable position there's no hope you! Back seats will accommodate "average" sized adults for short trips or kids but not much beyond that. However most people will not purchase this vehicle for hauling 4 people around more than occasionally. Visibility is outstanding and the ample sized trunk with fold down rear seats create a pretty functional cargo capacity for a "small" car. Power, handling, fuel economy are outstanding. Some might argue that the fuel economy at 25mpg average and 30/33mpg highway aren't excellent but I challenge you to find another vehicle with this kind of power and performance that does as well. This car is a blast to drive and you look good doing it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is two cars in one. Comfortable and fast.

by OakRidgeJim from Rock Hill on February 13, 2018

The M235i is fun to drive yet not too hard-riding for long trips and casual chores around town. In sport mode it is very fast and the big tires stick tight on corners. I like the way the eight-speed automatic downshifts as the car slows down. The back seat is not comfortable for tall people or old folks, but it is useful for storage and to carry two more people on short trips.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun daily driver I've ever owned!

by GermanDriver from Columbus, OH on July 7, 2017

For a daily driver, this car combines comfort and sporty handling the way only BMW can. Going on a long drive? Leave it in Comfort mode. Ready to take on some backroad twisties? Put it into Sport. For the technology that helps you drive more effortlessly, the styling of the car, and the performance you get out of this engine, this car is an excellent value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by danavarro from Scottsdale on November 15, 2017

I recently purchased a used 2016 M235i and couldn't be happier. The car hugs the road, has more power than you would expect, the engine sounds amazing, and the interior is surprisingly modern. I was looking at other luxury cars but was always disappointed that they simply weren't fun to drive, not the M235i. It's fun, fast, and looks amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best handling car I have owned

by MikeJ from Atlanta AG on June 21, 2018

Very comfortable and extremely sporty convertible daily driver, with an awesome sport exhaust for the enthusiast. Handles like a dream and accelerates much quicker than expected or the published specs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car, it handles unbelievably

by Car enthusiast on December 15, 2017

I am currently still in love with my m235 because it is absolutely amazing in all weather. It has the power when you need it and is a blast to drive. I would highly recommend this car to people.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun 4 seat Convertible

by PeterBMW1 on August 12, 2017

This car is a blast to drive, top down cruising in the sun, with space for four adults for a short drive. The advantage to the soft top is that you have room in the trunk even when the top is down. Additionally, the trunk space makes this car an easy daily driver and it can certainly be your only vehicle. It is a sports car so the ride is stiff, but that makes it all the more fun to throw into a corner.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun, fast car!

by stickneym165 from New York, NY on May 21, 2018

Luxury at its finest though, this is a true sports vehicle. Corners like it's on rails. Life in the fast lane coupled with a smooth ride- cant go wrong! :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2