2005 LaCrosse

Consumer Reviews

2005 Buick LaCrosse

$2,185 - $8,173  MSRP Range
2005 Buick LaCrosse

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

36 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Buick LaCrosse?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by BearSgt from Peru, NY on Fri Mar 27 2009

Love this car. Its quiet, smooth ride, and has plenty of pickup. Only downfall is the trunk lid needs a handle to assist in opening it. Otherwise, ive had NO problems with this car. I love the built in phone and On-Star. It has plenty of room. Would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Senority Car

by Juan from Ulster, New York on Thu Mar 25 2010

Good car in gas, confortable to drive in any weather. Also it is the perfect size for peolpe to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

comfort and style

by kat from Sprinfield, IL on Sat Oct 19 2013

I have owned several Buicks They tend to perform well with very high mileage, often going over 300000 with regular repairs of a car much "younger". Very comfortable ride and the Lacrosse has a European feel to it's body style. Great suspension too. Most are loaded with extras

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car

by Jake from Clinton twp, Michigan on Fri Nov 03 2017

My 3rd day of owning this car, so far so good. Im still getting accustomed to the touchy gas pedal and brakes. Comfortable ride, extremely quiet and its just what i wanted. It has just about every option for the base model. Great buy at 107k... i got it at a steal! Car looks great!! Zero rust, beautiful blue metallic paint and chrome wheels to add to the look! I would definitely recommend this to anyone that wants a safe comfortable and reliable car for a good price! The 3800 is a beast too!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

3.8 is a very reliable eng.

by Buick guy from Ft Laud, Fl on Sun Dec 30 2012

This is my second Buick, my first being a 92 Lesabre which I had for nine years. I don't think I'll have a problem with this one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 05' LaCrosse

by Scott from Rock Island, Illinois on Tue Feb 17 2009

I've had the car for nearly two years. I traded a 92' Park Avenue with nearly 250,000 miles. I figured how can I go wrong with another Buick? It is a fine touring car and gets 29-30 mpg on the hwy using cruise. Around town, it gets around 20, assuming you are light on the pedal. Overall, it is a great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Could be better

by Bill from Lexington, SC on Wed Apr 08 2009

I've owned my 2005 Lacrosse CXL since brand new for the last 4 years. I rarely drive it and baby it to death. However, it is far from a perfect vehicle. Mechanically, it has been sound and dependable. I have had some integrity issues beginning with a mysterious heavy water leak on the interior passenger side of the vehicle whenever it rains. During heavy or consistent rain, both floor boards on the passenger side become flooded with water. I have yet to figure out why. Also, I was getting out of the car on a windy day when the wind blew the driver side door open really hard. This has made the door a bit off of alignment, but this has not posed any visible problems other than a noticable "clack" sound when you enter and exit the vehicle. When driving, there is also a lot of creaking and rattling sounds coming from the dash. This is where they used cheap plastic and synthetic wood grain on the dash board that just isn't constructed very well. One last strange sound I am dealing with is whenever I take a sharp curve there is a sound similar to a pin ball being dropped directly behind the speedometer. I should have taken more time to listen and evaluate the car during the test drive, but you don't think about bizarre issues like these until they actually happen. A final note is that this car is built on the same chasis as the Pontiac Grand Prix and shares the same engine and trans. So, it is a bit cramped on the inside like most sports cars can be. Unless you can get a good price on a Lacrosse, I would say your money could be spent more wisely on a much more quality vehicle, such as a Camry, Infiniti, Saab, Honda etc.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Buick Lacrosse Best Car for "Land Cruising"

by 2005BuickLacrosse from Long Island, NY on Fri Dec 28 2018

My 2005 Buick Lacrosse is the best car for "Land Cruising" possible. When in school for 6 yrs obtaining my professional Doctor of Physical Therapy Degree. I often traveled back and forth from Long Island to Maine. This car served me very well. It was matriculasly maintained with oil changes every 3K miles and it never burnt oil in its 86K life span.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Has too many issues

by Dree from Joliet, Illinois on Wed Dec 19 2018

This car has the most issues out of all the cars I've ever owned. I have had to replace the PCM now the transmission is mysteriously acting weird out of the blue. I just purchased this car in March 2018 it had no issues. The check engine light came on . I took care of the problem and had it reset but it came back on with no codes. This car is so irritating.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

just dont

by carlover86 from huntington on Thu Aug 03 2017

in the car was the water would come threw the antenna on the roof and come in threw the dome light. hard rain storms did the same. the seal was fine btw so figure that one out. the ac did what it wanted, the radiator was junk the alternator was junk, the transmission was horrible when backing up it would about snap your neck while shifting into gear, then once turned into drive it would again shift HARD. the high beams were pathetic (lenses not faded) in the winter forget it just park it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2005 Buick LaCrosse

The Century is history, and the Regal has been retired … So, if you want a new Buick midsize sedan, LaCrosse is your game. Buick’s all-new 2005 LaCrosse is nothing like the rough-and-tumble game played by racket-wielding, helmet-wearing players on an open field. From bumper to bumper, Buick’s LaCrosse is softer, kinder and gentler.

And after a week of driving the CXS, which is the top-of-the-heap LaCrosse of three trim levels offered, I’d say it’s better than the old Buick Century and Regal it replaced.

Let’s start with styling. The Centuryoften was criticized as too vanilla-looking, and the Regal’s edgy looks came off as too over-the-top for some. By comparison... Read More