2004 Stratus

Consumer Reviews

2004 Dodge Stratus

$256 - $5,860  MSRP Range
2004 Dodge Stratus

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

32 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Dodge Stratus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 32 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Transmission should've been recalled!

by catm from Philadelphia, PA on Mon Feb 06 2012

This car only gives me problems in the winter. It's like it was bred to only live in warm weather. Search the internet, you will find many reported problems with the 2004 transmission...even after warming it up for 20 minutes in the morning (and this is an oddly warm winter), it stalls out, won't shift for a good mile, and if you have to reverse out of your spot, forget it! I have heard many people say this transmission should have been recalled....even mechanics, though magically it doesn't seem to act up when you have someone look at it. Only buy this car if you plan on keeping it in heated garage. Magically, as soon as the weather gets warmer, it will run fine until winter hits again!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A day of hard knocks

by JJ from Northern NJ on Tue Dec 18 2012

Overall it is a good car. When I was driving home from Detroit from Ohio & western PA area the car fully loaded with gear two passengers. I had the needle pinned past 118 mph coming through those lonesome stretches of RT 78, Invest in SATELLITE RADIO WORTH THE INVESTMENT, especially on Late night Saturday early Sunday morning so Boring 4 religious stations That was it nothing else on. The next day I filled up when we left getting about 17 mpg fully loaded about 1400 lbs in it. Just from stop its not a Mustang,I'M 6'4 MY LEFT FOOT I can stretch all the way straight out past the Brake pedal. Only synthetic oil changes, Royal purple. Just for insurance purpose Auto insurance high.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Car was horrible.

by HelpASistahout from Peoria, IL on Wed Jul 03 2019

This car broke down so many times. Anyone who brought it should get their money back. I would never recommend a stratus to anyone. Give me my money back.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Please don't buy this car

by Kesha M from on Sun Jun 18 2017

We purchased our car back in 2015 for $1800. At the time, it was what we needed. It got us from Indiana to Massachusetts a couple of times. However, not many of these cars were made so parts are very hard to come by. It'll cost us more to fix the exhaust and the rim than it would to purchase a new car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car!

by Otinho92 from Jackson, MI on Wed May 24 2017

One of the best cars I've ever owned! I meets all my needs and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Stratus RT

by RT lover from on Thu May 11 2017

I fell in love with her before I ever touched her. As soon as I drove her, I new she was mine. We we meant to be. She has lasted a long time for me with minor issues and normal replacements on things with her age. I will truly miss this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car!

by BroganC from Indianapolis, IN on Thu Jul 13 2017

A type of car I can always count on! Got this as a first car and have currently been able to rely on it for over 7 years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a good car just want start anymore

by Sharice from Spencer Ok on Fri Dec 28 2018

This is a Stratus 2004 and then out of nowhere I was only driving it for a couple of months and then it stopped working on me I was told it was the PCM I really have no idea what's the problem and I really need to have because I'm trying to sell it because I need a new car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

until 4 years this car drove perfect for me.

by scary cat from auburn hills mi, on Tue Mar 21 2017

after a few repairs I am praying to get this car back on the road again.It has been a good driving car, I don't have100 words to comment about so if I don't make the $300 . I tried,

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Not a great car, but a trooper

by ashmoney from Springfield on Wed Sep 06 2017

It was not the nicest to look at and was pretty low tech compared to other cars of its year. It was still a pretty reliable car that was able to take a beating and still get me to my destination

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2004 Dodge Stratus

The technical term is mid-cycle freshening.

That means with the next-generation Stratus not due to arrive until the 2006 model year, it’s time for Dodge to use cosmetics to touch up age marks on the old model.

And that means new front fascia and grille treatment as well as some equipment upgrades to make Stratus a bit more appealing as it awaits eventual replacement.

We tested the ’04 Dodge Stratus SXT sedan, which, along with its cousin Chrysler Sebring (Transportation, June 29), will undergo a remake for ’06 when it switches to a new platform developed by Mitsubishi.

To cut costs, Chrysler called upon Mitsubishi, in which it owns a controlling interest, to develop the... Read More