NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Canyon

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Canyon

$19,276 - $34,428  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Canyon

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

78 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Canyon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 78 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Ride is great

by Tim from Fairplay, CO on Fri Sep 08 2017

I have only had it for a month. So far it's great. I would have thought it being the Denali that it might have more bells and whistles but is still very nice. GM could have leveled it out more from the factory ( level appearance). More power would have been nice too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Denali

by dvturcin on Fri Jul 06 2018

It's an amazing truck and looks very good compared to all the other mid-size trucks out on the market. The Denali is a bad xxx boss!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I have ever owned

by Travis N. from Laveen, AZ on Mon Jan 15 2018

This truck has the smoothest ride of any truck I have owned. It gets excellent gas mileage. The dash board makes it easy to see and read the gauges.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best pickup I have ever owned

by Travis N. from Laveen, AZ on Tue Feb 13 2018

Comfortable ride for a pickup, it feels just like I am driving a luxury car. I could not believe the gas mileage that I am getting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 canyon sle GREAT TRUCK

by Do one thing, do it well from Imperial on Tue Nov 28 2017

2017 canyon sle with the 6v engine is very powerful and reliable. This truck feels strong and I recommend to any body that wants a reliable and long lasting truck .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best mid-sized truck on the market

by Kevin from Carrolton, ga. on Tue Jun 05 2018

Truck has a full size feeling, has plenty of power and has a very quiet interior. The styling is what attracted me, and the feel reeled me in, I love the control layout and seating, very nice truck for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoying the ride

by Sam from St louis on Fri Feb 09 2018

I traded my Colorado in for the Canyon due to needing a bigger engine for towing purposes. This truck has been been an excellent choice. I like the interior (roomy with comfortable seats and the wider backup camera) and the exterior as well. No complaints thus far. Very smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Power of a truck feels like a sports car

by New truck owner on Wed Sep 20 2017

This truck is the most comfortable small truck, with all more comfort and style then the competition.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by tome8689 from Aburn.New York on Thu Nov 09 2017

So far I am extremely pleased with this car. Looks great and runs great. I'm glad I had the opportunity to use car.com!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MY WIFE"S TRUCK - NOT MINE!

by JACK from on Thu Jul 13 2017

LOVE IT, BUT IT"S TO FANCY, TO MANY GADGETS. LOVE IT ANY WAY. LIKE I SAID, IT"S MY WIFE"S TRUCK DEALERSHIP FOLKS WERE WONDERFUL. VERY PROFESSIONAL AND HELPFUL.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2017 GMC Canyon

The verdict:


A new powertrain makes the GMC Canyon more responsive and enjoyable to drive, but the expensive Denali trim doesn’t feel particularly special.

Versus the competition:


The Canyon won our 2016 Midsize Pickup Challenge despite facing more comfortable and more off-road-capable competitors, as it still provides the best mix of ride, power, utility and style.

The rebirth of the Chevrolet Colorado and GMC Canyon has been a boon to GM pickup truck sales, adding volume and customers to the truck side of the showroom as gasoline remains cheap and plentiful. Now entering its third model year, the Canyon gains two things: a Denali top trim level and a new eight-speed automatic transmission.

Before the Denali showed up, the fanciest Canyon you could get was the SLT model, which I drove in diesel form in the summer of 2016 to pull a 22-foot Airstream trailer. An SLE model won our 2016 Midsize Pickup Challenge, besting every other mid-size pickup in the category, including the new Honda Ridgeline. So how does the new top luxury model stack up to the field?

Exterior... Read More