NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

#6 Most Popular Truck
$23,453 - $45,481  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

163 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 163 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck is the Denali Ultimate.

by YaNo on Wed Jun 13 2018

This truck has the power the comfort and easy of use. Tows hauls and is quiet and rides very smooth. The 6.2 motor is awesome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Truck super strong

by chuck from Houston, TX on Wed Jul 04 2018

Great truck nice options but the price was high and drops in value really fast. In about a year it dropped almost $10K it was it perfect condition with 10K miles 2K less than average in the U.S. buy used or certified do not buy new I learned my lesson.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I Luv It

by Mickey B. from West Virginia on Tue Oct 31 2017

This is by far the most comfortable,best riding vehicle I’ve ever owned. The Bose system is out of this world. Do not buy a vehicle without it. 5Stars

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Top Notch Pickup

by Striper75 on Wed Jan 17 2018

GMC combines comfort with power and performance. Whether you are driving on an interstate or pulling a boat, this truck excels.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent pickup

by Ron from Willow Springs, Mo on Fri Oct 06 2017

pickup meets all of my needs, use it everyday and am really pleased with it. it is very sharp looking, drives well, handles easily with all of the features I need,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Trucks are different today

by Mark from Cape Cod on Thu Aug 10 2017

The truck (small V8) was rated at 22 highway. It gets every bit 22 on the highway driving at 65mph. Around town, in all stop and go, it has averaged > 18 and I am happy with that. It has a comfortable ride and I find the various options on the car are well thought out and user friendly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Light duty 1500 Sierra Denali

by Peeps from East Greenbush NY on Thu Mar 30 2017

New body style design and performance of the 1500 Sierra Denali pickup is at the top of its class. This vehicle can be used as a workhorse or going out on a Saturday night. First class, Good job GMC!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sierra Elevation

by The Weeks Team from Folsom La. on Sat Nov 11 2017

Awesome truck to drive. Handel's very well, Great towing package. 4 door truck with extra longer bed makes it much better than the crew cab with shorter bed for hauling my materials needs. Legacy GMC , made my purchasing experience just Awesome

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Denali

by Chris519 from on Thu May 04 2017

This is the 7th truck I have ever had and by far the best! I have had 2 SLT's before getting a Denali. I got the 6.2 engine. I love the comfort, ride, power, towing ability, and looks. I had a great experience buying it as well. Extremely happy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice riding and powerful pickup

by Rockyr from Lubbock, Texas on Thu Sep 21 2017

If it wasn't for the transmission making so much noise, it would be a GREAT running truck. But we still like the pickup for the ride, power, gas mileage, and the extra features that comes with these packages.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com