2019 Yukon XL

Consumer Reviews

2019 GMC Yukon XL

$37,671 - $87,266  MSRP Range
2019 GMC Yukon XL

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 GMC Yukon XL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Second of this Generation I’ve Owned

by TriadBuySellInvest from Greensboro, NC on Sat Jun 29 2019

When looking for a combination of work truck and family hauler, you get about five options. I had a 16 Yukon XL Denali and after a ton of miles, it was time to trade. I drove the Escalade, Navigator, X7, LX570 and Expedition. The GMC Yukon XL Denali came in for win again. The new transmission released for 18 works much better with the 6.2 engine. With two younger boys, remembering to put dvds on a memory card or USB was annoying, so I liked that I still had the option to throw a 5 buck dvd from a gas station in the player. For 120 cubic feet of cargo, the gas mileage is better than you’d think. The new grill makes the truck feel updated. 4G WiFi is amazing- easy to use with great service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Big and beautiful!

by Jill from Lincoln on Mon May 13 2019

Just purchased, but so far love it! It has the room, convenience and comfort needed to accommodate traveling with our pets. Has lots of great features that provided safety and luxury.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New for us, we love it so far!!

by MastersToledo from Toledo, wa 98591 on Sat Dec 28 2019

This vehicle is so comfortable and floats like caddie. We love the color and interior design. Very stylish. And cab is quiet of road noise, Bose speakers are awesome. Looking forward to many yrs owning it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I am concerned ever time I drive it.

by Spoin from Omaha, NE on Thu Jun 13 2019

This vehicle was my dream truck and likely my last vehicle purchase. We were taking a few other people out for a drive one day when the truck started coughing warning messages and tones. Over the next two days virtually every accessory failed. I had forgotten the days without power steering. By the time I got the truck to the dealer, I was told there were 38+ error codes. It took the dealer and GM six days to diagnose the problem. It is fixed for now, but I am not very confident that something else won’t happen every time I drive it. So much for my dream vehicle. Maybe just an $80,000 paperweight.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome vehicle. Great ride and fully equipped

by JD from Seneca, SC on Thu Jun 18 2020

The car has everything I need to keep 6 grandkids happy. Comfortable, fully equipped and awesome DVD system. I love the safety features that the car is equipped with.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Brand new to me, and loving it.

by bingo from Springfield, Va on Sat Jun 06 2020

I've looked for this SUV and color for a long time. Its so comfortable. I got four "nice ride" on the way home from the dealership with the truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car I own

by Billh from Phoenix Arizona on Thu Jan 17 2019

Love this choice of a vehicle. Exactly what I expected and I hope to enjoy this car for many years. Plenty of room and comfort for our long trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Too many blindspots; too many squeaks.

by James from Cleveland, Oh on Sat Nov 02 2019

Comfortable; Good traveling vehicle; decent head and legroom in the front; need at least two more inches of legroom in the second row; driverside entrance door is poorly designed which makes entering and exiting difficult for anyone who is either taller than 5'9" or is not a gymnast.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought it

by Laura from Verona VA on Thu Mar 05 2020

I was looking for a vehicle of this size and am greatly impressed so far. It is a smooth ride with more features than I was looking for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Perfect

by Ccsketchy on Sun May 12 2019

I love it. Everything I needed and more. I would recommend for large families like mine. So much room for everyone and for cargo. Can wait to road trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2019 GMC Yukon XL

The verdict:


The GMC Yukon XL offers a first-class drivetrain on expensive higher trim levels, but seating space and other drivability aspects fall short.

Versus the competition:


The next generation of GM's big three-row SUVs is likely just around the corner. Until then, the aging current crop — which includes the Yukon XL — trails competitors in several key areas.

I’ll devote this review to the Yukon XL, an SUV we drove in top-level Denali trim. To the benefit of third-row legroom and cargo space, the Yukon XL adds a substantial 20.5 inches of length versus the regular Yukon, which we cover separately on Cars.com. It’s closely related to the Chevrolet Suburban, which is itself an extended-length version of the Chevy Tahoe (Chevrolet and GMC are sibling brands under GM). Compare all four SUVs here, or go here to stack up the 2019 and 2018 Yukon XL.

Quick Moves

GM’s excellent 6.2-liter V-8 has powered higher trim levels of the Yukon and Yukon XL for a number of years. It’s potent, with instantaneous accelerator response. Press the... Read More