2009 Accord

Consumer Reviews

2009 Honda Accord

$4,207 - $12,803  MSRP Range
2009 Honda Accord

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

189 Reviews
87% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Honda Accord?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by orgelpenguin from Ann Arbor, MI on Sun Dec 30 2012

This car is proof of Honda holding true to their reputation of building excellent, reliable cars. Very roomy. A good choice for someone who is tall. I am 6'1" and actually had to move the drivers seat forward when I first got inside. Even with the front seats all the way back, there is good leg room for those sitting in the back seat. Very fuel efficient. I have gotten up to 34 MPG on the highway. With judicious driving, one can stretch a full tank (about 17 gallons) quite far. The 4-cylinder engine provides decent getup. Nothing about which to write home. If you're looking for a zippy little thing, the Civic might be for you. The center console has quite a few buttons, many of which are small, so its easy to hit two by accident. After a while, you figure out where things are there. I have owned my Accord for six months and have never had a problem. As with most things, it will last as long as it is cared for properly and treated with respect. I highly recommend this car to anyone. Bravo, Honda!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality, reliable, and comfortable

by Wisconsin Accord Owner from Milwaukee, WI on Tue Oct 12 2010

I have an 2009 Honda Accord EX-L with 4 cylinder engine. For a 4-cyl, it has pretty good pickup. Gets me 27 MPG in mixed driving. The extras are worth it. The integrated navigation is easy to use, and Bluetooth eliminates the distraction of fumbling with your phone while driving. XM radio is fully built in and very convenient. The back seat is very comfortable for 2 adults, and the trunk holds at least 3 suitcases. The ride is comfortable, but the road noise is higher than you might expect. Things to improve: make the passenger seat power (the driver's is), and it should have rear seat air vents. Since I have all the bells and whistles, it eliminates some of the storage. Nice center console, but the glove box is quite small and the only cup holders in the back seat are in the center arm rest (and thus unusable if you have 3 in the back seat).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Jackson from Ann Arbor, Michigan on Tue Mar 24 2009

Great performance with the 271 h.p. Love the shifting in the 5 speed automatic. Low emissions mean alot to us. Using it for pleasure with both hwy and city driving equally. Leather is real nice and plenty of room for friends in the back seat for a night out on the town.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car saved my life

by Thank You Honda from on Sat Feb 15 2014

I have little bad to say about this car. The rear brake pads wore relatively quickly, but otherwise I never had to take it in for service and it had 70k miles on it. Unfortunately, a driver t-boned my vehicle at 45 mph and the car is totaled. Considering the speed of impact and size of the other car, I could've been severely injured, but the curtain airbags and safety features protected me enough that I walked away with nothing but a glass cut and bruises. If safety is a concern, I would definitely trust this vehicle again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Duffy

by Duffy from Vestal, New Year on Sun Oct 23 2011

Road noise was my biggest issue! The original Michelin Pilot tires were alot of the problem. I put on Goodyear Comfortred tires and 50% of the road noise is gone. Took me 2 years to figure this out. I was ready to get rid of the car but now it is a joy to take trips in. V6 is a great motor for the highway, lots of get up and go!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2009 Honda Accord sedan EXL 4 cyl. autotrans !

by Toby from Asheville, N.C. on Mon Apr 25 2011

This car is wonderfully very good ! I drive 30,000 miles per year, and this is so much fun for ME for years ! I will only have a HONDA for the rest of MY life !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My first and most reliable!

by Bushra and sons:-) from Guelph, Ontario on Sun May 28 2017

I'd bought this pre-owned vehicle three years ago and there's never been a single moment that I ever regretted my purchase. It had over two hundred thousand mileage yet this car was as good as new. Definitely reliable ...so buy smart and look for a Honda!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Head Turner

by vlad in philly from on Wed Jan 28 2009

This car looks great, feels great, drives great. The interior is very well styled, leather feels richa dn looks great. Heated seats are a plus. 18in rims are huge. Overall this car looks great and is a pleasure to drive. Sound system is decent and has plenty of kick. The car drives smooth exactly the way a v-6 should. I test drove the Camry and Altima, and this was an easy decision for me to pick the Accord. Only thing is i expected gas mileage to be slightly better, but it is as advertised. Another thing is the XM radio antenna needed to be replaced (under standard warranty). Otherwise I love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by Markus from mich on Fri Nov 20 2009

Handels nice,very good on gas,like always,very reliable.Wider then my last accord,motor has more power then my 06 Accord.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

European Design For Alot Less Money

by Car Guru from Brooklyn, NY on Tue Aug 11 2009

I never imagined owning a Honda after owning an Infiniti G35 for last 5 years. However, the Accord offers excellent performance, handling, comfort and solid reliability. I purchased the EX-L model with the 4 cylinder engine. Overall, I am very happy with the purchase and look forward to low maintenance costs as compared to the Infiniti G35.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19

Our Take on the 2009 Honda Accord

Editor’s note: This review was written in August 2007 about the 2008 Honda Accord. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

As the second-best-selling car in the U.S., Honda’s Accord promises to be one of the most significant introductions of the 2008 model year. In typical Honda style, the automaker is letting the product do the talking, foregoing a formal auto show introduction before the Accord hits dealerships in September. Honda’s best-selling model gets an extensive redesign that includes all-new styling inside and out, a spacious rear seat for... Read More