2008 Civic Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

$2,766 - $8,670  MSRP Range
2008 Honda Civic Hybrid

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

45 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Honda Civic Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Safe Vehicle

by Dirty D from La Crosse area, WI on Tue Nov 02 2010

This is my 2nd Honda Civic Hybrid! Although it seems small, it is actually pretty roomy inside. My first Civic Hybrid was a 2006 - I was hit head-on doing 55MPH and came out with only bruised ribs & bruised wrist. Airbags & seatbelt worked great. I didn't get burned by airbags either. It was totalled because they had to use the jaws-of-life to get me out. Both the police & fire department couldn't believe I walked away. I owe Honda my life! It is certainly a safe car! The car did what it was supposed to do - the outside metal wrinkled like a pop can but the "cage" frame didn't move & completely protected me. As far as comfort & interior design, I wish there were more options but I also had a loaded Yukon prior to this. I do wish it had better rims! Something more sporty! Once I got my confidence back after my accident, I wanted another one. Great gas mileage (35-40+)and great looking car. Overall, I would buy another one or tell my friends/family to get one for sure.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

HCH Fan?

by HCH Fan from RI on Mon Oct 25 2010

Overall I think the HCH is a great car. If you drive it properly and perform proper maintenance, like any vehicle, it will provide as advertised, except for resale. My mileage is a overall 43.4 - 44.8. It's comfortable for what it is, a compact high fuel mileage vehicle. It's performance is good for what the vehicle delivers in mileage and it has been exceptionally reliable except for reflashes that do not correct the few nuenses. I was able to squeeze 28500k out of the 30k rated tires, by rotating, and replaced them with Michelin Primicy's, which are far and beyond superior. The downfall of this vehicle seems to be the perceived trade in value offered by dealers. How do they expect to sell them if they condemn them when people want to trade them in for a new one? Private parties tend to sell at a premium. My reccomendation is to drive it for a long time to receive the payoff.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Tires are worthless.

by cooter from Chicago, Illinois on Fri Sep 03 2010

The factory tires (Dunlop SP 31) that came with the car have no traction in the snow and will only last about 20 - 25,000 miles, then you'll have to buy new ones. Additionally, on the 2008 hybrid you can't see the hood of the car, as opposed to the 2003 hybrids, so it makes parking and knowing where the front of the car is on turns, that much harder. Everything else appears to be fine and the interior is definitely better than the 2003 hybrid.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car at a great price

by looking for more car for less money from Ca. on Mon Apr 14 2008

I researched hybrids and narrowed it down between the Prius and the Civic. I chose Honda because it's a better looking car. I got one with navigation and love it. I get 40 mpg all around and it handles beautifully. I paid about the same with navigation as I would have on a Prius without navigation. I now have a '08 Lexus and an'08 Civic hybrid. If I were to do it over again I would buy 2 Civic hybrids.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Poor Performance

by LargeMM from PALOS PARK, Il on Thu Oct 11 2018

This car has poor pick up from stop to start. Also, it's bad in the rain and snow. If something is wrong with the hybrid battery, you have to take to the dealer:( I would not buy this car again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Happy Hybrid owner from New Jersey on Wed Jul 15 2015

Bought in 2008 brand new, I have 109,000 miles on it, no problems with IMA, love the gas milieage, i get about 41 mpg. It is a comfortable ride, have only needed regular maintenance and tires on it. It's still going strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loved this car!

by Nanny O from Massachusetts on Sun May 12 2013

Bought new hybrid, no problems with battery, after 5 years needed realignment and new tires, at 50,000 miles, car worked like a champion! Loved it, traded up, super car for the gas and environmentally conscious. Highly recommend, gas mileage was 42 to 45, depending on hwy vs city.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High tech in a compact package

by Hybrid lover from HI on Fri Dec 07 2007

Purchased the Civic hybrid 2 wks. ago. 1st fill up yielded 42.75 MPG with mixed driving so I expect this to hold up. Exterior looks like standard Civic. The Hybrid comes with almost everything standard, including alloy wheels and a good stereo system with MP3 plug. Dash a little funky with readout on 2 seperate panels. Also the dash is a little low and will cramp the knees of large front passengers. Also the long dash makes the front end of car impossible to see, takes getting used to. Hard to notice any difference in ride from normal gas engine except for little jerk on stop and start from red lights. Peppy enough in most driving situations, handles and brakes well. Good value with tax credit and considering the terrific gas mileage. If you're thinking about purchasing a small car, definitely consider a hybrid.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT ON GAS

by YOU CANT KILL A HONDA!!! from SPRING HILL, FL on Sat Nov 23 2013

THIS CARS HANDLING IS TIGHT AND ACCELERATION IS IMMEDIATE ( DROVE FROM PITTSBURG PA. TO SPRING HILL FL.) 1020 MILES FUEL COST $ 80.00 .43 MPG HWY!!!! VERY IMPRESSED

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Avberage mpg

by Grandpa from Atlanta on Mon Mar 18 2013

Nic apprearing, nice ride. Disappointed in mileage. Best I habe gotten is 35.2 mpg. Was hoping for something closer to 40mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5