2018 Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

$33,400 - $36,600  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

49 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2018 Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Finally a Plug in Hybrid that?s a real sized car

by KentuckyKen from Lexington, KY on Tue Mar 13 2018

Love this car. Quietest car I?ve ever driven (even in hybrid mode with the gas engine running), smooth ride with no body lean in cornering, plush/ comfortable interior, very roomy with room for 3 adults in rear seat ( unlike he Volt!), good sized trunk (15.5 cf), and all the safety/driver?s assist features of Honda Sensing. What more could you ask for when all that comes with 110MPG-e and 44 city/40 hwy/42 combined MPG. In size it?s just slightly smaller than an Accord but larger than a Civic. With the battery below the floor, the resulting low center of gravity make this car corner with no body roll at all. Best of all Honda really got it right with the regenerative braking. It has an absolutely seamless transition between hydraulic braking and regenerative braking. Ditto for the transition from electric motor to gas engine for when you run out of battery or go into HV mode. You can?t even tell by driveabiliry or by sound. You have to check the energy display to know. It?s that quiet and that automatic. I?m getting 50 miles to a charge right now but you can expect the battery range to decrease a little with summer usage of A/C and down to 40 when using heat/defrost/seat heater a lot in winter in my area. I?ve gone 500 miles with out using a drop of gas since all driving so far is local. I just plug it in every night. But with this being a hybrid you have no range anxiety because you can go another 280 miles on the 7 gal tank after the battery is depleted. It?s like the best of both worlds. 110 mpg in town and 42 mpg on trips out of town for as long and as far as you want to drive. Even better mpg on trips if you charge when you stop for food or lodging. Since it?s a Honda, I?m expecting bullet proof reliability but time will tell. I am totally satisfied with this purchase. It saves me a boat load of money ($7,500 Fed tax credit, 110 mpg, reduced maintenance costs) and is also gentle on the environment. This car is nearly perfect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

62 out of 62 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Quiet, Comfortable, with a bit of Luxury

by emtonsti from upstate, NY on Sat Dec 30 2017

Very easy and fun to drive. Elegant throughout. Charges very quickly (2+ hours), has more than adequate torque and power, and runs smooth and quiet. Warms very quickly in Winter, no steering wheel heat, but you don't need it. Display screen virtual volume slider is a pain, use the volume control on the steering wheel. Regen selector paddles are fun to play with, but you don't have to use them, blended braking (regen to friction brakes) is superbly done. The optional back up sensors require major disassembly and are not integrated into the infotainment system (no indications or warnings on the back up view, just a beep from a beeper in the back). Honda LINK is last gen, no Honda LINK button like the new 2018 Accord has, also, a cool right hand side mirror camera, but no 2018 Accord features like blind side warnings or integrated parking sensors. Has find my car when connected (WiFi or Bluethooth, but no cell), so no remote unlock or remove find after theft. Many minor gripes, but overall, a great buy and a wonderful car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a surprisingly refined car

by gardenjeff from Maine on Fri Mar 09 2018

Even after 3 months' ownership, the first impression on entering the car (the upper level Touring) is one of refinement and quiet elegance, more so than any other Honda. Driving in electric mode only amplifies this impression, as the car is uncommonly quiet and glued to the road even in snowy conditions. Power in electric mode is more than ample and acceleration is strong. Tech looks good but in operation is last year's version and lags that in the new Accord. The range in electric mode on a full charge is dependent on ambient temperature, nearly 50 miles in temperate temps and closer to 30 in frigid ones. After the car exhausts its electric charge, the gas engine (which is used almost exclusively to generate electricity rather than drive the car) can be oddly harsh sounding, and the car becomes less responsive especially for the first several miles on gas. Overall, the car is a very nice one, and even the Touring model represents good value, given the $7500 federal tax credit which brings the price down to that of a mid-level, gas-driven, conventional car that has nowhere near the refinement. While submission of this review requires a rating for reliability, I have no basis for that yet. Note that plug in hybrids, if they are used primarily in electric mode, require much less maintenance than gas-driven cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Heat and AC can affect electric range

by Flphotoguy from Tampa, Florida on Fri Mar 16 2018

I have owned my Clarity base model for a week and I am pleased so far. On the day after I bought it I made a 40 mile trip to the dealer in all electric mode. Three days later, on a cold morning with the heat on, my range was limited to 30 miles before the battery was at zero charge. On the ride home I selected the HV Charge mode and was back at 50% charge after the half hour ride home. On Wednesday I took two friends out to dinner and both found the car to be comfortable with enough leg room in the front and back. I selected the base model because I have navigation on my iPhone and it works great in the car with CarPlay. Navigation, Pandora and Amazon Music all work great. The included Level one charger works great but takes 12 hours to charge the car. I bought a Level two charger and it will top off the battery in four hours. It was expensive to install a 220 outlet in my garage but worth it. Today, I made a 43 mile trip in electric mode only. The safety features are excellent with adaptive cruise control and lane keeping assist. The car practically drives itself. I hope to keep this car for a long time and make my trips to the gas station very infrequent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Owner and Love It

by CAdriver from Palo Alto, CA on Sun Jan 21 2018

This car is comfortable and has lots of room. Front passenger leg room is ample even with a car seat installed behind it. Very comfortable seats in front and in back. Headroom in the back for taller passengers is good as well. Seamless transition between EV and gas engine. The 47 mile EV range seems pretty accurate so far. Large trunk for better covered storage than a Prius prime. Smooth, quiet ride. My only wish is that you could get the beige interior with the gray model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car in 47 Years of Driving

by dstrauss from Midland, TX on Fri Mar 23 2018

Headline says it all - a true 5 passenger mid-size sedan masquerading as green car. Interior room, fit & finish, design & materials (Touring model), ride comfort and handling, QUIETNESS, all say luxury Acura, not Honda. I easily average 53 miles EV range per charge (remember, this is West Texas with 50 degree winters - this may crater in the 100 degree heat of summer), easily 40+ mpg in hybrid mode on the highway at 80 mph (the legal limit out here BTW). It beats my Prius experience of the last 8 years hands down. It has design quirks inside and out, but nothing that diminishes the value quotient for teh Clarity, even BEFORE teh $7500 FIT credit.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable Technology

by dkerch99 from Whitewater, WI on Wed Mar 21 2018

After my first month of ownership, I'm at 150 mpg! I purchased a 220v stage 2 charger which is well worth it when I need to charge it at work. I live in Wisconsin and the weather is still in the 20's at night, so I'm getting the battery to charge to between 37 and 40 miles, the Honda site says it can get up to 47. We'll see how much higher it gets in warmer temps. Driving in all electric mode is awesome. The car is silent and has great acceleration. The few times I've run out of battery power, I still get 45 mpg with the hybrid engine. Love the interior and safety features, too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1,200 miles, and still original gas...LOVE IT!

by Wrights in Seattle on Tue Mar 27 2018

After 5 weeks and 1200 miles, I am still just over half a tank full from original gas. It is fun to drive, looks sharp, zippy when desired and crazy energy efficient! The interior buttons, screen, and technology features are easy to grasp and have become second nature after a couple weeks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Need a safety rating...

by tripgrip from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Feb 10 2018

This is a very comfortable vehicle from the seats to the smooth ride. The range on just the electric mode is a poor 47 miles but don't despair, the gasoline engine kicks in when it needs to whether to charge the depleted battery or to help the vehicle accelerate when only on electric. There is still no radio knob for which I'd like to see included. Overall it is a great car pending it gets good safety marks when they rate it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I will be saving a lot of money on gas !!!

by southern california sunshine from anaheim, ca on Mon Mar 12 2018

Stylish , reliable car with over 300 mile range . I will never have to worry about running out of electric charge and will drive around with out using the gas. I am happy with the safety features and saving the planet with less pollution !!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5