2012 CR-V

Consumer Reviews

2012 Honda CR-V

$8,749 - $17,081  MSRP Range
2012 Honda CR-V

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

210 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Honda CR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 210 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I've owned!

by Honda Girl from Denmark, Maine on Fri Aug 24 2012

I purchased my new 2012 Honda CRV about two months ago and have driven it close to 3,000 miles so far. Love how it handles, good gas mileage (28-30mpg), comfortable seats, handles corners well. I've owned 3 Civic's and loved them all, but live on a dirt road and needed something more aggressive in snow. Can't wait till winter as I've driven this on dirt roads that are quite steep and this vehicle doesn't miss a beat. I'm more than pleased with all aspects of my new Honda. Great value for the money, too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the monney

by Jim from Central MA on Fri Aug 17 2012

Great gas mileage almost 29 mi, per gallon around town, a bit sluggish in ECON mode, but great mileage!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by zippy from columbus, ms on Thu Aug 09 2012

Great car for the price, has all the options that I wanted,runs great, feels great, looks great. This vehicle is comparable to much more expensive hicles in its design, appearance and performance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Mini SUV for the Money

by smkeener47 from Montgomery AL on Mon Apr 23 2012

The new design of the CR-V for 2012 is much more appealing than the previous stubby design. The comfort is terrific (I have the leather model) and the handling is good. It has a great deal of technology standard for us geeky types. Overall it is a great vehicle and I look forward to many years of service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Features, Missing the Sunroof

by Odyssey Replacement from Montpelier, VT on Mon Jun 25 2012

The included controls on the entry-level LX model are really impressive - Bluetooth for audio and phone with intuitive steering wheel mounted controls, well designed reverse camera. The car feels rock solid. The trunk is a little compromised, and I keep grabbing the false lip to find the latch to open the back.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3 CR-V's owner

by Buzz from West Virginia on Fri Jun 29 2012

I've owned a 2006, a 2010 and both exceeded my expectations, however when I purchased the 2012 it has was the winner hands down. The steering, handling, ride and quietness and I might add, the gas mileage, far exceeded the previous models. Honda has hit a home run.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1st time CRV owner

by Pathman from Vermont on Sun Mar 16 2014

I have been driving Hondas since 1992 (92 Accord, 96 Civic, 02 Odyssey and 09 Fit Sport) My 2012 CRV LX is my first dive into the CRV pool. And a pleasant swim it has been! I have 28k miles on it and have had zero problems. It has been a great snow car (full disclosure, I live in Vermont so I do run 4 snow tires each winter) never any question of getting where I want to go even in 6 inches of Vermont slushnsnow!!!!! I will add that running snowtires is a mileage killer. In the summer on all seasons I average 26 to 27 MPG. In the winter I have a hard time breaking 24 in all around driving. The car is very comfortable for long trips. I make a 750 mile trip to Prince Edward Island in Canada 2 or 3 times a year to visit my son and I have no problem doing a 14 hour stint behind the wheel to make it in one day. My old Fit as much as I loved it for "normal" driving was a life sucker for these 14 hour PEI runs! My CRV very happily runs along at 75 to 80 mph all day long on I-95 and Trans Can hiway. It is not a tire chirper from stoplights, but for a four banger it does ok, and I find the power adequate for my driving. Likewise the interior is functional and well thought out if not very flashy. A lot of plastic, but it is nice plastic at least! The sound system will not cause you to bleed from any orfices and is the one area that I find pretty weak in the vehicle. Body architecture appeals to me, I like the lines it has but admittedly styling is soooo subjective, I have heard others say it looks like a fancy sneaker!!!! Bottom line is it is a car that meets or exceeds most of my expectations. I will be keeping it a long time and most likely will get another one when the time comes........

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car.

by Sew46 from Tamworth. NH on Mon Jul 02 2012

Right after I bought the CRV, my daughter and I started out on a road trip from NH to Santa Fe. The CRV was comfortable, no back or fanny aches and pains. No mechanical troubles. Pretty good on gas, avg 29+ mpg. Plenty of room for luggage. Gripes are that the rear hatch is heavy to close and I would have liked a small cubby in the middle of the front on the dash. Not big comPlaints. Overall, great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

BAD BREAKS

by Connie from Margaretville, New york on Sun Sep 13 2015

I purchased my Honda CRV brand new in 2012. I noticed that there was a grinding noise when first driving the car & then it would go away. I brought the car to my dealer & was told that that was normal & due to corrosion build up. In July 2014 I had a local repair shop look @ the car before going on vacation. I was told that the car needed new rotors & calipers. They recommended I bring it to the Honda dealer because it only had 25,000 miles on it. I was not able to use the car for our trip & when I brought it to Honda they did not agree with my local repair shop. It just needed to be" lubed up "& needed new brake pads. About $300.00. Then in 2015, one year later, I had the car checked out because I was going on vacation & it was making a lot more grinding noises. It turned out that it needed new rotors, brake shoes, & the caliper was seized. That cost me $417.00. No longer under warranty of course. Second year in a row that I could not bring my car on vacation. My husbands truck has 51,000 mile on it & it has never had it's brakes replaced. It does not make a grind noise when first driving it out of the garage either. Honda needs to put better brakes on it's cars. I read some other reviews & other buyers have had the same problem.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm in love with this car! It's perfect...

by Love&JoyLife from sebastopol, CA on Wed Jul 25 2018

It is fun to drive, comfortable and gets such good mileage... also I can tow it with my RV, should I choose to do so... I am so happy I chose this CRV I may never drive anything else...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2012 Honda CR-V

The current Honda CR-V is one of the best-selling vehicles in the country, let alone in the the small crossover segment, and the redesigned 2012 version doesn’t stray far from the formula that has made it so popular: It’s easy to drive, has lots of room for its size and gets good mileage.

Improvements to the 2012 Honda CR-V’s interior, cargo configurability, ride quality and standard-equipment list should keep the compact crossover atop car shoppers’ must-test lists.

What’s New
The CR-V drives more like a car now and has a new interior, but the exterior design stands out as being much more interesting than the current model. The front has a forward slope to it... Read More