2009 Elantra Touring

Consumer Reviews

2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

$2,610 - $9,258  MSRP Range
2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

12 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2009 Hyundai Elantra Touring?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A Year Later, Still Like this Car

by Woman Driver from Kansas City, MO on Wed May 26 2010

We've had our touring elantra for a year now. I love driving it. It handles beautifully. However, I'd say the two negative opinions we'd read before we purchased it are true. 1. The seats are none too comfortable and 2. Sometimes it's difficult to find reverse on our manual transmission. Other than those, I have no complaints.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

After 17 years...

by last of the "49ers from Kansas City, MO on Mon Jun 25 2012

Very happy with the overall looks and performance of this car to date. Only concern is the gas mileage. It doesn't seem to be getting the 23 mpg in town as described

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!!!

by californiablackwolf from sacramento, ca on Fri Oct 18 2013

I get much better gas mileage than what they said i would. my average in the city is around 31 and my freeway is 38.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Economical, reliable, Spacious

by Funloving from Jacksonville, Florida on Thu May 21 2020

Very comfortable ride. This car has never let me down . It has great gas mileage and some interesting features. USB port in central compartment. In the glove compartment you can cool a drink. It has an A/C lift up button. The second row seats fold down to make a very large trunk. Unfortunately, it was too small to fit my recently acquired dog.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing but good things to say

by The Dude from Arnold, MO on Sun Mar 10 2019

As the 2nd owner, I had it for about 7 years and the largest expenses were new tires when they wore out. Very reliable and great cargo space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by LaurM from Sioux City, IA on Sun May 30 2010

I purchased my new 2009 Elantra Touring with the premium sport package a little over a week ago and I am in love. Not only is it a really sharp looking hatchback, but it is also comfortable and a lot of fun to drive. It handles really well and my kids have a lot more space between them so they do not have the need to bicker nearly as much as in my last car. I love all of the "extras" that this car has compared with my last car as well. This is my favorite car that I have gotten EVER!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Style, value, and versatility

by Babs from Chicago on Tue Feb 16 2010

I've had my Elantra Touring for 10 months now. I haven't regretted the purchase for even one day. Granted, it's a smaller car, but has good head and leg room inside, as well as a large amount of storage for whatever you need to carry. It's easy to drive (ask my 16-year old new driver), and the ESC has been a benefit while driving in snow. Great mileage on the road (33mpg), and 22-24 for short trips. Interior cupholders and storage are handy. A few things could be improved, such as a bit softer seating, and, since I live in the city, rubberized bumpers as an option so that the paint won't get scratched up. The car's a great value for everything it has to offer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

ok for the money

by justy from oak park il on Sat Apr 24 2010

it is a good value for the money... not enough safety features for a family car (not too safe comparing to Audi or a Volvo wagon ). front wheel drive no traction 138 hp ;very weak engine!!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love mine

by jellyjelly81 from Penn Yan, NY on Thu Sep 23 2010

I love my Hyundai Elantra Touring, granted it has a few blemished since I bought it used, but I love it! I've had it for two months now, and just last Friday somehow I got 36mpg highway (512mi with 14gal) WOW! I must have added wrong. I love that it has USB so I can listen to all my favorite music while on the road! I just had the Bluetooth put in so I can answer my cell while driving. I like that it came with: ABS, ESC, TPMS, Side Airbags, and MP3 CD Player. None of my other cars that I had before had any of those things! The only thing I don’t like is the low HP, but that is a small price to pay for better MPG! -Timothy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first ever new car

by emilyraesdad from Lancaster, PA on Wed Oct 07 2009

I went to test drive a Dodge Caliber and I was sadly disappointed, and my next test drive was my Elantra Touring, and I love it!!! I was looking for a cargo capable fuel efficient car/ minivan, and this fit exactly what I was looking for. My Elantra Touring is Black Pearl and black interior. my only complaint is the mesh netting on the seats is difficult to vacuum, but overall, a great buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2