Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 Kona

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Kona

$19,500 - $28,700  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Kona

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

153 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Kona?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome buy

by MastrFig from Berthod, colorado on Thu Jun 21 2018

I purchased this car do to the style and price with the knowledge that it is a SMALL suv i have two kids in car seats and that was my only real concern, the two engine options are 4cyl or 4cyl turbo, the turbo was very fun and had plenty of power where as the none turbo was really all that was needed to get the job done and got better fuel efficiency, i got the none turbo and i am very happy as i seaid i tested this car for two days so I understood that it is a small engine and small suv so power is not as good as you may want but it?s plenty. As far as room it is exactly what i need it fits myself the wife and two kids but no more and the trunk / hatch is very limited on space however for a normal person that does not hord items in my car it works perfectly. I have already had this car on a off highway dirt road that it really shouldnt have been on and it did just fine i am averaging 33mpg combined highway and city in Colorado. Over all i love my purchase and the warranty is unbeatable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A hot number

by Shel from Palmetto on Fri Jul 20 2018

We needed a smaller vehicle that would allow us more room in our garage, but still, have the good looks and performance of the larger cars from Hyundai we used to own. The all-new Kona Limited fit the bill. It is on the smaller side but has the power of a small hot rod. It does lack a comfortable ride due to its suspension and size. The passenger front seat does not have a height adjustment and the cargo space is limited. All that being said and you can overlook a couple of small inconveniences, this vehicle is spot on. Fun to drive, very responsive, and even tho it does not have the cushy drive that my larger vehicle had, this little gem is a keeper. Hyundai never seems to put out a bad vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for the money

by Thopter21 from Palm beach gardens , fl on Mon Aug 27 2018

This car is an absolute beast in handling comfort, style, mpg, and affordability. I have driven many sports cars, suvs, sedans, coupes, trucks, etc; but this car beats most of them, and I?ll explain why. This car drives incredibly smooth, and can handle corners so well( must be the torque vectoring). I mean my 2017 gt can even takes corners as good as this car. The sport mode is pretty cool, but more effective in city streets. This car can keep up the pace on highways quite effortlessly which is very suprising. It menuvers so well on the highway that it almost feels like a mini coop as you shift in an out of lanes. I bought this car for my fianc�e and she cannot stop raving about how awesome the car fells, drives, and looks. The apple car play system it has along with the audio system is phenominal and so simplistic/ fast to use. Apple car play in this car is better then what I?ve seen in Honda?s which are overly comlex, Subaru?s which are slow to the touch, and Ford which glitches to much. I cannot express how much I love this car. It?s so much car for the money, not to mention you get the best warranty on the market. This is a must buy. We currently own the SEL.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for short people like me

by MariaF from Chicago, IL on Mon Aug 27 2018

I really love driving my new Kona. It?s the perfect size for a smaller person like me because I can adjust the seat to sit higher. Also since the front is not so long I can see the road better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Kona

by Liz C from Niagara Falls, On on Sun Jun 03 2018

This vehicle meets all my needs. Amazing gas mileage. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone! It is very affordable with many upgrades. I am very pleased with my purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's sport and fun!

by Radioric from Atlantic, Iowa on Thu Aug 16 2018

This car was light years ahead of my 2003 pick up, technology-wise. I'm still getting used to all the gizmos. I just wish the B-pillar was set back about 2-3 inches. I'm a big guy and I have to get in xxx backwards. Lol.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best looking and most powerful crossover

by Markona Blue from Buffalo, NY on Sat Jun 23 2018

My first SUV ever bought but handles just like a sedan. The style is beautiful and it has a very powerful engine with the 1.6T on the limited trim. The features and technology are great. My only critique is the sound quality of the speakers but everything else is wonderful. Definitely the best crossover out there!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of my best buys!!

by Konafide from Monroe Twp., NJ on Thu Oct 25 2018

My vehicle is the Kona SE. It is the basic model of Kona. No bells, no whistles. I LOVE IT!! This little wagon is comfortable, great on fuel, and even has terrific pick up when getting into flowing traffic on the highway. I am leasing for now, but when it comes time, If they are still available, I will get another. You gotta try it...but I warn you, just like me, once you sit in it and take it out for a spin, you will claim it as your own....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Kona!

by TJ1970 from Holiday, FL on Sat Nov 24 2018

Great gas mileage, i love the way it drives. Does not feel like a small car. the Driver assist works great I love it! Perfect for travel

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!!!!

by Diamonds from Reno, NV on Mon Nov 05 2018

This is a phenomenal car. I?m so in love with all its features, on how techy it is and great on gas mileage. We?re a family of 5 and my husband is 6ft tall, with that being said we fit comfortable in the car; way better than the sedan we previously had. Again great car and def reccommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Kona

The verdict:

The all-new 2018 Hyundai Kona is distinctively styled and feels light and agile, but it's more a hatchback than a small SUV.

Versus the competition:

The Kona's lower stance mimics the Toyota C-HR's, and its nimble driving manners are reminiscent of a Fiat 500X. Meanwhile, the Chevrolet Trax has slightly better ride comfort, while the Honda HR-V is more versatile.

The subcompact SUV class has stretched the definition of sport utility vehicle more than most. Some entrants, like the C-HR, offer a carlike ride height and skip all-wheel drive (it's front-drive only). The Kona at least offers all-wheel drive, making it easier to think of it as an SUV, but its low ride height and overall shape call to mind a more traditional small hatchback.

Our test car was a front-wheel-drive Kona SEL with a $22,405 as-tested price ($980 destination charge included). See how the Kona's specs compare with the Trax, HR-V and C-HR.

How It Drives

The Kona's driving experience impresses in many ways. It's easy to maneuver in the city and secure at highway... Read More