2002 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2002 Hyundai Sonata

$1,842 - $4,978  MSRP Range
2002 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

30 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 30 reviews

1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY

by Tim MaGiving from Syracuse, NY on Wed Jun 07 2006

this car sucks i should have not even of bougt it for $7699.00 but it is not even worth $100.00 do not buy this car it always breakes down and the ratater fans always blow.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car, Questionable Reliability

by J from NY on Wed Aug 04 2010

I bought this car used in 2005. At the time, it was a great car- fit the family perfectly, had very few problems. In the past 2 years it has become a money pit. It seems that once the warranty is over, the car just falls apart. The only thing making me hold onto the car now is that I have put so much money into it, I have no choice. I question myself every time I get in the car if I will actually make it to where I am going today. Parts just seem to fall off. I am diligent about taking care of this car, and I feel like if you are good to your car, it should last a long time, not just fall apart. The car just dies for no good reason, can't seem to fix that. The tranny has been replaced among other numerous things. I would recommend this product only based upon the fact that before the warranty expired, it was a good car. If you are thinking of buying used, get one with really low miles and plenty of time on the warranty. I am not sure if I will ever buy another one. I hear such good things, but when I think about my own car, it makes me cringe...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am Impressed.

by ron s from chicago IL on Tue Aug 29 2006

purchased vehicle new .great styling, has been reliable. great warranty 5/6000 10/100000 nobody matches that, hyundai is becoming a contender if they prove reliable over time and keep refining thier automobiles like they have been they will be the next HONDA. check out the 2007 sonata very nice just hate to give up the 02

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome car...will buy another one down the road

by scott from canadensis, pa on Thu Aug 27 2009

just bought the car today (8/27/09) and the car is a 2002 and i runs better than any new car ive driven. very nice interior and sporty looking, the only reason i didnt give it a 5 on reliability is because i just got it but the car is rock solid and has a good sound system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Sonata 2002

by She loves Driving from Detroit,Michigan on Sun Apr 11 2010

This car is beautiful.My complaint is the lot where I bought it, was not honest with me. The car had two bad tires on the back also it has a sunroof that doesn't open. They told me it did not open but did not want to take any money off the price. Still haven't gotten it open yet but I will. Cars.com is a good place to shop. I was a first time user but I would use it again. Thanks

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car EVER

by Bcaskey1 from Wadsworth Ohio on Wed Jul 12 2017

Bought it new in 2002 and still have it . Would buy another when needed. The car is in great shape.i love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned

by Karoway from Myrtle Beach, SC on Mon Dec 11 2017

Reliable vehicle that has been well maintained. No rust and no accidents, a great second car for the family or teenager.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sonata, aptly named

by smsycpa from Antioch, CA on Fri Oct 20 2017

For nearly 15 years I drove this little car for everything; commuting, pleasure, shopping. During these years it never graced repair shops except for regular maintenance; consequently I never gave it much thought 'til last week. Engine light came on. Michael at All Star Hyundai said...3 little leaks, not big enough to leave tell tale drip on the floor. It would be expensive to fix so I gave it some thought. This could be the first to a series of repair visits I thought...the car is quite old after all. Silently I said thank you and sadly said goodbye...to my little car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I really truly love my car!

by I love cars85 from San Antonio Texas on Thu Jul 06 2017

I think somehow someone read my mind and saw my dreams and put this car n my life path, it suites me so well I couldn't have ever imagined I would love a vehicle so much!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever driven.

by JimMotorist from La Mirada, CA on Wed Apr 11 2018

I've owned and been issued many company cars during the 64 years I've been driving and this 2002 Hyundai Sonata V6 outshines them all. It's been virtually maintenance-free. I purchased it new and have been so satisfied we now have 4 Hyundais in our immediate family.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Prev
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 Hyundai Sonata

If you say that Hyundai makes a car you might consider buying, people look at you as if you said Martha Stewart had gained 300 pounds and moved to a trailer park in Arkansas.

Well, I don’t know about ol’ Martha, but I do know that the new Hyundai Sonata is a pretty decent little transportation device. Not that you’ll mistake it for best in show, but it’s a solid C+ student, gunning for a B.

You can see Hyundai striving to be taken more seriously everywhere in this car.

The styling is pure social-climber, kicking a bit of Mercedes up front and Jaguar and Oldsmobile in the rear. Yet, despite the divergent influences, the styling works. Even a dull silver paint scheme... Read More