2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

11 - 20 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars for the value

by Sena2017 from Port Richey fl on Fri Aug 03 2018

Great gas mileage, comfort , conscience effort to make style and comfort a priority . We had a Accent before that was half the car this is and no where the comfort level

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car overall that I've owned.

by Cleo's Dad from Cranberry Twp., Pa. on Fri Apr 27 2018

Hyundai has gone the extra mile with the Sonata. Overall styling is outstanding. Ride and handling is comparable to a much more expensive car. A pleasure to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoy driving vehicle

by Brenda from Boynton Beach,Florida on Thu Jul 19 2018

The car is comfortable and roomy. The trunk has a lot of space.The A/C works great in 90 degree weather. The radio is not to my liking. It does not have a CD player.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 3rd Sonata!! ??

by Songbird from Brandon, MS on Wed Jul 25 2018

Just bought new Sonata with Ultimate Pkg. what luxury in a Sonata. Smooth ride. That panoramic roof is so stylish. Looks and drives like a $50,000 car! Controls are handy. And whoa-heated steering wheel, air conditioned/heated seats-what more could a retired lady want?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Shawn from Wilburton Oklahoma on Tue Apr 24 2018

Love the car, I'm a big guy and it's super easy to get in and out of, and it handles like a dream. I would highly recommend it to anyone

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fairly Reliable

by MikeB from Hawkinsville, GA on Wed Apr 29 2020

This car is extremely comfortable with excellent gas mileage. Only issues have been components breaking (driver seat control mount and trunk latch assembly) and the expense to repair considering the car isn't even a year and a half old. I would recommend this car, but warn of the issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ideal for our needs

by MarthaS. from Enfield, Ct. on Wed Jul 03 2019

This car has great performance, plenty of leg room, good head & back support, is quiet running, great visibility, and is handsome in appearance. We love the backup mirror and warning lights that show up when vehicle is approaching and warning sound when person or vehicle is behind us.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My New Beauty

by Lead foot from Brockton, Ma on Thu Oct 26 2017

My Car is a 2018 Sonata Limited with the 245 HP turbo. I love just about everything about this car! Smooth ride, great handling, good performance and a very comfortable interior. The interior features show a lot of detailed, well thought out design. All of it's rich features are accessed via a bank of attractive metal push buttons. The leather bucket seats are very luxurious and have a wonderful fit to them. It's hard to believe that Hyundai is able to sell this car for such a reasonable price!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Antwan from Saint Louis on Sat Apr 14 2018

With us both being tall, we are very pleased that the redesigned interior of our 2018 Hyundai Sonata gives us plenty of leg, head & shoulder room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I ever had. Smooth ride !

by WillJ from Neptune on Mon Apr 23 2018

This car meets every need I could possibly ask for. I went from a 1998 to 2012 and now a 2018. Loving my new car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More