2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

21 - 30 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My New Beauty

by Lead foot from Brockton, Ma on Thu Oct 26 2017

My Car is a 2018 Sonata Limited with the 245 HP turbo. I love just about everything about this car! Smooth ride, great handling, good performance and a very comfortable interior. The interior features show a lot of detailed, well thought out design. All of it's rich features are accessed via a bank of attractive metal push buttons. The leather bucket seats are very luxurious and have a wonderful fit to them. It's hard to believe that Hyundai is able to sell this car for such a reasonable price!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Unbeatable deal.

by Alambre on Thu Mar 22 2018

Comfortable, convenient, beautiful exterior, wonderful fuel economy for a car this size, bland interior on the SEL. For the money, with that warranty, the best midsize car out there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sonata for the sweet 16!

by Punky J from Meridian, MS on Thu Jun 21 2018

Love this car. Drives very good. Love the MyHyundai app. Extremely pleased with the stylish look. The lights are awesome. Worth the money!! I would buy from Wilson again

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfort, quality sound, smooth ride

by Chartnett1 from Palm Coast, FL on Mon Jan 08 2018

The 2018 Hyundai Sonata Limited has met all of my expectations and more. It is a very comfortable, roomy car. Comfort is a need for me and it was definitely met. The quality sound is also a need for me, due to my passion for music, and the car has beautiful sound. In addition, the car rides very smoothly. I long to drive it around because it’s such a beautiful, comfortable car and every ride is a pleasure.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far, so good!

by 18SonataSport from Tucson, AZ on Fri Dec 29 2017

Just bought this car about a month ago. It is the sport model. It is my daughter's first brand new car. Has bluetooth and all the new technology. A great safety feature is the blind spot indicators that flash and beep on the side mirrors. Not a V6 which is what we wanted, but it's a 4 cylinder with turbo charge. Has a lot of pick-up compared to the old 4 cylinders. It has a moon/sun roof and let's you know how many miles you have left in your gas tank. So far, my daughter loves it. I hope that this car will last her many, many years with minimal issues.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wife and I smile whenever we see our new car

by Daniel and Kathy from Elgin, IL on Wed Jun 06 2018

We just love this Hyundai Sonata, it is at least as nice as the Cadillac we traded in. We love the style, and all the technical features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This the 4th Sonata that we own. Great safety.

by Claude1940 from ENGLEWOOD on Sat Aug 11 2018

The Sonata meets our needs, safety features, like river assisted. Seats are comfortable good back support Driving visibility,dashboard lights ,driving in rain. Good braking for sudden stopping. You can connect to many APPS using USB outlet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle For The Price.

by Purchase For Wife from Texas on Sun Sep 17 2017

Very nice family sedan, economical and comfortable. Nice looks both inside and out and lots of features for the price. The SE has added features like AC, Auto Tranny, Apple Play (awesome feature) Cruise, Power Package (Except The Seats), and Driver Asst (Rear Camera and Such). The 4 cylinder engine delivers sufficient power, and the interior room seats 5 adults comfortably . Only Drawback So Far: Issues with the AC fan blower not maintain constant set speed (especially during deceleration), need to take to dealer to have it checked out (good thing the 5 year warranty covers the defect/issue).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my Hyundai Sonata!

by AJ from Aurora IL on Mon Jul 30 2018

I love my car so far, it has great leg room, I love the screen, the exterior of my car is beautiful. I am in love.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You can’t beat it for the money

by Ptcruiser1945 from Madison, Al on Fri Jun 01 2018

I was always a Toyota man, but when I went looking Toyota wasn’t dealing. I went into the Hyundai dealer in Huntsville Alabama and was amazed at the quality. The sticker price was 25618.00, they they had a 5000.00 rebate and plus 500.00 off because I was prior military, and gave me 9500.00 for my 2014 Toyota hybrid gave me 9500.00 trade in which was 500.00 over bluebook I had to by a Hyundai Sonata SE and have never regretted it. It has more safety features then my wife’s 2018 C 300 Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More