2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

341 - 350 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Mariahthms from Arcadia, CA on Sat Nov 25 2017

This car is very roomy, perfect for naps in between classes. The stereo sounds amazing. The ride is so smooth, making the commute from home to school very easy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Runs great. Only one week old.

by Santullid from Waterbury Ct on Tue Sep 19 2017

Great riding car. I have a legacy which is great, a Honda my wife owned. By far so far this has the most leg room and is the smoothest out of the three.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Hyundai Sonata

by AGE from New Jersey on Sat Aug 11 2018

This car is not only Beautiful to look at it, it's roomy comfortable has awesome features inside & out drives so smooth went from a Honda accord to the Hyundai Sonata & I Totaly Love everything about this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Sonata,

by jadolan110 from Alabama on Fri Nov 03 2017

I purchased a new 2018 hyundai sonata. The car meets all of my needs it has plenty of legroom in the front and back of the car a lot of trunk space and the OS on the touchscreen is simple and easy to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3 is the charm

by Elovelace26 from Port arthur, TX on Mon Oct 30 2017

This is my third Sonta, and this is by far the best. Modern features and sleek body style are wrapped in a 10 year 100,000 mile warranty you just can't beat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 5th Hyundai

by Tmjc49 from West Dundee,IL on Mon Oct 02 2017

Comfort, reliability , great price, all that I needed and wanted, interior and exterior looks great, love this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great value!

by FamilyofFive from Scottsdale AZ on Mon Oct 16 2017

I am very happy with the decision to purchase this car, so far it has been great. It is very comfortable to drive and is extremely roomy. The back seat and the trunk are huge, the front seats are very comfortable. Pack all this together with the great waranty I am very satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort, valued with lots of amenity

by Sonata 2.0T from Westminster, CA on Wed Dec 13 2017

2.0T Sonata has plenty of power, spacious rear leg room with spacious trunk for your cargo. Smooth engine and transmission with plenty power. Android auto and Apple Car Play that enable your smart phone to connect to vehicle display for all your favorite apps. Hyundai will give you 3 years of Blue Link and 3 months of XM radio for free along with their warranty. Love this car so far with no complaints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly feature rich

by Duke from Sleepy Hollow, IL on Fri Mar 23 2018

I needed a new car for business, was looking for something that gets good mileage, dependable, comfortable and relatively inexpensive. The Sonata fit that, plus the added bonus of being very feature rich and luxurious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car

by Happy wife from Chattanooga, Tn on Wed Jan 24 2018

Very roomy. I've owned several different sedans and this car is up there in quality, room, and reliability. I've heard about the road noise well with my experience I've had Nissan maxima and they are all going to have some. But this one seems quiter. Loving my Sonota. I didn't think I would only own maximas for my car needs but this experience has changed my mind.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More