2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

51 - 60 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Better than Camry

by Holimont from Atlanta, GA on Thu Oct 19 2017

I spent several months reading reviews and forums to compare the 2018 Camry XLE and the 2018 Sonata Limited. I concluded the Sonata was more car for less money, particularly the electronics. After 30+ years of Camry's I bought the Solara Limited with the Ultimate Package for 10-15 % less than the Camry XLE.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth driving

by Bandit from St. Catharines on Mon Jun 04 2018

Great driving car. Many features lots of room. Very comforting ride. Just love driving this car. Best car purchase I have ever made. Very happy with this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I have owned so far

by JanetS from Racine, WI on Tue Feb 06 2018

This car looks very luxurious on the outside and has nice dash features on inside. Lots of leg room in back seat for passengers. Very comfortable riding on the highway. Lots of good pick up with engine size on this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Biggest mistake ever! Bad investment

by Sunshine from Philadelphia on Thu Aug 29 2019

The cae was good for the first year only. Check engine light stay flashing. Car is in the shop every other week. Technicians dont know what the issue is. And roadside service was called at least 20 times because car wouldn't start!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car to own in Minnesota weather!!!

by Steven W from Richfield, MN on Sat Feb 02 2019

I've always purchased American cars until now and will never buy American again. This car blows American made cars out of the water. During the Polar Vortex when temps were -25+ and windshields exceeding -50 this car started right up no problems whatsoever. It comes with BlueLink which is just AWESOME it enables you to use your Smartphone like a remote control for your car. I bought this car from Bloomington Luther Hyundai, my salesman was Giovanni Angotti, Giovanni and the rest of the staff bent over backwards to make sure my wife and I were comepletely satisfied.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST CAR FOR THE MONEY OUT THERE

by SPORT from MENASHA, WI on Sun Aug 13 2017

TOTALLY WONDERFUL, THE BEST. I'VE ALWAYS PURCHASED BUICKS HOWEVER, NOT ANY LONGER. MY 2018 TURBO, TOTALLY LOADED, HYUNDAI SONATA SPORT IS FAR BETTER THAN MY LAST 2014 BUICK LACROSSE OR THE 2012 BUICK REGAL THAT I HAD BEFORE THAT. THE QUALITY AND CRAFTSMAN SHIP AND THE POWER I HAVE WITH THE TURBO AND THE SMOOTH SHIFTING OF THE 8 SPEED AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IS THE BEST EVER. I KNOW I'VE MADE A GREAT CHOICE IN MY 2018 HYUNDAI SONATA SPORT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice Upgrade

by Bob Faraday from Tacoma on Sat Dec 30 2017

Such a technological leap from my 2013 Sonata. It has blind side warning in the mirrors, a backup camera, and cross traffic warning when the car is in reverse. Really satisfied. I love the Android Auto feature. I can link my cell phone GPS with the info screen an have this information readily available. This car is much more refined than my 2013. The only addition i would have liked to see was the addition of the Homelink, auto dimming mirror with compass as standard on the SEL package. I addeded this a month after I purchased the car. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most engine problem on a new car I owne

by Emilio from Gurnee il. on Sun Oct 28 2018

After 3k miles my car have noise in the engine taking to many times to the dealer ,no answer, finally fine the problem build to much carbon by the valves , solutions nothing, dealer do everything, call a master tech. And my car still make the noise, car still in service try to find a solution.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Bad bad juju

by Business owner from Charlotte NC on Wed Jun 12 2019

Sad sad sad New engine needed before it reached its first oil change Over 4 months later with a substandard loaner the car is back. 2-1/2 weeks later. Car is doing g same thing Back at the dealer again

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

I've had other Huyndais who were better equipped.

by Sara from Woodland Hills, .ca. and around town on Tue Jul 10 2018

It meets basic needs but no amenities. There are fewer comfort and phone quality stinks. I was told that the car had certain qualities that it didn't.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More