2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

61 - 70 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fourth Hyundai Sonata I have owned!

by BMRLYT from East Moline, IL on Sun Oct 08 2017

New design and safety features are great. Like the backup camera, Bluetooth. Much more luxurious than my 2006, although I will miss my moon roof and CD player.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Corrections to review

by Hyundai547 from Arlington TX on Fri Jun 08 2018

The online model comparison page needs a few corrections. The 2018 Sonata has 2 USB outlets, standard. Does NOT have a glove box light. Highway mileage is 39 mpg. Adaptive Cruise Control is available. Map lights are front and rear. Hands Free Auto-Opening Liftgate/Trunk is standard. Proximity Key is standard. SiriusXM is standard. Remote start & remote alert are standard. Clock is In-radio display. Compass is In-radio display .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car but over rated

by Over Rated from Annapolis, Md on Thu Jun 08 2017

The car is nice. It's a bit pricey for the quality. You can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig! When AC is running the car looses all power on hills, and it's a 6 cylinder.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 40 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worse Hyundai I have owned since 2008!

by Wflo217919 from STERLING,Ct on Tue Jun 26 2018

No CD, seats,ride, uncomfortable! Lot of wind noise! Bye, bye Hyundai! 2018 Hyundai Sonata Limited! Selling ASAP! Power seats controls hard to get to! Several control buttons not illuminated!

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Most garbage car I ever had

by Catal from Ottawa,ON on Mon Feb 25 2019

I have 2 Hyundai Sonata. One is 2011 and the other is 2015 Sonata hybrid. I’ve bought both of them used. First I bought 2011 and I had not much problem but beams problem every time I had. Second Sonata hybrid garbage. Since bought it in 2018 48000 km I had headaches. Every time I have problem. I worn you people. Do not buy any Hyundai. Their customer service and warranty issue absolutely useless.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

It’s the sec car they put me in.

by George from Florida on Tue Sep 25 2018

I love the way the car looks but the handling of the car is everywhere. I feel the roads!! like if I’m in a car with independence suspension! And no rebound! Performance is very slow and I have knoticed that both cars had a hard hit on the tranny when ever u let go of the gas.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Driving in snow, can go slow and my breaks lock up

by Kwalburn28 from Hammondsport on Sat Jan 18 2020

I loved my car, until now. This is the third time this has happened while driving in the city in light snow. Go to press the breaks, and they lock and vibrating. Can't control car, and can't stop! Very scary!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Arthur E. Michalak

by GeraldBailey from Lakewood, CO on Wed Apr 18 2018

I love the car! I love the car! I love the car! I love the car! I love the car! I love the car! I love the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

ny mets

by schmata from BOYNTON BEACH FLA. on Fri Sep 15 2017

GOOD RIDE.GREAT LOOKING AUTO WITHOUT BEING GARISH.NOTHING LIKE THE SMELL OF LEATHER.VERY SMOOTH RIDE.GAS MILEAGE GOOD. DOES NOT HAVE CD PLAYER.SEAT BELTS ANNOYING;THIN & TIGHT.CANT AUTO.FIGURE OUT GAS MILEAGE WE LOVE IT GREAT GREAT GREAT VALUE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Sonata

by Savvy Sonata Sal from Fulton, MO on Wed Dec 04 2019

It has a sporty look with a tight turning radius, great control and great acceleration in sport mode. At 72 mph, it actually increases mpg on the road! Going up hill! Easy to park!!! Reliable. Great value for my $$,$$$.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More