2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

71 - 80 of 352 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Driving in snow, can go slow and my breaks lock up

by Kwalburn28 from Hammondsport on Sat Jan 18 2020

I loved my car, until now. This is the third time this has happened while driving in the city in light snow. Go to press the breaks, and they lock and vibrating. Can't control car, and can't stop! Very scary!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Sonata

by Savvy Sonata Sal from Fulton, MO on Wed Dec 04 2019

It has a sporty look with a tight turning radius, great control and great acceleration in sport mode. At 72 mph, it actually increases mpg on the road! Going up hill! Easy to park!!! Reliable. Great value for my $$,$$$.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sonatas are extremly reliable

by Jay Da 3rd from Chicago on Sun Dec 10 2017

I have been a fan of the Sonata family since 2011. This is my 4th Sonata. I upgrade to save money. Love the new body style and keyless entry

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

5th Hyundai and most reliable car ever!

by 5 time Hyundai owner 4th Sonata from Mount Vernon, IL on Sun Oct 29 2017

I love my new Sonata! Not a fan of the body style in the front but IM getting use to it. I had the 2014 before this and absolutely love that body style and will purchase a new Sonata in the future if this body style is brought back. Other than that IM in love and wouldn't have picked another make or model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly feature rich

by Duke from Sleepy Hollow, IL on Fri Mar 23 2018

I needed a new car for business, was looking for something that gets good mileage, dependable, comfortable and relatively inexpensive. The Sonata fit that, plus the added bonus of being very feature rich and luxurious.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Gabbywas from DC on Thu Nov 16 2017

I think it’s a very good car, good performance, nice style and the features are excellent. I would definitely recommend this car to others.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First brand new car I own

by Denise from Concord, California on Fri Apr 06 2018

This car is so me!! Comfort, style and easy to handle.. Love all the whistles and bells this car has to offer.. Thank you Hyundai!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Car

by Buba from Woodmere, NY on Fri Oct 13 2017

Very comfortable, Reliable, great acceleration for a 4 cylinder especially in Sports Mode, Still not comfortable with Apple Car Play, Instrument controls not easy to navigate through. I will need to study manual further for both. Great value for a consumer who needs a reliable comfortable sedan that drives great!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort, valued with lots of amenity

by Sonata 2.0T from Westminster, CA on Wed Dec 13 2017

2.0T Sonata has plenty of power, spacious rear leg room with spacious trunk for your cargo. Smooth engine and transmission with plenty power. Android auto and Apple Car Play that enable your smart phone to connect to vehicle display for all your favorite apps. Hyundai will give you 3 years of Blue Link and 3 months of XM radio for free along with their warranty. Love this car so far with no complaints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My new Sonata makes me smile!

by JCarz3 from Fairfield, Ohio on Fri Aug 24 2018

My new car fits all my needs, it has everything I could possibly imagine on it. It hugs the road and has a smooth rid

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More