2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$12,015 - $20,903  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

352 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

81 - 90 of 352 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money!!

by rdeese from Charlotte, NC on Thu Oct 05 2017

This car is sporty, yet has a lot of interior room. Looking @ the outside, it looks very similar to a Lexus I think. I had a 2016 Sonata limited so I do miss the panoramic sunroof and the dual exhaust that it had. However, the body style changes do look very good, especially the front and redesigned grill. Much more "boss" looking!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My new Sonata makes me smile!

by JCarz3 from Fairfield, Ohio on Fri Aug 24 2018

My new car fits all my needs, it has everything I could possibly imagine on it. It hugs the road and has a smooth rid

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sonatas are extremly reliable

by Jay Da 3rd from Chicago on Sun Dec 10 2017

I have been a fan of the Sonata family since 2011. This is my 4th Sonata. I upgrade to save money. Love the new body style and keyless entry

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Sunday! Woohoo!

by Matthew from Mechanicsburg, PA on Wed Sep 06 2017

This car meets all of my needs. Sleek, stylish, great MPGs! Overall great value. I couldn't pick a better car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Features for the price

by YankeeFanNC from Matthews, NC on Sat Dec 09 2017

Overall i like the vehicle. There is more wind noise when driving down the road that the 2015 sonata that i owned. The engine has an inherent tick when you start it up i listened to 4 different vehicles just like the one i purchased they had the same tick. Has a vibration and hesitation in the car when cruising at about 40 to 45 and at about 1300 to 1500 rpms it is a hollow vibration sound very noticeable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have only had it one day and it isceeding expect

by Jan P from Bristow, VA on Thu Nov 09 2017

The car is quite niece looking. It is well finished and comfortable. The performance is great. I bought the Sonata Turbo for the performance and the sport suspension.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

5th Hyundai and most reliable car ever!

by 5 time Hyundai owner 4th Sonata from Mount Vernon, IL on Sun Oct 29 2017

I love my new Sonata! Not a fan of the body style in the front but IM getting use to it. I had the 2014 before this and absolutely love that body style and will purchase a new Sonata in the future if this body style is brought back. Other than that IM in love and wouldn't have picked another make or model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best overall value for the money!

by SpankyNJ from Gloucester, NJ on Tue Jan 09 2018

Perfect blend of comfort, style, economy, performance, and features. And best of all at an affordable price!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Comfort, valued with lots of amenity

by Sonata 2.0T from Westminster, CA on Wed Dec 13 2017

2.0T Sonata has plenty of power, spacious rear leg room with spacious trunk for your cargo. Smooth engine and transmission with plenty power. Android auto and Apple Car Play that enable your smart phone to connect to vehicle display for all your favorite apps. Hyundai will give you 3 years of Blue Link and 3 months of XM radio for free along with their warranty. Love this car so far with no complaints.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

absolutely love it

by Nickey8909 from Newport News, va on Thu Dec 07 2017

it definitely meets most of my needs and wants. it has so many cool features. the technical features are a little confusing but I'm sure it wont take any time at all to figure them out

5 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:


The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:


The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn’t forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation’s 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More