2017 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee

#1 Most Popular SUV/Crossover
$17,987 - $35,171  MSRP Range
2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

329 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 329 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Jeep Grand Cherokee

by Go Jeel from Raleigh, NC on Mon Apr 03 2017

Phenomenal vehicle! All then niceties of a luxury car at an affordable price. Leather seats, sun roof, smart audio system. I couldn't be happier!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

So far, enjoying my choice!

by Cecil49 from Moscow,PA on Fri Nov 29 2019

Getting excellent fuel mileage and comfortable ride! Replaced a Jeep Cherokee that I've put over a 130,000 miles on and was only the second owner! Have owned Jeeps for over eleven years and am happy with it so far!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just nice!

by Deacon Blues from Carmel, NY on Mon Oct 02 2017

I have had Grand Cherokees before, but the new 2017 is the best so far. The ride is subtle, very quiet, the power train is amazing. The eight speed transmission is smoothly coupled to the engine and drives nicely. Interior quality is the best ever and I can say, comparable to LR4 Landmark trims. Beautiful exterior styling and just the perfect size. The entertainment/navigation system is easy to use and very thorough. All the information is easily accessible and readable on both the dashboard and the center screens. Great choice of vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee

by Frank K from Erie, PA on Wed Jan 08 2020

Vehicle replaces my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Jeep has exceeded my expectations for comfort, handling, styling, and features. I cant believe the difference in the ride for this vehicle compared to what I traded.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car that i ever purched

by Capt Ron from SW Florida on Sun Jun 04 2017

At 74 years of age I searched for a car that would tow my 5000 lb boat and would offer safe driver options. The only SUV on the market today that fits this bill is the 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee. It tows up to 7200 pounds compared to the others like the Ford and Chevy products that tow only 3500 - 5000 lbs. The 5.7 V8 engine is wonderful and gets a respectful MPG of 18/23. I purchased the Summit Model. The MSRP is about $60k with all of the options.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value for your money SRT Jeep Grand Cherokee

by Roman P. from Chicago on Thu Apr 20 2017

The SRT Jeep GC has a very aggressive and bold design. It's a true American muscle car. Price-Value is great compared to his competitors like BMW MX5. The engine is unbeatable. Torque, sound and power are amazing. Jeep is not changing their design very often hence also a SRT Jeep Grand Cherokee from 2014 still looks great and not outdated. I can highly recommend this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee

by Firechaser from Baltimore,md on Sat Aug 19 2017

The exterior of the vehicle is sleek and sporty looking. Nice wheels and grill design. I love the remote start that automatically turns on the air or heatdepending upon temperature. There are two negative. Minor paint bubble on the roof. I noticed it while washing vehicle. The biggest negative is the automatic off. When the vehicle is in Drive, foot on the brake for a short period of ti.e, the engine shuts down. When you give it gas again engine almost always immediately starts. It she time when it doesn't immediately sta st that causes problems. If you buy this vehicle make sure to purchase the lifetime bumper to bumper extended warranty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most stylish car I've owned

by CowboyFan from Fort Worth on Sun Aug 06 2017

SUV that drives like a car! It's a nice smooth ride and I love how it handles the road. The interior is stylish and the 8.4 navigation system is high tech. They've really kept up with advancements in technology. My daughter likes to ride in the back seat with the reclining chairs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit

by Expensive from Baltimore MD on Fri Aug 11 2017

Nice vehicle. Summit trim has lots of bells and whistles. I believe the MSRP on it is somewhat overprice for what you get. Engine is quite but sluggish at times. As part of fuel savings the engine cuts off when you are stopped and at times has difficulty re engaging when you need to move. The highway mileage is 25 mph but I have yet to achieve anything over 22 mph which is very disappointing. With large discount the vehicle is a good buy. You may also want to consider a Jeep Cherokee. It is a little smaller but all in all better value. Also recommend getting the MOPAR bumper to bumper lifetime warranty which was the main reason I got this vehicle..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

so far so good

by 4x4 owner from Southern Cal on Sat Aug 26 2017

Purchased a Grand Cherokee Limited 3.6 engine 8 speed auto, very impressed with the response of this vehicle. Styling is nice, plenty of room after stepping down from a Chevy Tahoe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 33

Our Take on the 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee

The verdict:


The Jeep Grand Cherokee Trailhawk is the most off-road-capable mid-size SUV on the road today, but that comes both at the expense of on-road ride quality and with a steep price tag.

Versus the competition:


The Trailhawk is a clear winner once the road ends, but for all the miles between adventures, the competition strikes back.

The Jeep Grand Cherokee gets only very mild updates for 2017, but it does add an exciting new trim level that raises the level of the mid-size SUV’s off-road capability: the Trailhawk.

A five-seater, the Jeep Grand Cherokee is sold in six trim levels: Laredo, Limited, Trailhawk, Overland, Summit and SRT. Compare the 2017 Grand Cherokee with the 2016 model here

Jeep’s goal with the Trailhawk was to make the most off-road-capable mid-size SUV on the market, a title that probably already belonged to one of the model’s other trim levels. The Grand Cherokee’s competition, such as the Nissan Murano, Ford Edge and Kia Sorento, are much more pavement-oriented. Compare the... Read More