2019 Niro Plug-In Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2019 Kia Niro Plug-In Hybrid

$16,371 - $27,599  MSRP Range
2019 Kia Niro Plug-In Hybrid

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Kia Niro Plug-In Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best plug in Hybrid value so far

by Joe S from AURORA, CO on Sun Jan 13 2019

Out of all the plug in hybrid in it's class this one feels the most roomy and comfortable. There is plenty of legroom, headroom and cargo space for most everyday needs. It is also loaded with extra features. The only thing I would change on it, is that it could use a little more EV range.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome MPG and flexibility

by Kaaina from Fort Hood, TX on Thu Oct 31 2019

We already owned a regular Kia Niro and loved it so much that we got the plug-in hybrid version. So far we are loving it too. We have not needed to get gas hardly at all. With being able to get 26 miles on just battery, we have been able to do most of our commuting on just that. And the having the flexibility to use gas if we need it just makes the car real easy to live with daily.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too early to evaluate.

by boots96 from North Fort Myers on Mon Jul 22 2019

So far I am impressed by the comfort, economy, accessories, and overall performance. It has many safety features to assist me in driving. That is one of the reasons that I purchased it. I had a Ford C-max prior and it was a great car, but Ford saw fir to discontinue it leaving me no choice except to find something equivalent. It also had some features that the Niro does not have but on balance, I am very satisfied with the Kia.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Our first plug-in hybrid.

by Tjhbrook from King Ferry, NY on Sat Sep 28 2019

We are very happy with our plug-in hybrid! The mileage is very good with the hybrid setting only (54+). We love being able to go all electric for the 25-30 miles the EV battery provides. Only problem is a glitch with detaching the charging cable without using a step that involves opening the hood to install and detach the cable. Working with dealer to resolve.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by MattJSTN from Des Moines, IA on Sun Oct 27 2019

After owning/driving the Niro PHEV for several months, I have to say it lives up to everything I had heard and read about it. It's very comfortable, rides very well and does just what I'd hoped in terms of gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like it so much, bought a second one

by TerryB from Virginia on Mon Feb 03 2020

The Niro PHEV is the best of both worlds; ECO friendly electric performance and long range on the hybrid engine. Local daily errands are on total electric and the trickle charger replenishes the adequate battery in several hours. The cabin is plenty comfortable for my large frame and the luggage space is good. One Niro was great. So good we bought a second one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for your bucks

by Edgar from Washington D.C. on Fri Sep 06 2019

This car meets all my needs; estimated gas to spend, enough distance to travel work-home-work using the EV, enough space for our long trips, the ease of changing from EV mode to hybrid and between automatic and sports is exceptional. If your regular commute is not that far, don't want to make the total switch from gas to EV due to the dependency and price but still want to save money (make your numbers to prove it), don't care if the car is not AWD, and want something functional and yet comfortable and good looking, then this could be your car. Currently, I am getting 85.2 Mpg (approx. 14 days since I got it), and it is increasing the more I kept using electric, and I only use hybrid mode when it is really needed, like going up the hill, where I also recommend switching to sport mode.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Premium means Luxury

by SolarCommuter from San Francisco on Mon Feb 17 2020

This car is so quiet, apple car play and wireless phone charger pad. We get almost 1000 miles per tank of gas with daily plug in charging. Love how easy it is to regulate the my temperature while driving with heated seats, steering wheel and cooling seats. Pretty pricy, 38,000 to buy it new, I wonder if I should have gotten a Tesla. But I like the humble appearance of the Kia better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

To new to know if it is reliable

by Daryl from Erie on Mon Mar 16 2020

Meets my needs and has Kia reliably ,premium trim is very comfortable more bells and whistles than I need .Fuel mileage is same or better than my prius

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

bought new

by JansKia from Or on Thu Oct 03 2019

I have put 650 miles on this new car, some city all electric, some freeway hybrid. I got 53.7 mpg on first fill up. The safety equipment like blind spot indicator and backup camera are wonderful. I love my new car😁

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2