2016 Discovery Sport

Consumer Reviews

2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

$19,051 - $29,535  MSRP Range
2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

36 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A feeling jumpped into a comfortable luxury

by Discovery2016 from Fairview, NJ on Sat Mar 30 2019

I traded in with a Jeep Grand Cherockee. This is a comparable experience since i bought a MB C300 certified one 3 years ago. Everything is smooth and sturdy while driving. Excellency on Discovery Sport is everybody says wow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good, could be better

by OBX'ER from Cincinnati, oh on Mon Sep 14 2020

The car is great looking with a lot of features. Bought a 2016 HSE in mid 2020. Gave Land Rover another try because we loved our LR2 and it's not your typical Toyota/ Chevy you see all the time. The car rides and handles pretty good. Don't love the hesitation from the turbo, but the 9 speed transmission seems to work ok. The LR2 had the Volvo straight 6, so we're new to 4 cylinder turbos. The interior has a nice quality to it with good fit and finish. Not as good as our 10 year old Audi Q5, but close. I wouldn't pay 50 grand for a new one, but a used one ( especially if it's certified like ours) at half the price is well worth it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new car

by hh on Wed Apr 18 2018

It is great a gas guzzler but whatever I love it. It had one owner and they took very good car of it. 2016 and only had 30,000 miles on it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Carplex is the place to look 👀 For Great Value

by 1ADONAI from Dumfries Virginia on Tue Jul 21 2020

The Car Was Made for Me 👌🏾 After Noticing it was inside not outside in the hot sun was a plus for me 😃 Salesman Was Very Professional & Knowledgable

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

don's buy

by review man from Los Angeles on Fri Jan 26 2018

Poorly constructed from roof rail fly off to interior trim on tailgate popping off . One day if found the roof rail was missing. Thought someone had stolen it. Then saw posting on discovery form website which I wish I had seen before I called the dealership in Encino who told me exterior trim wasn't covered by warranty. That coupled with the fact I thought it was stolen, I paid $650 to have it replaced. The $400 dollar part doesn't come painted. It was cheaper to have a body shop do it, they confirm based on the clips the thing had blown off. Then, I realize it seems like a common problem that the clips on this rails don't hold well. This is just one of a couple of problems I've had with my discovery sport, it's really made poorly, its shame because I thought it was a well-made brand.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

30 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far..so good!

by Hepner Family from Winlock, Wa on Thu Jun 13 2019

So far our Land Rover Discovery has been great! We are still learning how to use all the features, love the way it handles, and the turbo engine has lots of power. We are very satisfied with this purchase. Very roomy!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

1st and last Land Rover

by Extremely Disappointed from Green Bay, WI on Tue Aug 21 2018

This is my first and definitely my last Land Rover. My Discovery Sport has been in for more repairs than my last three vehicles combined and it only has 15k miles on it. It seems that this vehicle is susceptible to battery drain if it isn't driven long distances regularly. A warning message will appear on the display (Low Battery) and if the vehicle is not driven a long distance or the battery manually charged at that point, systems will begin shutting down. I would not recommend this vehicle as a grocery getter or for short commutes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

46 out of 50 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Typical Land Rover; a lot of issues

by New Hippo on Mon Jul 24 2017

Third Land Rover for me; as has been my experience so far, poor quality especially with electronics has meant that car is at repair an average once a month. With the last open issue (Special Programs switching off on their own for no reason) an answer "nothing can be done, no part to change, no software to fix" received. Lot of space inside, small enough outside for urban purposes and thight off-road paths. When systems work, perfect for off-road. However, the un-reliability spoils all the fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does not recommend this car!!

37 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by S. Fisher from Breckenridge, CO on Fri Oct 06 2017

I love this car. It has style, class and drives like a sports car. The acceleration and handling is phenomenal! Can't comment on reliability just yet, but hoping that stays on the positive side of things. It's my favorite vehicle I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nice but not worth the price tag

by Zila from Melbourne on Mon Mar 19 2018

It drives well, comfort and styling are good and on long trips you're thankful, but build quality is worse than a Kia or Great Wall and electronics bugger up all the time, more rattles than death valley.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

Editor’s note: This review was written in July 2015 about the 2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport. Little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Outright excellence in the automotive world is a hard thing to attain, as it requires absolute attention to every detail. Everything needs to work well, look good and be in harmony while doing it.

The Land Rover Discovery Sport is a good-looking car with good interior quality and room, but it’s let down by a disappointing driving experience and some poor ergonomics.

We tested a 2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport HSE with five... Read More