Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2016 Discovery Sport

Consumer Reviews

2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

$24,714 - $36,422  MSRP Range
2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

19 Reviews
74% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Typical Land Rover; a lot of issues

by New Hippo on Mon Jul 24 2017

Third Land Rover for me; as has been my experience so far, poor quality especially with electronics has meant that car is at repair an average once a month. With the last open issue (Special Programs switching off on their own for no reason) an answer "nothing can be done, no part to change, no software to fix" received. Lot of space inside, small enough outside for urban purposes and thight off-road paths. When systems work, perfect for off-road. However, the un-reliability spoils all the fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does not recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

President

by Indayj from on Thu Apr 13 2017

CoolCar, Very dependable, style is current but still traditional. Both urban and rural use, even off road is a mastery. I'll keep this car for a long long time. Wait til my first major breakdown and I'll decide how long can be kept.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

don's buy

by review man from Los Angeles on Fri Jan 26 2018

Poorly constructed from roof rail fly off to interior trim on tailgate popping off . One day if found the roof rail was missing. Thought someone had stolen it. Then saw posting on discovery form website which I wish I had seen before I called the dealership in Encino who told me exterior trim wasn't covered by warranty. That coupled with the fact I thought it was stolen, I paid $650 to have it replaced. The $400 dollar part doesn't come painted. It was cheaper to have a body shop do it, they confirm based on the clips the thing had blown off. Then, I realize it seems like a common problem that the clips on this rails don't hold well. This is just one of a couple of problems I've had with my discovery sport, it's really made poorly, its shame because I thought it was a well-made brand.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

1st and last Land Rover

by Extremely Disappointed from Green Bay, WI on Tue Aug 21 2018

This is my first and definitely my last Land Rover. My Discovery Sport has been in for more repairs than my last three vehicles combined and it only has 15k miles on it. It seems that this vehicle is susceptible to battery drain if it isn't driven long distances regularly. A warning message will appear on the display (Low Battery) and if the vehicle is not driven a long distance or the battery manually charged at that point, systems will begin shutting down. I would not recommend this vehicle as a grocery getter or for short commutes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by S. Fisher from Breckenridge, CO on Fri Oct 06 2017

I love this car. It has style, class and drives like a sports car. The acceleration and handling is phenomenal! Can't comment on reliability just yet, but hoping that stays on the positive side of things. It's my favorite vehicle I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by MommaBear85 from Gainesville, FL on Tue Oct 10 2017

This car is amazing, I get so many compliments on how ritzy it looks! Smooth ride, excellent feel, great leg room, and perfect for a small or large family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Nice but not worth the price tag

by Zila from Melbourne on Mon Mar 19 2018

It drives well, comfort and styling are good and on long trips you're thankful, but build quality is worse than a Kia or Great Wall and electronics bugger up all the time, more rattles than death valley.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great alternative to an evoque

by Mac from Plano, TX on Wed Apr 18 2018

I decided to upgrade from my mustang to a discovery sport before I leave for college this summer, and im so glad I did! This car is the perfect size for me, and easy to maneuver. The panoramic fixed glass roof is also really nice, and it has basically every feature you could want in a car (heated and cooling seats, an optional third row of seats, plenty of charging ports, etc.) The only drawback is the lag when you press the gas, but it’s less noticeable when you put the car in sport mode. I can also see this car being really great for someone with a family. I was also looking at evoques, and this is a much better alternative if you don’t want something as flashy as a Range Rover ( the reason I ultimately chose the discovery). I highly recommend watching reviews on youTube before purchasing! They’re super helpful!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Discovering poor craftsmanship

by Seattle Rain from Seattle, WA on Fri Dec 09 2016

Been to the dealer to many times to count. After four months the vehicle check engine light came on; injectors had to be replace and black plastic on top of license plate had to be replace because of squeaky noise. About eight months, engine overheat when setting in traffic, cooling fan had to be replace. Also water got in the driver rear marker light and had to be replace. Ten months or so, check engine light comes on: it comes and go randomly (software had to be updated and problem solve). On the 11th month, rear passenger seats and plastic on A pillar made squeaky noise (parts are being ordered and will be replace in a few weeks). The driver seat is not very comfortable, had to get aftermarket seat cushion. I own this vehicle for about a year now and drove this vehicle in all types of road and weather conditions and there's a great amount of road noise in cabin, huge turbo lag and poor acceleration. A few pros: good exterior design, heated/cooling seats works great and huge panoramic sunroof.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mostly good, some not so

by wxman from Green Bay, WI on Sun Mar 06 2016

First Land Rover. Really sharp styling inside & out, have received lots of compliments, not very many of these around so not part of the herd. Good technology. The annoying things so far: - Land Departure Warning - is supposed to vibrate the steering column, but ours does not work, or can barely detect. It would not alert you if you were falling asleep. - Garage door opener buttons are on the rear view mirror, not very logical...the mirror usually moves when pushed. - I got all black, inside and out, but the plastic cover on the hood up by the windshield (covers the pedestrian airbag) is gray in color. Everything outside is black, but they decided to make this very visible section gray...very odd, very annoyed. - Some buttons have an indicator light that goes/stays on when pushed, but many buttons do not. When these are pushed, you get only a momentary small message...so afterwards, you can't tell if the "thing" is pushed / on or not...so you have to push it again just to see the temporary message...dumb. - The glove compartment is OK in size, but there is very little storage in the console between the front 2 seats...enough for some sunglasses maybe. - Heads-up-Display - have to go through the menu system to adjust the view, annoying, and it does NOT get stored in memory for each driver, have to readjust every time. Other cars have the view adjustment buttons on the dash for easy & quick access. - Heads-up-Display - there are only 4 things to show. Other cars I've owned have had 12+ to select from. - Sign Recognition - this supposedly works by a camera seeing the roads signs, but I don't think so...I think it must pull sign data from the navigation software...50% of the time the displayed speed limit sign was incorrect, especially through newly constructed roads...so this is the big indicator. I assume they had problems with this function, so they just fell back on the easy date replacement from the existing NAV software like how my Garmin does it. - Gear Selector - this is just a gimmick, sinks below the surface when car is off, pops up when running and have to use fingers to twist to desired gear. This is, again, gimmicky, does not give a warm fuzzy to something sturdy or solid. - InControl Apps - I can see why they don't charge for this as there are very little useful apps, and none that are common or widespread. What a waste. - Intelligent Stop/Start - this I suspect contributes a lot to the sluggish perform most people are complaining about...when driving in the city, lots of stops, this causes the engine to constantly turn off - so when you press the gas pedal there is a momentary pause/lag before it leaps forward. You can turn this off by pressing a button, but this is the other problem with this feature, mine seems to turn itself back on...very annoying. - Side view mirrors - most American cars these days have a turn signal indicator light on the side view mirrors to 1) help signal to other drivers that you are turning, and 2) help you see that you actually have the turn signal on...well, the Land Rover does not. - Turn Signal - has a very faint sound when activated, strange how dependent one gets on hearing this sound...annoying this one is barely audible. - This requires Premium fuel. I never saw this anywhere when I researched this vehicle. Here it's like another .60c per gallon, that's another $500/year. The Sales guy never told me before, didn't see it in the literature he gave me. -

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

Editor's note: This review was written in July 2015 about the 2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Outright excellence in the automotive world is a hard thing to attain, as it requires absolute attention to every detail. Everything needs to work well, look good and be in harmony while doing it.

The Land Rover Discovery Sport is a good-looking car with good interior quality and room, but it's let down by a disappointing driving experience and some poor ergonomics.

We tested a 2015 Land Rover Discovery Sport HSE with five seats. Notable options include... Read More