2016 Discovery Sport

Consumer Reviews
2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport

Change Vehicle
4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

17 Reviews
2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

2 out of 5 stars

Typical Land Rover; a lot of issues

by New Hippo on July 24, 2017

Third Land Rover for me; as has been my experience so far, poor quality especially with electronics has meant that car is at repair an average once a month. With the last open issue (Special Programs switching off on their own for no reason) an answer "nothing can be done, no part to change, no software to fix" received. Lot of space inside, small enough outside for urban purposes and thight off-road paths. When systems work, perfect for off-road. However, the un-reliability spoils all the fun.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

President

by Indayj from on April 13, 2017

CoolCar, Very dependable, style is current but still traditional. Both urban and rural use, even off road is a mastery. I'll keep this car for a long long time. Wait til my first major breakdown and I'll decide how long can be kept.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by S. Fisher from Breckenridge, CO on October 6, 2017

I love this car. It has style, class and drives like a sports car. The acceleration and handling is phenomenal! Can't comment on reliability just yet, but hoping that stays on the positive side of things. It's my favorite vehicle I've ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by MommaBear85 from Gainesville, FL on October 10, 2017

This car is amazing, I get so many compliments on how ritzy it looks! Smooth ride, excellent feel, great leg room, and perfect for a small or large family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Discovering poor craftsmanship

by Seattle Rain from Seattle, WA on December 9, 2016

Been to the dealer to many times to count. After four months the vehicle check engine light came on; injectors had to be replace and black plastic on top of license plate had to be replace because of squeaky noise. About eight months, engine overheat when setting in traffic, cooling fan had to be replace. Also water got in the driver rear marker light and had to be replace. Ten months or so, check engine light comes on: it comes and go randomly (software had to be updated and problem solve). On the 11th month, rear passenger seats and plastic on A pillar made squeaky noise (parts are being ordered and will be replace in a few weeks). The driver seat is not very comfortable, had to get aftermarket seat cushion. I own this vehicle for about a year now and drove this vehicle in all types of road and weather conditions and there's a great amount of road noise in cabin, huge turbo lag and poor acceleration. A few pros: good exterior design, heated/cooling seats works great and huge panoramic sunroof.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Land Rover hits it out of the park

by Your fellow car lover from San Francisco Bay Area, CA on November 10, 2015

Land Rover did a fantastic job with this car. The 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport really is the best premium compact SUV. In my opinion, the Disco Sport is styled above the rest when it comes to exterior and interior styling. Materials are high quality and look premium. The infotainment system and sound system are strong here. My favorite thing about this car is that it is able to seat 7 people if you need it to. It is a compact SUV so you can't expect to get large adults in that last row, but it certainly works for small children. When the 2nd and 3rd row(s) aren't needed, it folds down flat and allows for fantastic cargo room. Once you sit inside it's hard to tell you're in a compact car. When your sitting inside the cabin there is a ginormous moon roof that sweeps from the first row all the way to the back. You can tell Land Rover put a lot of attention to detail when they made this car. The only thing that could be stronger when it comes to this car is the power train. It certainly isn't horrible, but gearshifts are a little awkward and turbo lag is present. Luckily, handling on and off the road is second to none. All in all I would recommend this car for anyone because of it's functionality. This car is certainly the go anywhere vehicle. Doesn't matter whether you spend it in the city or the country.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Mostly good, some not so

by wxman from Green Bay, WI on March 6, 2016

First Land Rover. Really sharp styling inside & out, have received lots of compliments, not very many of these around so not part of the herd. Good technology. The annoying things so far: - Land Departure Warning - is supposed to vibrate the steering column, but ours does not work, or can barely detect. It would not alert you if you were falling asleep. - Garage door opener buttons are on the rear view mirror, not very logical...the mirror usually moves when pushed. - I got all black, inside and out, but the plastic cover on the hood up by the windshield (covers the pedestrian airbag) is gray in color. Everything outside is black, but they decided to make this very visible section gray...very odd, very annoyed. - Some buttons have an indicator light that goes/stays on when pushed, but many buttons do not. When these are pushed, you get only a momentary small message...so afterwards, you can't tell if the "thing" is pushed / on or not...so you have to push it again just to see the temporary message...dumb. - The glove compartment is OK in size, but there is very little storage in the console between the front 2 seats...enough for some sunglasses maybe. - Heads-up-Display - have to go through the menu system to adjust the view, annoying, and it does NOT get stored in memory for each driver, have to readjust every time. Other cars have the view adjustment buttons on the dash for easy & quick access. - Heads-up-Display - there are only 4 things to show. Other cars I've owned have had 12+ to select from. - Sign Recognition - this supposedly works by a camera seeing the roads signs, but I don't think so...I think it must pull sign data from the navigation software...50% of the time the displayed speed limit sign was incorrect, especially through newly constructed roads...so this is the big indicator. I assume they had problems with this function, so they just fell back on the easy date replacement from the existing NAV software like how my Garmin does it. - Gear Selector - this is just a gimmick, sinks below the surface when car is off, pops up when running and have to use fingers to twist to desired gear. This is, again, gimmicky, does not give a warm fuzzy to something sturdy or solid. - InControl Apps - I can see why they don't charge for this as there are very little useful apps, and none that are common or widespread. What a waste. - Intelligent Stop/Start - this I suspect contributes a lot to the sluggish perform most people are complaining about...when driving in the city, lots of stops, this causes the engine to constantly turn off - so when you press the gas pedal there is a momentary pause/lag before it leaps forward. You can turn this off by pressing a button, but this is the other problem with this feature, mine seems to turn itself back on...very annoying. - Side view mirrors - most American cars these days have a turn signal indicator light on the side view mirrors to 1) help signal to other drivers that you are turning, and 2) help you see that you actually have the turn signal on...well, the Land Rover does not. - Turn Signal - has a very faint sound when activated, strange how dependent one gets on hearing this sound...annoying this one is barely audible. - This requires Premium fuel. I never saw this anywhere when I researched this vehicle. Here it's like another .60c per gallon, that's another $500/year. The Sales guy never told me before, didn't see it in the literature he gave me. -

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First Land Rover

by Discovery Sport Fan from Fort Myers, FL on January 3, 2016

Ok, this is my first Land Rover and I love this vehicle! It drives great, its comfortable, it has a lot of technology, which I love. My only complaint is that there is a rattling coming from the back seat and I can?t figure it out. Not that big of a deal, because I will take in back to the dealership, it just more of an inconvenience than anything else. Overall this is a great vehicle and I would buy another one in the future.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous Car

by sblank1217 from Orange County, CA on August 13, 2015

Land Rover got it right with the new Discovery...love, love ,love it!!! The 4 cylinder Turbo charged engine is amazing. Styling is superior to any other crossover. suv in it's class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looks and feels really good!

by Debra A from Long Beach, Calif on November 3, 2016

I just bought my Discovery Sport Oct 8th and I'm loving every minute I'm stuck on the LA freeways. Makes that situation BETTER!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2016 Land Rover Discovery Sport