Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2008 Range Rover Sport

Consumer Reviews

2008 Land Rover Range Rover Sport

$7,853 - $18,441  MSRP Range
2008 Land Rover Range Rover Sport

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

22 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Land Rover Range Rover Sport?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Rover I've have owned

by Bop from Doylestown, PA on Thu Dec 20 2007

Having owned 3 other Rovers, a Defender, a RR 4.6HSE, and a Freelander, this is the best fit and finish of them all. I have owned V12 Jags, S, CLK, and C class Merc's, many VW's, Triumphs and BMW's, the Range Rover Sport compares very well with the best of them for luxury and better than any of them for utility. It is a vehicle that you want to get into and hate to arrive at your destination. As I have not yet taken it off road, an will not do the log rolling or rock climbing that I did in the Defender, it does feels every bit as capable. You probably can do all that while still listening to Mozart, which I couldn't do in the Defender. A well refined, go anywhere, "make it home in any weather" vehicle that is fun to drive, and is a respected member of the off-roading as well as the country club sets.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 RR SC

by 01malibu from texas on Mon Jul 30 2012

So far its been a great car. I will however go back to a Porsche Cayenne in a couple years. The two are hard to compare as they both offer different features but overall the RR is a great car. They do need to add a few modern features such as interior lighting package, and streaming audio.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love It!!!

by David from Orange County, CA on Mon Jul 28 2008

Hands down the best exterior styling of any SUV in its class!! Looks more aggresive than the larger Range Rover, the Sport is the perfect size inside and out. I purchased the "Luxury Package" which I feel rounds out the finish and fit. Without this package, I feel that the vehicle's interior feels a little plastic. The drive is awesome, great visability from within, the parking assist sensors are such a plus and the storage / cargo room is quite large. A few suggestions for improvement; needs an automatic opening rear door, better cup holders, less plastic and faux metal in the interior.....real chrome interior detailing would be perfect.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great handling, great looks, slow acceleration

by HRC from Oklahoma City, OK on Wed Apr 02 2008

I've had my RRS for 8 months now and I love the styling and handling. The HSE's lesser output engine shows during take off but hey its not a Porsche, its a sharp, heavy, gas guzzling SUV/tax credit (that I enjoy very much). I would recommend the supercharged version if I do this again. Ive had only a few minor issues, a poping in the front suspension (self-inflicted Im sure :) ), and the lack of cooled seats is kind of disappointing for the price but nothing that stops the show. I hear scary stories about transmission issues but I have had none of those thankfully, time will tell Im sure.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Land Rover did something right

by Suv Fanatic from Pacific Palisades, CA on Sun Dec 07 2008

This is the most impressive range rover yet. The reliability, style, and power is impecable. They are everywhere in southern california. Its a fabolous car for a Mom, Executive, or new driver. I was gonna buy the Full Size Range Rover but felt too big like my escalade ESV just wanted something smaller that could zip through traffic. My husband even loves it. although i heard bad with problems. dont believe i have 20k on mine no problems. i plan to buy the 09 i love them so much. Thank you land rover for proving me and everyone else wrong

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lots of Power...Lots of fun!!

by james117 from Laguna Beach,CA on Tue Dec 04 2007

2008 Range Rover Supercharged with 390hp. Very fast, fun to drive. Great inside and out. Options will cost you, but its worth it in the end. Get the supercharged version over the base.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by First Time Range Rover Owner from Charlotte NC on Tue Nov 01 2011

Great ride, superb quality, vehicle has a lot of features that are standard that add to the value of the vehicle

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for the family or just to have fun

by IT Guy from Inglewood CA on Wed Nov 08 2017

Great solid vehicle super strong engine and spacious interior for a family and for a day of adventures on the beach

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and a blessing to drive and have!!

by ANGEL Lee from Baton Rouge, LA on Sat Mar 10 2018

This vehicle meets all my needs. I enjoy driving it. It feels safe and great on long distance trips that I have to take very often as a single parent.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Finally bought a Land Rover

by Hank from Alabama on Sat Mar 05 2011

I researched the Land Rover Range Rover Sport for about six months before buying one. I settled on the 2008 HSE with only 28,000 miles because the forums seemed to indicate this was the model with the fewest problems. I ahve driven this vehicle about 8000 miles in seven months since purchasing it. Couldn't be happier! The highway ride is the most comfortable I've ever had. It's not the smoothest but to me the best mix of total seat comfort, performance, power, handling and visibility. I've had Lexus and BMW vehicles and this car is the equal of both. The only problem I have had with the car is the radio control buttons- two have broken and must be repaired. Other than that everything works as advertised and I've found the GPS and bluetooth to work great- better than most reviews have said in fact. Highly recommend this vehicle to prospective buyers. I think you will be very pleased!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

45 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Land Rover Range Rover Sport

Land Rover products are like NFL linemen: They're huge, they're powerful, they're surprisingly nimble and they wear tasteful suits when they're on the road. The Range Rover Sport is no exception. You don't merely travel on the road in this SUV, you power over it with a commanding presence, carrying a heft and weight that comes from, yes, a bit of flab, but mostly from muscle.

Overall, though, the 
Land Rover Range Rover Sport is a bit of a mixed bag. For starters, like an NFL player it takes a lot of fuel, but unfortunately it's you paying that bill to keep the big beast fed and moving. Also, it's billed as a Sport version and has a nice chassis, but it's not going to blow you away with its... Read More