2005 Elise

Consumer Reviews

2005 Lotus Elise

$23,429 - $49,221  MSRP Range
2005 Lotus Elise

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

22 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
2.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Lotus Elise?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The funnest car I've owned

by P Bol from Los Angeles, CA on Thu Apr 18 2013

This definitely my favorite vehicle I've owned. I get the opportunity to drive multiple cars, including exotics on the track and not very many leave a smile on my face quite like the Lotus does. This car is more so meant for a True Driving enthusiast...NO Stability programs or Traction Control (at least in my case) to interfere. Considering the things that are important to me such as Driving Fun, Closer feeling to a racecar, Minimal options, and the eye catching eye attention you get from this car...the Lotus is it. If your really into the gizmos and comfort, this car is not for you. It is true that it is relatively hard to get out of due to the high door sill, but you watch enough YouTube videos, you get use to it. Once your in, it is comfortable...just give you an idea...I'm 6'2" 240 lbs. and I drive it just fine, but I wouldn't want another one of me in the passenger seat, which why my wife is typically my only passenger. If you ever need to perform mechanical repairs or maintenance...you will spend a considerable amount of time more than expected getting to parts...For example, you'll have to remove 13 bolts in order to remove the skid plate and then you can change the oil and filter (BTW, be careful when you jack this car up and where jack is...better to leave to the dealership if you considered yourself just "handy"). I personally Instruct and teach racing for a living and highly recommend this vehicle for any beginner to advanced driver due to the fact that it's a very forgiving platform to learn on and also requires smooth and concise driving to be fast on the track. Hope this helps!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous & Fun!

by Art Man from Lincoln City, Oregon on Tue May 05 2015

Raw, street legal sports/race car! Handles like nothing else I've driven, sure and solid. It's a pocket rocket that gets attention beyond imagination. Styling is a work of art. If I had a dollar for every time someone took a picture of it, I could buy another one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honest assessment of an iconic sports car

by Hill William from Nashville, TN on Sun Jan 12 2014

Loud, harsh, brutal accelerating, turn on a dime street legal go kart. Gorgeous lines, sexy car, with no sweeter backside in the auto world. At 43k miles and some careless ingress/egress by previous owner, my interior was showing some unflattering wear and tear. Had seats redone and added a bit more padding which is awesome over the stock race buckets. Mine has some rattles from the composite body panels but seems likely given the extreme suspension. Replacement parts are a scavenger hunt, but that is part of the fun of owning a Lotus. The powertrain from Toyota with a Lotus computer is a beast even though the shifter is clunky. Hold on as the second cam comes on.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great part time

by Lotus from on Sat Jun 01 2013

I love my Elise, but it is not for daily driving. Acceleration and cornering are great, as are the looks (obviously). But the ride is bump.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Must Own True Drivers Car. - Not for everyone.

by Michael R from Wichita, KS on Sun May 21 2017

The connection the driver has with the car is unparalleled, as is the styling! The balance and lightness and responsiveness. Is amazing. Now, this car isn't for everyone, if you don't know how to shift in a performance oriented manner or aren't willing to learn you won't ever feel it's amazing performance. Don't want to take a turn fast? Not for you? Don't like feeling the road? Not for you. (Though the ride is very good, probably the best ride for not having any body roll, it's amazing) want space? Not for you? ( though there is a surprising amount of space in trunk, much more than it seems!) was able to go on 4 day cross country trip) Anyway, I've typed enough here and would rather spend time with the car now instead. Just get the car their values aren't going anywhere but yo anyway so the worst than can happen is you own the car for free anyway for a little while, selling it for the same price you purchased it for.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Elise is the last of the purebred sportscars

by Whatever from Los Angeles on Sat Nov 01 2008

I've had mine for two years. I'm a real enthusiast of driving, I don't really care much about luxury, but the mechanicals and the functionality of a sports car are extremely important to me. For that reason the Elise is a total gem in a field of soft, over-stuffed, wannabe sportscars - Porsche, Ferrari, you name it and they are SOFT. The Elise is reliable, does not complain after days of hard track driving and canyon cruising. It's a joy on open roads - as long as they are smooth. As far as city driving goes, I wouldn't recommend it for someone who needs a luxurious ride at all. It's very short, fairly rough on the bumps - it's a pure-sports car - enough said. It does get GREAT gas mileage although I've never calculated it. I think I'm getting 30mpg on the hwy. Remember that this car has a bombproof toyota drivetrain and it works very well for this car. The suspension is 100% Lotus, which means you cannot find better. The interior is exquisite for a pure-sports car in my opinion. I a world of wannabe drivers in wannabe sports cars that cost tens if not hundred of thousands more, the Lotus is a wonderful option for the true enthusiast. Get one while you can.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most incredible car I've ever driven!

by flys from Philadelphia on Sun Oct 22 2006

Nothing handles like this car - You look forward to every turn and bend you can find. A true sports car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

love my Lotus

by djbrianc from Baltimore on Mon Sep 19 2011

I get so much attention. even when other exotics are around. thats the icing on the cake because i bought my lotus to impress me not others. FUN FUN FUN, its only down side is hard as rock suspension and poor sound insulation.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Fun Car...

by Asian Racer from San Diego on Sat Mar 10 2007

Great and fun car, but not one to take on a road trip...Seats are thin and not well padded, but does give adequate support. Getting into the car requires a feat of flexibility, but once in the car proves to be roomy and quite user friendly.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

hardcore sports car enthusiasts won't regret it

by Lotus Enthusiast from Los Angeles, CA on Sat Aug 08 2009

The elise is easily the most fun sports car a hardcore enthusiast can buy. Yes, it has a few tradeoffs like a high door sill, but never has there been a car that I was so emotionally attached to. I have owned 4 porsches in the past and now I cannot even think of buying another porsche. The car is that satisfying.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3